We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food, and pleasant staff”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Graham Arms Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Longtown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great local food, and pleasant staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Having read some of the reviews I felt the had to put my own view of my experience in writing.
I am a local business owner who entertains customer's and suppliers from all over the UK, and I always recommend them staying at this hotel. People need to understand the this hotel is not the Savoy, nor is it a Michelin star restaurant, but the ambience is appealing and staff are always very welcoming. The food is always of a good standard and service staff are pleasant and accommodating. I have always found if I need to raise a question with a member of staff, they are very easy to approach and will do whatever they can to ensure your time in the hotel is a seamless experience, all you have to do is ask.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geof_A_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Prospect, IL
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Restaurant is uneven (to give them the benefit of the doubt)!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The restaurant setting is nice and the servers friendly. But we would give only 2 stars to the food. We had one of their specials for dinner, a fish encrusted with herbs. It turned out to be little more than fish with bread crumbs mixed with some herbs. Very bland and tasteless! If you have to eat at this restaurant (the other options in Longtown are takeaway places), you may want to order from the regular menu full of English classics which are getting good reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FSYMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Accommodating”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I am vegetarian, there was a vegetarian curry on menu or a baked potato as I cannot eat curry I asked what else they could offer message from chef was curry that was it. This is first time I have been in a restaurant where I have been told this very poor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphyKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northen England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super food”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Had the best roast beef dinner ever, lovely big yokshires, proper roasties, lovely mash, fresh veg and beef that melted in the mouth, getting hungry as i write this.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmad4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Good food, good service in a very very good atmosphere, cant ask for anymore

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Graham Arms Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Graham Arms Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing