We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn on the Shore
Ranked #1 of 1 Downderry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Parked the car in the car park with their approval and took our dogs for a long sunny walk on the beach to Seaton and back. Had a great pint/wine plus tasty lunch. Cheerful and helpful service. All meals cooked from scratch and fresh - no ting ting microwave pub gash in a flash food here....Well sheltered from the North wind on the deck watching the sea glimmering in the strong Autumn sun. Well worth the 45 min drive over for a great day out. PS the dogs thought the chips and their own water bowl was good too ! Do not understand the 'overpriced' food bit - same as other tourist pubs in Plymouth and Dartmoor.

Room Tip: Lunch only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnASailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Grimy, scruffy worn out. Well past sell-by date. Average pub food at high prices. Indifferent staff. Sticky tables. amazing cobwebs on light fittings. Old sofa with base busted, stuffing on floor. Good view from room but some double glazed units were blown. Residents entrace is past the smelly bins and past the kitchen staff smoking in the door, along the grimy hall and careful on the greasy floor. Needs closing down and total refurb, Best avoided for now. Could be fantistic

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank norman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

we are amazed at negative reviews .....paul and staff have been wonderful on our visits this week ...no complaints on service, food,,,,loved the banter......can't comment on rooms didn't stay....thank you so much. Wonderful diamond wedding celebratory meal! see you next year definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joechas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After seeing this place on the Internet it looked amazing but when u arrive inside the place looks tired and well in need of an update. We had two dogs so we sat on the patio outside which has outstanding views of the sea and beach. I asked inside if I could look at a menu, after veing ignored for a few minutes, and was rudely told "you can look"!!! Needless to say didn't eat there had a cup of tea but the tea pot was filthy so put me off the food! Hope something is done about this place as its such a shame as it has such great potential!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Shazzawalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Shore one night in late August. The Inn is in a lovely position but how sad that the inside does not do it justice. We paid £100.00 for one night! The room had great views. One of the blinds did not work - the bathroom was so small - not worth the money. We had a meal at the Inn which was average but the service was dreadful we waited so long for our meal I nearly gave up the will to live. The service at breakfast was the same, very very slow . We saw 2 other couples at breakfast, and it seemed to me that the staff waited until we were all down for breakfast before we got our breakfast. We had to have our breakfast at 9.00am!!!!! The breakfast was very good. I ordered poached egg expecting one egg but three arrived!!
I really do agree with the other comments on Trip advisor - this Inn should be closed and then reopened with new interior - new furniture (the leather settees in the bar were ripped). This place could be fantastic. Please please do something before it is too late. I think the staff were lovely but if the product is not "up to scratch" how can the staff maintain their enthusiasm!
In the morning we went for a walk on the beach, as I mentioned breakfast was not until 9.00am and we had to go out of the rear entrance of the Inn, this was full of rubbish and cigarette ends - not good enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudySherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This review is based on my experience of the restaurant/ bar . The staff were very rude, young and immature and had no idea of customer service. We asked for a table only to be greeted by a miserable young girl who was not interested in us in the least where we were made to feel like a nuisance.
The waiting time for the meal was also a very long time , at least 40 mins , we were given no explanation or no apology either.
We visited this pub many years ago and loved it, we have been told since thats its been taken over by new managment , well it has certainly changed, it had no atmosphere, its was extremely quiet for the busiest time of the year and it was run by what we could see ,was very young , rude girls.......... All we can say is how dissapointing..... we will not be visiting it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in June and the first night was absolutely terrible. We were given room 5 for the first night which was the worst we have ever had. Tiny, very uncomfortabl;e bed which had black mould on it, hard springs and right next to the kitchen extractor fan - nightmare.
We complained immediately but were told we could not be moved until the following morning as there was no other rooms free. We were moved to room 1 the next morning and totally different and a lovely large, bright room with superb views over the coast.
We ate both nights and the food was excellent and well priced. If we had been given room 1 from the first night we would have given this 5 stars.

Room Tip: Do not accept ROOM 5 go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downderry
2.7 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
624 reviews
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#3 of 4 in Tedburn St. Mary
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Seaton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Shore

Address: Downderry PL11 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Downderry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Downderry
Price Range: £56 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on the Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Inn on the Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Shore Downderry, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing