We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Little Idyll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Idyll
Ranked #1 of 2 Ningwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We only stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Luxurious accommodation with superb breakfast. We were warmly welcomed by Chloe and enjoyed a cup of tea and home made shortbread and in our superbly appointed bedroom there were lots of goodies and home made cakes for us to enjoy. If you are looking for accommodation in this area then look no further than Little Idyll, nowhere else could compare!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazelmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed with Chloe and Rob in Little Idyll for a week. It was our 39th Wedding Anniversary and we had the most fantastic time ever. The cottage is out of this world, and Chloe and Rob were the most perfect hosts. Our room was superb, beautifully furnished and the copper bath in the beautiful bathroom was stunning.
The food was excellent; and the afternoon tea was such a treat. Chloe and Rob made us feel more like family friends than guests, so warm and friendly. All the little extras were much appreciated.
We have no hesitation in recommending Little Idyll and look forward to going back for many more visits in the future.
Thank You Chloe and Rob xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Charming thatched cottage,super breakfast and charming hostess Chloe.

Great location Close to Freshwater and Yarmouth,upmarket and value for money.

Would recommend it to friends and family. We had an excellent 2 night stay on the Isle of Wight

Excellent Inns nearby.Hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the super copper bath, part of the charm of the cottage, see web site for photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My mum and I have just arrived back from an overnight stay at the Little Idyll. The property was in an ideal location and easy to find. Chloe greeted us as the door and immediately introduced herself; she couldn't have been more accommodating. Waiting for us in our luxury double guestroom were two beautiful homemade cupcakes as-well as a hamper full of goodies such as biscuits and crackers. The icing on the cake was the copper bath. Views of the stunning countryside included frequent visits from pheasants, rabbits, horses and various different birds. We dined at the village pub which was within short walking distance. We both had a great night sleep in the comfy bed....Breakfast was vast with many yummy options. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay made possible thanks to great hospitality from our two hosts. We will certainly be back especially to sample a tempting afternoon tea. Thanks Rob and Chloe :-)

Room Tip: The breakfast quiche was to die for :-P
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki-Blackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have just had a very relaxing 3 nights at Little Idyll.
Everything about it was 100%. The bed was very comfortable, The food was perfect. ( Afternoon tea is a highly recommended extra. ) The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and you are so at ease you feel at home.
We will be back later in the year :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My Husband and I stayed here in April 2013 for 1 night but could easily have stayed for longer!
The owners were so welcoming and the little touches that gave a real wow factor just kept coming. I won't spoil the surprises but they really make you feel special.
The location is fantastic, a couple of nice pubs for food and drink nearby, it is easy to find and we'll located to get around the island.
The room and bathroom were perfect, done to a high standard
Breakfast was superb, delicious!
We hope to return and would highly recommend family and friends to stay here

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank foxypepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is a top notch B&B - excellent break for us to celebrate our 2 birthdays. Chloe had cooked one of her special cakes - a masterpiece! Breakfasts were excellent and leisurely affairs. Room very clean, comfortable and finished to a hight standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ningwood
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
436 reviews
7.5 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
77 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
411 reviews
9.4 mi away
Koala Cottage
Koala Cottage
#5 of 18 in Ventnor
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Idyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Idyll

Address: Little Idyll Main Road, Ningwood PO30 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ningwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ningwood
Price Range: £93 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Idyll 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Idyll is a grade II listed thatched, stone property, dating back to the 16th century, set in Ningwood, in the beautiful West Wight countryside. The exterior of Little Idyll projects an image of the quintessential 'Old England'. Step inside, and you'll find that the stonework and ancient timbers have been skillfully blended with a few contemporary pieces. With only three double bedrooms, the house is ideal for an intimate escape in splendid, rural surroundings. The large garden has a tranquil fish pond, and usually has a flurry of garden birds popping in for their meals. As well as the odd fox, rabbit, pheasant and woodpecker. You may find that you waste a couple of hours just watching all the creatures rush about with their daily business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Little Idyll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Idyll Isle Of Wight/Ningwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing