We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Janet Herr goes above and beyond”

Kodiak Island Van Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our "Safari" is a 6 hour drive where it's possible to see Kodiak Wildlife in their natural habitat; Brown Bear, Sitka Deer, Red Fox, Nesting Bald Eagle, Buffalo, Whale, Sea Otter, many species of Bird, and the many type of Salmon that arrive throughout our summer here on Kodiak Island. Our "Safari" is approximately 50 miles round trip. Beach walks, and photo stops are along the way as we travel. Enjoy a wonderful lunch while watching the "breathtaking" views. We are first aid and CPR certified, and offer the visitor the option of a morning or evening tour. Learn about Tsunamis, and historical facts as we also view wildlife. "Life is an adventure, why not start here, with Kodiak Island Van Tours."
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On Friday, May 16, 2014, Janet arrived at my hotel to pick me up 10 minutes early, and was determined to make up for my disappointment of the day before. I embarked on a 6-hour tour with her at a cost of $89 plus tax which was extremely good value since it also included lunch (smoked salmon sandwich which she made specially because I'm not a meat eater), refreshments, and several rest stops. Kodiak Island Van Tours was one of 3 recommended by the Visitor Center. She picked me up in her official tour van, and off we went south past Women's Bay, Middle Bay, Kalsin Bay, to Pasagshak, the surfers' beach, and the Kodiak Launch Complex. We made many stops where Janet went to great lengths to explain the history and ecology of each geographical area discussing matters of interest to me such as wildlife. The highlights were many: beautiful scenery; flora and fauna such as the mosses that form a soft carpet in the forest, and the lichen hanging from the trees like angel hair; details about Sitka spruce; wild roses; the numerous bald eagles; harbor seals; and, of course, the buffalo and their young. During the ride north towards Fort Abercrombie, Janet showed me a video which tied everything together and presented closeups of the 12-foot Kodiak brown bears that I hope to never encounter face to face! We stopped at a beach covered in shale from a subsiding cliff that covered the white sand giving the impression it was black. Finally, we reached Fort Abercrombie where we visited the historic ruins of the WWII coastal defenses and where I took pictures of the rusting cannons in their idyllic surroundings. At the end of our 6 hours together, Janet took me to the Safeway store so I could replenish my supply of toothpaste. This tour is thoroughly recommended by me to anyone and everyone wanting to learn more about Alaska's Kodiak Island. Janet went above and beyond to ensure my enjoyment of her tour, and she succeeded! All this for only one passenger in her van. I can't speak highly enough of her complete professionalism and incredible knowledge of everything on the island.

Thank AlaskaFile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kodiakgurl, Owner at Kodiak Island Van Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your nice review of Kodiak Island Van Tours. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled you chose us for your tour of Kodiak Island. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We met Janet on our way into Kodiak from the airport! We had a three day visit with no car rental. Janet offered a personalized tour all the way down to fossil beach for a great value! She let us pick our own start time (10am to recover from the brewery the night before) and although the tour was supposed to last for 6 hours, we were out for 8 1/2! Janet took us to all the places we would never have been able to find on our own. She was very knowledgable about the natural history of Kodiak, and we learned a lot from her throughout the day. Some of the highlights were seeing sockeye salmon in clear waters, watching buffalo graze by the ocean, and exploring the many fossils on fossil beach (and without Janet, we would have walked by them thinking they were just odd rocks!). If you don't visit Kodiak with your own transportation, Janet's van tour is the best way to see the island!

1  Thank Susanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kodiakgurl, Owner at Kodiak Island Van Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your nice review of Kodiak Island Van Tours. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled you chose us for your tour of Kodiak Island. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We toured with Janet Herr of Kodiak Island Van Tours this summer, and it was one of the highlights of our 10-day Alaska trip. Janet is the ideal hostess, knowledgeable of Kodiak's history, culture, wildlife, geography, oh, and best restaurants! We enjoyed her tour so much that we hired her a 2nd day to take us to various attractions and Ft. Ambercrombie. We left feeling as if we had made a friend for life, she is that warm and personable. Definitely consider this tour, as Janet will customize it to your interests and do everything she can to make your trip just what you want. The yummy chowder and bakery visit were added bonuses. Thank you, Janet! :)

2  Thank Traveler_201142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kodiakgurl, Owner at Kodiak Island Van Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your nice review of Kodiak Island Van Tours. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled you chose us for your tour of Kodiak Island. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

During our very short visit to Kodiak we rented a car and thought about taking our own tour. However, without knowing what we were looking at it would not be a very informative tour. So, thanks to Janet and Kodiak Island Van tours we were able to spend several hours with her and benefit from "local knowledge" that she was so good to share with us. Her passion for Kodiak was obvious and we witnessed things we would never have seen without her pointing them out. The several hour tour was well worth the price AND lunch was provided! Comfort stops were well scheduled and Janet stopped often to allow us to view the scenery and wildlife. The highlight of it all was the great pictures we got of the adult eagle and the "elder" chicks that would soon fledge. Thank You Janet.
Jose and Gloria
Lockhart, Texas

1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kodiakgurl, Owner at Kodiak Island Van Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your nice review of Kodiak Island Van Tours. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled you chose us for your tour of Kodiak Island. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had 5 days in Kodiak without a car, so Janet's Kodiak Island Van Tour was just what we needed to enable us to see the beauty of Kodiak outside the city. Janet obviously loves showing people her island, and her enthusiasm is infectious. She took us to the best sites to see salmon heading up the rivers to spawn, buffalo wandering through the trees and on the beach, sea otters, eagles and lots more. She was friendly, well informed and nothing was too much trouble, including an extra bear viewing session after hours to ensure we didn't go home disappointed. We certainly had good value for our money and thoroughly recommend her trip

1  Thank Skye846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kodiakgurl, Owner at Kodiak Island Van Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your nice review of Kodiak Island Van Tours. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled you chose us for your tour of Kodiak Island. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kodiak Island Van Tours also viewed

Kodiak, Kodiak Island
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
 

Been to Kodiak Island Van Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing