We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #2 of 3 Chacewater B&B and Inns
Tredegar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Its a dump,£60 for room only,we were afraid to eat the breakfast,the room was clean,the shower was coverd in what I think was pubic hair,it also needed good clean,the extracter fan was almost blocked with dust,.we went to make a coffee and the mugs were filthy.The regulars were very free with their language in the bar,and not once told to curb it,we only had 2 drink and went to bed.After seeing the shower and the coffee mugs in the morning we did not stayfor the breakfast,we were told of a transport café called Smoky Joes,we were sat down and made to feel at home,the staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to cater for us,the breakfast came in 2 sizes and im glad I chose small breakfast,it took me long enough to eat that one.then the wife noticed that thay had four &half stars on trip advisor.The next morning when we found all this,we did complain,a young girl looked uncomfortable,but a chap scratched is head and said sorry,then the claissic exscuss,if you had reported it lastnight we could have cleaned it,if you had cleaned it in the firs place I would not be complaining now.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
42
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a relatively old traditional pub with rooms above, and the cost per night reflected that. In saying this, it is probably reasonably good value for money.
The English breakfast was ok but a little on the stingy side.
It is worth noting that there is little else in Chacewater and therefore if you want to eat elsewhere you will need to get in a cab or drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB110321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights,room was more than big enough,bed was real soft and comfy,tea and coffee in room kettle etc,good decor,shower little small but was big enough,we had on suite. nb. not all rooms are on suite!breakfast was ample tea coffee toast egg bacon saus,plated not buffet.....this place is a pub with rooms upstairs thou..we heard no noise from the bar thou..sleept good,,,only noise as we was on the front was from road noise,as this is on a busy road,weekdays early am we heard plenty of traffic..it did not bother me ,but it could some!...l understand the windows are not double glazed,l think its a council isssue,am not sure.but generally ok..central to this part of the world...falmouth 20 mins...newquay about the same truro 15-20,,,,was good for the 2 days we stayed there as we went to these places
paid £60 per night for a double,inc breakfast,own key to door,booked by ringing the hotel direct,,,,good hosts..was ok thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petesman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

£40 a night for a reasonably well equipped clean(ish) comfortable room in a tired looking pub. Rooms are single glazed so the noise from the road was considerable and annoying.

The communal bathrooms were ok but the standard of cleaning needs to be improved throughout.

The 'cloud' wifi system was good and worked well.

Breakfast was good but a tight window of opportunity! Only 0830-0900 so don't lie in!!

Would I go back? Probably not, on reflection I'd rather pay a bit more and not have the communal bathroom and be in a quieter location. That said if like us you are looking for cheap base to explore the area the Kings Head is worth considering.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r8granty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Just to make you aware. This isn't really a B and B, they have rooms upstairs in a relatively grotty little pub. Room I stayed in was spacious and served purpose but was tired, a bit dirty and abysmally decorated.
Owner couldn't do enough to help and food was ok at breakfast and in the evening (both served in the pub).
Location is rural, a car is a must although there is a bus into Truro, Chacewater is a good location to get everywhere in west cornwall but the village itself is one of the less desirable in the area. There is absolutely no phone signal in Chacewater but obviously that is no reflection on the pub and there is a 'the cloud' wireless router which works very well.
I didn't enjoy my stay at all but people with lower expectations may find it acceptable for a place to crash.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

and we still received a warm welcome, they seemed to be open all day on Sunday and service didn't flag at all. A party of nearly 20 arrived at about 3.30pm, all their starters came out at once, a credit to the kitchen staff and the unflappable waitresses. The food was delicious, I had haddock scotch egg as a starter, another starter was crab beignets - I stole some off my husband's plate, they were delicious too, and he liked my scotch egg! (which had a soft centre). Main courses didn't disappoint, and the tiramisu was yummy. Well done everyone !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

3 night stay in family room & en-suite shower/toilet. Breakfast included in price really filling. Excellent menu for evening meals and reasonably priced. Landlord/lady very friendly & helpful. Early start on last morning so substantial packed lunches left for us instead of breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiantim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacewater
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
11.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
21.5 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
4.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salem House Bed & Breakfast
Salem House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Chacewater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: The Square, Chacewater TR4 8PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Chacewater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chacewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Chacewater, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing