We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal”
Review of A Channel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Channel View B&B
Ranked #1 of 11 Kodiak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife, son and I stayed at the Channel View B&B during Aug 13-19, 2013. On three of the mornings we were there we planned early activities (fishing and bear viewing) and didn't expect Mary & Ron to get up early to prepare breakfast (we were prepared to rough it with Cliff Bars). There was no way they would let us leave in the morning without eating something first. Mary & Ron are first-class folks and believe us, they know how to cook.

We stayed in the studio apartment and were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not much to add to the existing reviews. Great views, great breakfasts and Ron & Mary are super helpful. One thing to note is that the this is a small intimate B&B, so you are really part of their household almost - but they are so welcoming! We had the seaglass room, and could hear upstairs traffic late at night and early morning - which slightly bothered my wife who is a light sleeper. So if you are a light sleeper, maybe chose a different room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a beautiful home on the hillside withe THE VIEW. We had the studio apartment, which is a fabulous very large room with cozy furnishings that made us feel super comfortable. Mary & Ron made us feel most welcome with delicious breakfasts each day and marvelous stories about Mary's family history with the fur trade and bear guiding (dating back to Soviet rule) and Ron's fishing and other unique-to-Alaska escapades. I can't imagine a more comfortable, equipped, resourceful B&B to stay in. Our Kodiak visit was fantastic and we'd stay with Mary & Ron again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I stayed with Mary and Ron in August 2013. They were wonderful hosts. Our room was comfortably furnished and the breakfast were delicious. They suggested a number of activities and hikes for us, which we enjoyed immensely. Since the B&B is not in town, however, we had a rental car and I would recommend that for others. If you are staying in Kodiak, this is an excellent choice and much more personal than the Best Western downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Decided to stay here after reading all the positive reviews it got--so glad we did!! Ron and Mary were so easy to talk to, it was like visiting old friends! Delightful breakfasts, made especially for the time that would fit our schedule, made us feel very relaxed. They have plenty of recommendations on where to eat as well as things to do. They let us stay again after our flight was cancelled, and made us feel so welcome in their home! We would highly recommend this B&B for a very special stay in Kodiak.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our family of six adults was looking for a special place on Kodiak Island to stay for a week. Thanks to Tripadvisor we booked with Mary and Ron Doubt and had a magical time. Ron and Mary managed our different breakfast schedules (half the group fished while the others hiked and went to yoga class and massages) and provided the most stunning breakfasts. The house allowed each of the three couples a very private space as well as a place to gather for pre-dinner drinks. Each of the rooms/bathrooms is beautifully decorated and Ron and Mary's time working in Italy is reflected in beautiful ceramics and place settings. They are a very special couple. Kodiak Island too is beautiful and the views from their home are stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I had a wonderful stay at this BnB in Kodiak. Ron and Mary were fabulous hosts. The room itself was lovely with views out to the sea channel. They has so much information everything to do in the area. They also had a great selection of DVDs that are all filmed in and around the area, which i really enjoyed watching during my stay. The breakfasts were truly delicious and of great variety. I would recommend for all to go and stay. I would definitely go back if I'm every lucky enough to visit Kodiak again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenspen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kodiak
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Shelikof Lodge
Shelikof Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kodiak Island
30 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Comfort Inn Kodiak
#4 of 5 in Kodiak Island
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Russian River Roadhouse
Russian River Roadhouse
#3 of 11 in Kodiak
14 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
#11 of 20 in Kodiak Island
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Channel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Channel View B&B

Address: 1010 Steller Way, Kodiak, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6491
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island > Kodiak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kodiak
Price Range: £68 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRICELESS VIEWS, amenities plus, reasonable rates & less than 1 mile from downtown. Choose from tastefully decorated 1 BR apt. & Studio suite with decks and private entrances or comfy queen, and single rooms, all with a view. Great multi-course breakfasts in high season. Experience Kodiak with 40+ year resident hosts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing