We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B&B”
Review of Muirhead Croft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muirhead Croft
Ranked #6 of 7 Bridgend B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here. Very welcoming hostess Fiona who dished up a full cooked breakfast every morning. House was immaculate. Nothing to criticise. Would definitely stay again. Good value for money and during whisky festival week.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nephron77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Muirhead Croft
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hosts are verij friendly and welcoming.
The double room is very spacious, just like the ensuite facilities.
The breakfast was great, every morning there were different items on your plate.
The location is in the countryside with great views. It's a nice and quiet location.
A real gem to make a visit.

Room Tip: We had the double room with ensuite facilities.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohandeJonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at Muirhead Croft for a couple of nights during the Islay Feis Ile 2012 whisky festival. I was happy to have found a room on only a couple days notice - Fiona replied to my email promptly. The house seemed relatively newly built, and the room and bathroom were clean and well kept. The bathroom for my room had a shower but also a separate nice big tub if one wanted a soak. The location is up on a hill on one of the side roads between Bridgend and the Bruichladdich distillery, with a cool metal rooster sculpture on top of a post at the driveway. It has a great view overlooking the surrounding fields and down towards the bay. They have a chicken coop so you get fresh eggs in the morning! Breakfast was delicious. Prices were comparable to other places on the island, if not a little better. The pics on their website (just search for Muirhead Croft) are accurate. Fiona also was very friendly and accommodating, and knew people and sights all over the island.. overall this was a great place and I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spacebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for four nights and everything was absolutely first class. Fiona was a delightful hostess and did everything that she could to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. The room was spotless with a lovely big shower. Being a local girl she knew the island and could tell you all the places to go, and which distilleries to visit if you didn't want to visit all eight!! She also knew the cafes that served the best home made cakes, try the one in the Ardbeg distillery. If we ever get back to Islay, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexRyan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I spent 4 days on Islay on a Whisky tour with two friends. Islay is a small island with a small population of 3500, there are 8 world-class whiskey distilleries. Especially when the sun is shining, Islay is very nice, but even with typical Scottish weather the island is charming.We stayed at a B&B called Muirhead Croft. It is a new build house with 2 double bedrooms, owned by an English couple.
Centrally located near Bridgend, Muirhead Croft is immaculate and comfortable. You will love this place. We have had a fabulous stay. Fiona’s breakfast is wonderful, the best thing you can have to start a day of nosing and tasting whisky!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiel174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohandeJonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
4.8 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
43 reviews
5.6 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
275 reviews
5.4 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
313 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
11.3 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhead Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhead Croft

Address: Muirhead Croft B8017, Bridgend, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bridgend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
Also Known As:
Muirhead Croft Bridgend, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing