We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels As Good As Home”
Review of A Channel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Channel View B&B
Ranked #1 of 11 Kodiak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels As Good As Home”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Ron and Mary rock! They are hospitable, interesting, and warm hosts who make you feel at home. The attention to details from the relaxing view, exquisite breakfast presentation, emaculate accomodiations, and cozy fire to the comfortable bed was appreciated after a 17hr flight to Kodiak. I would definitely stay again. It is the best in Kodiak!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
81
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014


Our hosts were gracious, welcoming and engaging. They provided us with a wealth of information about the history, geography and wildlife. We were fortunate enough to view orcas from the breakfast table on the last of March. They recommended different stops on our road trips that turned out to be treasures.
The art work and the photographs in their home were another huge bonus.
We plan to come back with our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaskatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the Channel view with two collegues during a recent business trip to Kodiak. What a great choice we made in staying here! It wasn't like any business trip I had ever been on. Coming home to Mary and Ron was a comforting experience after a long day. I felt more comfortable here than I have at any other B&B. The reason rests with Mary and Ron. They are so easy going and gracious. They have led interesting lives being well traveled themselves. The house has every comfort needed, as well as many extras. The delicious breakfasts were tailored to our desires as well as dietetic needs. The extra care they take in the presentation was well appreciated by us and started me out on the right foot. The home is a short and lovely walk to the historic district, a park and several restaurants. I am having a hard time closing this review because I could go on and on, but I want to end with the view that lingers in my memory. I could sit there for hours staring across the bay to Near Island watching the fishing boats come and go. Thanks Mary and Ron, you feel like family to me!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This cozy B & B, tucked into a spruce-filled slope above the Kodiak Channel, is the restful place for beginning and ending a day of Alaskan adventure. Feel at home in the furnished studio apartment with its comfy queen-size bed, well-equipped kitchenette including dishware and utensils, a handsome, sparkling bathroom with shower and soft towels, ample closets, Wi-Fi, cable TV and large washer and dryer.Thanks to Mary and Ron Doubt's gracious hospitality, homemade meals made extraordinary with fresh herbs and spices and good humor, just get up and enjoy the day. When not forging along trails close by at Near Island or up the road at Fort Abercrombie, sit still and spot eagles perched on trees feet across from the secluded deck. Watch vessels chug by in the moonlight on route to the fisheries. Walk 10 minutes along the Channel park to downtown or head up and across the main street to the Arts Council's world-class concerts, theatre and art shows or up the hill to the inviting public library. Enjoy relaxing with Mary and Ron whose deep roots in and love of Kodiak's history and places make them your go-to people for making your stay in Kodiak really cool and one of many.

Room Tip: Each room has a special view and easy access to all B & B conveniences. Give Mary a call, and sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed in the Sea Glass room. The bed was ultra comfortable (bliss, after several days of camping) and the bathroom was lovely including having plush bathrobes provided along with the amenities you would expect at a luxury hotel. A Keurig coffee maker was downstairs in addition to the wonderful gourmet breakfast we were served. Mary and Ron really excel at hospitality and their suggestions for where to explore and what to do with our last 2 days on the island were so appreciated. They even had extra freezer space for fish storage.

Their view along the Channel is spectacular! If you are visiting the town of Kodiak, don't hesitate to contact them first about availabiity. There is a reason they've won TripAdvisor awards.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storyteller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed there 2 years ago, now this time I took my family with me!!! AGAIN amazing food, hospitality, comfort, and of course the best view in Kodiak. Mary and Ron always go above and beyond in caring for their clients. The breakfast is the best ever available. I went to see bears at a remote camp but left some gear there so I could return and stay again until I had to leave the island, and Mary and Ron were very welcoming. I hope to go there again, and next time I will book earlier to make sure any friends can stay there before you get fully booked out next time! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked three nights here in early September. Ron and Mary Doubt, the innkeepers, are incredibly hospitably, and generous with sharing what to do in the area and sharing their history on Kodiak. We had wondered about booking the apartment versus eating with other guests for breakfast in the main house. However, the apartment was the only option available, and it worked out great! They had stocked the kitchen with plenty of different options so we could cook breakfast every morning. They even had a container of ice cream and a frozen pizza in case we got the "munchies." We checked in, shared a cup of tea and coffee, and settled in our room. We had a living room, table and chairs, small kitchen, and very comfortable bedroom. We had a TV, several DVDs, and material on Alaska. Heat was easy to adjust. We had a deck where we could see float planes taking off. Parking was never a problem. Our rooms were picked up every day. Mary and Ron shared their advice on restaurants they enjoyed and things we wouldn't want to miss. Check out was easy and we felt so comfortable. We'd highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: If you would like to be in a little more private spot, try the apartment instead of the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kodiak
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kodiak Island
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Channel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Channel View B&B

Property: A Channel View B&B
Address: 1010 Steller Way, Kodiak, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6491
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island > Kodiak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kodiak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRICELESS VIEWS, amenities plus, reasonable rates & less than 1 mile from downtown. Choose from tastefully decorated 1 BR apt. & Studio suite with decks and private entrances or comfy queen, and single rooms, all with a view. Great multi-course breakfasts in high season. Experience Kodiak with 40+ year resident hosts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing