We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
170
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea glassgracious hostskodiak islandother guestsbreakfast tablehome away from homecomfortable bedplace to staya special placeevery morningfelt like homespent two nightsspectacular viewsone bedroom apartmentamazing breakfastliving roomhighly recommend this b b
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

From the moment we enquired about staying at A Channel View B&B we sensed our stay in Kodiak would be memorable. Ron met us at the wharf when we arrived on the Tustamena and gave as an introductory tour of the township with suggestions on places to visit. Little extras not mentioned in tourist brochures!
Before we stepped through the door we knew we would enjoy our stay. Our 'Seaglass Room' was comfortable and attractively presented with grand views over the Channel.
Mary and Ron were proud of their home island and willingly offered us transport to and from Fort Abercrombie. Walking to and from places of interest around town was also very easy.
Breakfast was just wonderful, with a special guest cook for the two morning we were there. Superb. We enjoyed both meals shared with fellow travellers and our hosts. Our evenings were equally pleasant as we sat and shared conversation with Mary and Ron.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My brother and I stayed at the Channel View B&B in August, 2017. We had the apartment. The accommodations were "First Class." Mary and Ron were great hosts. They were very knowledgable about Kodiak Island and quite willing to share their information. Anyone considering a visit to the Island should definitely check with Channel View to see if they have any room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stayed in the Studio room which was excellent with a great bed. Ron and Mary were both wonderful hosts, going out of their way to make our stay memorable. We joined them for a beautiful BBQ smoked salmon dinner on our last night and it was the best salmon we have ever tasted. The room has it's own entrance and is very private and quiet with a fantastic view over the channel and walking distance to restaurants and town. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Mary and Ron are just amazing hosts! This is definitively on of the places to stay on Kodiak!
. At this time Ron was at home and a little bit surprised to meet us already. We double checked our dates again and yes, there was a small gap in our planning we've done ;-) After realizing this fact Ron offered a really tasty IPA. When Mary came home she offered us to stay the first night in the only room she has left. The subsequent two nights the were fully booked at their B&B BUT they organized a perfect room in another great B&B just a few minutes away for us. What a service, thank you so much!
We stayed 6 nights in total at Channel View B&B. Even after 6 nights we never had the same breakfast twice! Every single breakfast was delicious. One rainy morning Ron prepared some fresh caught king salmon on the barbeque. Wow, that's a real Kodiak-breakfast ;-)
We could use maps and all the stuff we needed for our hikes and got a lot of information for our activities and background information about Kodiak.
Thank you again for the great stay we had with you Mary and Ron!
Maybe see you next time in Switzerland :-)
Best, Ben & Nicole

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ben42_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Kodiak island is an incredible place. My wife and I just left and we want to go back. After chatting to Mary and Ron I understand why people come for a short time visit and never leave. The amount of guests they have had over the years is immense yet when we arrived, we were given such personalised attention and it felt as if we were old friends getting together again. Within minutes of arriving we had coffees in our hands and they had the maps out showing us where to go. After an hour we were out hiking with Mary, getting a guided tour of Fort Abercrombie park. We packed in as much as we could in 2 days and everywhere they sent us - from a boat trip to restaurants, to hikes - was wonderful.

They are not just great hosts, they are wonderful people who are passionate about their island and you'll leave knowing you have visited a special place and most likely have stayed at the best B and B that you ever will. The breakfasts were lovingly prepared and delicious and the apartment we stayed in was both cosy and traditional, yet modern and fully kitted out with a big, comfy bed (essential after all the hiking), a coffee machine, kitchen and a great bathroom.

Book early or adjust your trip dates for when they have a room available, it'll make your Kodiak visit the very best it can be.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sydneysider1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews