We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy sandwiches”

Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Kodiak
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Lovely warm atmosphere, perfect place for breakfast or lunch. The friendly environment is so welcoming for families with children, gatherings of friends, and much more. We have extra seating upstairs, so you'll never be without a spot. We roast our own coffee, bake our own break and pastries, use only ORGANIC EGGS AND MILK, and in general, try to create delicious food with love!
Restaurant details
Description: Lovely warm atmosphere, perfect place for breakfast or lunch. The friendly environment is so welcoming for families with children, gatherings of friends, and much more. We have extra seating upstairs, so you'll never be without a spot. We roast our own coffee, bake our own break and pastries, use only ORGANIC EGGS AND MILK, and in general, try to create delicious food with love!
Kodiak, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Love the gourmet sandwiches and coffees! My favorites are the ones with brie, gouda, bacon and avocado. You have to try it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the culture!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Monks Rock has great homemade soups, sandwiches, and wonderful deserts. The atmosphere and culture is Russian Orthodox with the decor to match. They have wonderful customer service and the people are very kind. Love this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank AKLady-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Coffee and character”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was a nice little place to stop for coffee and a snack. They also had a more extensive menu if you wanted it. It is within walking distance of the main areas of Kodiak, not far from the docks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlg3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
1,375 reviews
995 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“Superb Little Mission Coffehouse and Sandwich/Salad Shop”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Originally established by St. Innocent's Russian Orthodox Church Mission to help troubled youth, Monk's Rock has developed into an off-beat, but delightful place for light meals and baked treats. The offering of sandwiches made on homemade bread, pizza and calzones, and dessert is quite imaginative. I had to order the "Mazeltov Marvel" just to say I did, in Kodiak, of all places. It actually was delicious, although not quite New York deli. The coffee, with unlimited re-fills, was freshly brewed and rich. Actually, in the middle of nowhere, in Kodiak, no less, one of the best sandwich shops anyplace in the world. Mazel Tov, as we say, Monk's Rock! You've got it right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good lunch venue”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's a little of an odd mix Monks. Lots of christian images but great sandwiches, cakes and coffee. We even bought a local children's book for our nephew there too. It was all about bears.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing