We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for a reasonable lunch”

Cookie Cafe Mossettes 2277
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Description: Cookie Cafe is a new Mountain Cafe concept in the Portes du Soleil between Avoriaz, Chatel, Morzine, Morgins and Champery. It's the highest altitude restaurant in the Portes du Soleil at 2277m situated on the Pointe de Mossettes. Fantastic fresh burgers, wraps, pasta, salads, pizzas and soups daily, a stunning sun terrace, live DJs and new Chillaxin' lounge!!!
UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for a reasonable lunch”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This cafe was a nice stop for a lunch break after a couple of hours on the slopes. In comparison with other Swiss resorts, the prices were much more reasonable, probably as they are competing with French prices nearby! We had toasted paninis with fries and they were reasonably priced and tasted good. We didn't have to wait too long for the food to arrive. Don't go here if you're expecting haute cuisine and a proper restaurant atmosphere. This is a pub-cafe and the menu range, prices and presentation of food reflects this (paninis and chips came in paper bags in baskets rather than served as a meal on plates) , which I didn't mind but some people may be surprised by it. Toilets were reasonably clean on this visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giggles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Great atmosphere and great location”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

New restaurant great menu. Kids had burgers we had paninis- fast service and delicious. The atmosphere is laid back and the music is great. Looking forward to going back when the weather is a Lille warmer so that I can enjoy the amazing views from the terrace. Went back another day for last drinks and then last ski down to Les Crosets- amazing views all the way down

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Lunch amidst a day of skiing”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The cookie cafe is a new cafe at an incredible location. The restaurant has beautiful views all around and a nice feel inside with a bar and full lunch menu. Our party of 5 (kids included) loved the burgers and the staff was super friendly.With this being the first weeks of the restaurant being open- we are sure the service will just get better and better. A great stop for all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSDriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst value in the Portes du Soleil”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Whilst I appreciate the location of this "cafe", it is difficult to describe how poor the service and food quality is. In fact, I find it unbelievable that I can queue for 10 minutes to order a spaghetti bolognaise, which is then presented in a cardboard box awash with salty water. For the benefit of this, I was relieved of 14 Swiss Francs. The "soup" of the day resembled baby food, but was served cold with stale bread. I can only conclude that this establishment NEVER wishes to see repeat customers. I have been skiing in the Portes du Soleil for 7 years, and have never experienced such poor quality and value. Cookie "Cafe" is an embarrassment to the other Swiss restaurants in the area.

Please, please if you are looking for lunch in this area, go down into Lindarets or over to Chatel. The food in these places is good quality and significantly better value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommyy_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Cookie Cafe Mossettes 2277, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are very sorry that your first trip to cookie.cafe wasn't as enjoyable as we would have hoped. Cookie.cafe has operated successfully for four years across the valley in Villars, where we pride ourselves on our service and quality, so as a new restaurant in the Portes du Soleil we are taking your feedback seriously. Our business in Villars has been built on repeat business weekend after weekend and season after season and our goal is to do the same here on the Mossettes. Bon Ski.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cookie Cafe Mossettes 2277 also viewed

Champery, Portes du Soleil
Val D'illiez, Canton of Valais
 
Val D'illiez, Canton of Valais

Been to Cookie Cafe Mossettes 2277? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing