We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Idyll was extra special, a precious place, idyllic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Idyll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Idyll
Ranked #1 of 2 Ningwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley
1 review
“Little Idyll was extra special, a precious place, idyllic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The gentle hills, the extraordinary birds, unknown in California, the luxurious appointments in the old stone house, the amazing culinary delights, none would be possible without charming Chloe. She even feeds the wild birds. I recommend a happy visit to Little Idyll to the Royal descendants, too, muuuch nicer accommodations than Carisbrooke Castle, trust me.
And not to be missed,The two story bus ride going down the left side of the road was as exciting as a Disneyland ride. It will really give you a lift! It was all a pleasure! Gratefully yours, Katte and The G

Room Tip: This is a charming Stone home with a welcoming space just for You! And maybe one or two more, so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at Little Idyll for two nights, celebrating my partner's birthday. We have a wonderful time and everything was just perfect.

The room was lovely, with very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom with copper bath. All decorated in really nice way, all details coordinated very well creating great atmosphere and unique look of the place. You can see that everything was looked after in Little Idyll, and that is one of the reasons that this b&b is a special place.
There is a lovely garden outside, often visited by rabbits, pheasants and small birds, so if you like to observe animals you have a chance of doing so at breakfast time.

Another reason behind Little Idyll being a very special place are the owners, Chloe and Rob, who are not only fantastic hosts but also very nice people. They were so welcoming, friendly and helpful and also flexible, say with time arrangements.
Worth to mention that before we arrived I emailed Chloe &Rob couple of times, and they always replied promptly, answering any questions we had.

During our stay we enjoyed a lovely country breakfast, with freshly baked bread, and on the second morning we also tried breakfast tarts and tomatoes bake, all was yummy, for sure you won't be disappointed. We also had the afternoon tea, and that was a massive treat, but mind you, it's really big so forget about eating dinner after that!

Since it was my partner' s birthday Chloe kindly made a cake, which looked amazing, basically like a cake made by a professional pastry chef, with a red Ferrari on the top. We were so amazed by it!

The location of Little Idyll is good, 10 min from Yarmouth, easy to find, and also even though located by the road it's very quiet there.

We both agreed that it was the best b&b ever, so we will definitely go there again.

Best wishes

Gosia&Pawel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

It was well worth the extra money to upgrade to the luxurious B&B. The house is a beautiful thatch cottage; the bedroom is beautiful; the ensuite had the most amazing copper double bath; the cake & coffee in the room are fabulous; breakfast is outastanding (try the quiche!); and best of all is Chloe the host who makes it relaxing, warm and welcoming. We had a fantastic couple of days, and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We got married in the morning, had an amazing day and then finished it off by staying one night at the Little Idyll............Well all I can say is that we could not have picked a more perfect place to stay. Rob and Chloe were so accommodating, they stayed up, welcomed us and showed us to the room.
This really is a "no expense spared" retreat. Quite, comfortable, luxurious, just what we wanted.
The bed is probably the comfiest we have ever slept in....an then the bath!...What can I say?...This is pure indulgence, a huge copper bath.
We woke to a view over the surrounding fields, wild birds and horses in the field.
Breakfast was very well prepared with so many options.
We opted to stay for afternoon tea...I challenge anyone to finish this! and yes everything was freshly made, including the scones and cakes.

The only negative we could point out is that we only stayed one night.

Little Idyll is situated in easy reach of the main town, Newport. There are plenty of good nature trails and local pubs within walking distance.

We would highly recommend staying here.

Little Idyll really does set the bench mark for quality B&B's.

Room Tip: As far as we know all rooms have the copper bath and the same views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night in August in a luxury double room. We were visiting family who are located close by in Shalfleet. The location was perfect for us as we were about a 5minute drive from our family. Chloe the host was fantastic. She was really welcoming, showed us to the room when we arrived, had even made a couple of home made cup cakes for us! The room itself was beautiful and the view fantastic, great to see horses from your bedroom window. The bathroom was AMAZING! Beautiful copper bath and decorated really nicely. Breakfast the next morning was superb. Freshly baked bread and croissants, fresh fruit and yoghurt. I usually dont eat full english, but tried it this time and the food was wonderful, great quality. We spent £100 on the room and at first I thought this was quite a lot as we usually stay in fancy hotels with pools when we go away for the same price. I can honestly say it was worth every penny and beats a big hotel any day!! We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My fiancée booked us into Little Iydll whilst we were on a 2 night break for my birthday. The B&B is a beautiful thatched cottage situated in Ningwood between Yarmouth and Newport. The setting is lovely with beautiful views from the windows. Despite being on the main road to Yarmouth you really cant notice any road noise and is a very peaceful setting.

The owner Chloe was very friendly and helpful and even made and customised a cake for my birthday which was waiting for us in our room when we got there. Not that we could fit any in right away after the delicious afternoon tea Chloe prepared for us.

And what a room. Whilst the property doesn't look very big from the outside the inside is deceptively large and our room was very well sized and furnished and features quite simply the best en-suite bathroom I've ever seen in a B&B with a huge roll top copper bath and nice powerful shower. No expense has been spared.

The choice for breakfast is very good and very tasty and really set us up well for the day.

During our stay we both felt really relaxed in the lovely setting and atmosphere at Little Iydll and if we are ever on the Isle of Wight again we will not hesitate to return and would highly recommend to any couple visiting the Isle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My fiancée booked us into Little Iydll whilst we were on a 2 night break for my birthday. The B&B is a beautiful thatched cottage situated in Ningwood between Yarmouth and Newport. The setting is lovely with beautiful views from the windows. Despite being on the main road to Yarmouth you really cant notice any road noise and is a very peaceful setting.

The owner Chloe was very friendly and helpful and even made and customised a cake for my birthday which was waiting for us in our room when we got there. Not that we could fit any in right away after the delicious afternoon tea Chloe prepared for us.

And what a room. Whilst the property doesn't look very big from the outside the inside is deceptively large and our room was very well sized and furnished and features quite simply the best en-suite bathroom I've ever seen in a B&B with a huge roll top copper bath and nice powerful shower. No expense has been spared.

The choice for breakfast is very good and very tasty and really set us up well for the day.

During our stay we both felt really relaxed in the lovely setting and atmosphere at Little Iydll and if we are ever on the Isle of Wight again we will not hesitate to return and would highly recommend to any couple visiting the Isle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ningwood
12.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
6.4 mi away
One Holyrood B&B
One Holyrood B&B
#1 of 17 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.7 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Idyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Idyll

Property: Little Idyll
Address: Little Idyll Main Road, Ningwood PO30 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ningwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ningwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Idyll 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Idyll is a grade II listed thatched, stone property, dating back to the 16th century, set in Ningwood, in the beautiful West Wight countryside. The exterior of Little Idyll projects an image of the quintessential 'Old England'. Step inside, and you'll find that the stonework and ancient timbers have been skillfully blended with a few contemporary pieces. With only three double bedrooms, the house is ideal for an intimate escape in splendid, rural surroundings. The large garden has a tranquil fish pond, and usually has a flurry of garden birds popping in for their meals. As well as the odd fox, rabbit, pheasant and woodpecker. You may find that you waste a couple of hours just watching all the creatures rush about with their daily business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Idyll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Idyll Isle Of Wight/Ningwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing