We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Kodiak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Description: Lovely warm atmosphere, perfect place for breakfast or lunch. The friendly environment is so welcoming for families with children, gatherings of friends, and much more. We have extra seating upstairs, so you'll never be without a spot. We roast our own coffee, bake our own break and pastries, use only ORGANIC EGGS AND MILK, and in general, try to create delicious food with love!
Restaurant details
Description: Lovely warm atmosphere, perfect place for breakfast or lunch. The friendly environment is so welcoming for families with children, gatherings of friends, and much more. We have extra seating upstairs, so you'll never be without a spot. We roast our own coffee, bake our own break and pastries, use only ORGANIC EGGS AND MILK, and in general, try to create delicious food with love!
Manassas, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The place is popular. We had to wait in line to place our order. But the wait was worth it. They make fine sandwiches. The somehow forgot my sister's order, and they quickly made her a deluxe sandwich meal and gave us our money back. I returned the money - they were so nice. Tables downstairs are few, but they have additional tables upstairs in some sort of used clothing shop. If they ask you if you want an upstairs table, wait for a downstairs table to feel connected to the whole experience. You can also do a carry out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good sandwich shop”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good sandwiches, although expensive. Service is quick and friendly. Can get crowded at lunch and the parking is terrible.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MomofsixinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch in Kodiak City!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Monk's Rock Cafe offers a wide variety of super tasty dishes that are freshly-prepared by the staff of young folks (who are part of the Orthodox Academy on Kodiak Island -- hence the name of the place). Their breads are outstanding and baked in-house, along with their pizzas too. My favorite choice is their borscht soup, which is served traditional-style with a dark rye bread roll (and sour cream on the side)... this dark rye bread (which is also sold at the cafe in sliced loaves too) is made in true Russian taste & fashion -- which we've not been able to find elsewhere here in the USA -- and it was most excellent to again eat this wonderful bread (!). The now roast & brew their own coffee too, their prices are low -- and the service is most polite & quick too. They have a area inside the cafe that's filled with Orthodox gift/religious items for sale (imported from Russia) -- be sure to also bring home one of their specially-made ceramic mugs w/ their logo too... The Monk's Rock Cafe is always a must-eat place whenever I visit Kodiak Island... Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Love the gourmet sandwiches and coffees! My favorites are the ones with brie, gouda, bacon and avocado. You have to try it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the culture!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Monks Rock has great homemade soups, sandwiches, and wonderful deserts. The atmosphere and culture is Russian Orthodox with the decor to match. They have wonderful customer service and the people are very kind. Love this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank AKLady-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing