We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and good value”
Review of Happy Guests Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Happy Guests Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Dutton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here after being double booked in a hotel in Warrington. We found the couple who ran it very helpful and considerate. Breakfast was good with a good range of cereals, toast, beans juice tea and coffee as well as the normal continental stuff like pastries. Rooms very clean, comfortable and very large for the price.

There was an incident at the hotel early in the morning where someone had broken into the reception. I was pleased that we could assist the owners with this until the Police arrived and sorted things out. Other guests just ignored things and went on their way.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wanted a motel style stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
49
19
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending carfest at Oulton Park and can recommend it over certain chains in the same price band by a country mile. It's clean, comfortable and the staff & owners are incredibly friendly and helpful - they even put a sheet down and let us store bikes in the bedroom. Breakfast is a basic buffet, but everything is well stocked and fresh.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for one night in an executive twin room - the staff were really friendly and helpful - the room was lovely - very clean and funky! There was a good choice at breakfast and we would definitely stay here again. Well worth staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I just had 2 nights in this hotel, I booked at the last minute having had a previous booking 'lost' somehow for another hotel online. I used late booking to find this on the internet. It was close to a friend living in Lymm that's why I chose it and it is very convenient for lots of places(Tatton Park in this case). Breakfast was included which was continental but in addition had porridge which was very welcome. Everything was well set out and convenient and the proprietor very friendly and helpful.
In addition they can lay on a convenient room service supper menu which was very useful as I was travelling alone and didn't really want to go out looking for supper in a strange area.
I would definitely stay again if in the area. Room was a single but large enough for 2 single beds and en-suite. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: I was at the front which is noisy if window open. Ask for rear if light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiehelen_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights [ 24th/25th July] to visit our sons family. The lady at reception gave us a friendly welcome and explained all the necessary details re late return after 10pm, shower operation, etc. We were asked if we would like a cooked breakfast as these must be ordered the night before. We were in a rush to be out each day so had the continental b/fast which was comprehensive. The eating room is clean but basic, would not be worth the expense of a more up market dining area in a Lodge.
Our room was larger than expected, comfortable and clean. There was a flat screen TV and free wifi. The bathroom was clean and had a soap dispenser- nice touch that.
Bar snacks and drink prices are very reasonable indeed. There is free room service for those who wish to eat in their rooms- not for us. The Lodge has adequate free car parking but care is needed on leaving as it exits onto a very busy road. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for just one night when playing in a golf tournament at Sandiway. Rooms very spacious with free room service and food at very reasonable prices.
Large TV and free Wifi -very clean room.
Breakfast was full of choice and the self service means you can have what you want and how you like it.
Would happily stay again and recommend to friends.
The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AceGolfer13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Happy Guests Lodge following a concert at Delamere forest. Before booking the hotel we had little idea about the general area so I sent an email to the hotel to request details on taxis and distance to the venue. I received a very polite and informative email in response and then decided to go ahead with the booking.

When we arrived the hotel appeared clean and tidy with a large, well presented foyer. We were welcomed by a polite male receptionist who confirmed our booking and engaged in friendly conversation regarding the Blondie gig we were travelling to see. He went through the details of the breakfast times and booked a time for us to have the cooked breakfast we ordered, he then went on to explain the opening times and how the entry system works after reception hours.

We stayed in room 13 - unlucky for some, but not for us!! It was a lovely spacious twin room with all the facilities you require to ensure a comfortable stay is had by all Tea and coffee making facilities, extra towels and pillows, plenty of space to walk around and a nice little seating area by the window plus the added bonus of free wifi which I am currently using to write this review!!!! The green and orange decor brightens the place up nicely without being over the top!!! It makes a change to see some colour in a hotel! I loved the little extras including the cool green telephone and the dog tail hooks!! Considering the beds were singles, I could not fault the comfort!! We both had a brilliant nights sleep! The bathroom is spacious and nicely kitted out with shower gel and soap dispensers! Something which you don't often see in budget hotels! The walls were a little thin between the bathroom and bedroom! But all in all a fabulously kitted out room!

The breakfast in the morning was brilliant! We ordered vegetarian breakfasts which to our surprise came with veggie sausages, something we didn't expect as the previous day when we ordered, the receptionist seemed a little concerned that there would not be much to give us! The free continental breakfast on offer was amazing!!! Everything you could want they had! Cereal, yogurts, pastries, porridge, toast and beans along with tea, coffee and juice and it was all you could eat!! Brilliant!!!

During our short time here we came across two members of staff - both of whom were friendly and polite and made us feel very welcomed. I would highly recommend this lodge to anybody visiting the area as it is excellent value for money and offers all you need!!!!
Thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dutton
7.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
9.5 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guests Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guests Lodge

Property: Happy Guests Lodge
Address: Tarporley Road, Dutton, Warrington WA4 4EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Dutton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guests Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Guests Lodge offers great value for money and fantastic rooms, backed up by friendly & efficient Customer Service!All our En-suite Bedrooms are large - 25 sq Mt. and have 30 channel flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities, telephones, etc. If you are a little bored with the corporate lodges and want a fresh and interesting place to stay then try Happy Guests Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Happy Guests Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guests Lodge Warrington/Dutton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing