We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Clean welcoming and amazing location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Pigsty

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning sea view from the living area Open plan living enjoying the south facing seaview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The stunning sea view from the living area
Open plan living enjoying the south facing seaview
The private garden backing onto fields with lovely countryside views.
The gorgeous nearby Gook beach at Portwrinkle
Exploring Looe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
steve1010...
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Clean welcoming and amazing location.”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The location was amazing, fantastic views, Caroline made us all feel welcome. The accomadation was clean very well appointed And a perfect base for exploring this part of Cornwall..You do need to drive to eat out. But we where happy to stay in and enjoy the views

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hkjkjkkk
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Four Ladies one week !”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Found this on trip advisor never been before and I have to say we were delighted we had an elderly lady with us so really lucky as all on one level . Two bathroom perfect for four ladies getting ready .
The place was beautiful lovely view over sea and very peaceful . Such a well equipped holiday home every gadget you could ever need in the kitchen . Loved having a dishwasher and washing machine however only used washing machine once to wash towels which are also included in your stay . Linen was included and beds were very comfortable.
Caroline was exstreamly friendly and helpful when needed but not intrusive . We all fell in love with the family dog Buddy such a lovely friendly dog !
Thank you for a wonderful relaxing week .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hosts”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights after Christmas and were made very welcome.
Unfortunately the weather wasn’t quite so accommodating! We found the Pigsty to be very clean and it had everything we needed.
When we told the owners it was too cold they provided a heater and extra blankets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert an...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay in Cornwall.”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Pigsty. The location is perfect and on most days, we were treated to a wonderful view of the sea. Caroline is the perfect host and the accommodation is very comfortable with everything we needed to self cater. We enjoyed using fresh local produce that abounds in this beautiful part of Cornwall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithtoe...
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous facilities.”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was exactly like the photos on the website. Location was out of the way so very peaceful and quiet. The views were stunning both night and day, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41christi...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week staying at the pigsty. Caroline has thought of everything. It was spotless and very cosy. Heating even on when we arrived. You do need a car as it is a little remote but that is the appeal of it. Lovely views of the valley. Could spend all summer there. Caroline is a super person very helpful and friendly . I would recommend the pigsty to anyone. While there do visit Plymouth gin factory for a tour,also St Austell brewery great day out. Plymouth aquarium is also worth a visit. Thank you Caroline for a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J N
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay, with perfect host”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodation: Fantastic. Couldn't ask for more.
Hosts: Very welcoming, accommodating, and very friendly
Owner's Dog!: So friendly
Location: Views of the sea. Very quiet and relaxing.
Facilities: Absolutely everything you need is in here

We really enjoyed our stay and we will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing