We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Stay at The Graham Arms Hotel”
Review of Graham Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longtown
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Stay at The Graham Arms Hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel when searching for a pet friendly hotel to stay at for our wedding at Gretna Green on may day. The hotel is located a two minute walk from the river and there is a picturesque dog walking route across the road. We were given a large clean spacious room overlooking the town which we were very pleased with. We were made very welcome (our two staffies included). The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The manager Stewart and staff members Alistair and Kirsty went out of their way for us to ensure we had a pleasant stay, giving excellent service. We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfasts and main meals where we found the food was very good, well presented, reasonably priced and there were plenty of meal options. The hotel owner Paul made our wedding day an extra special day by chauffeuring us to and from Gretna Blacksmiths Workshop and giving us a guided tour of the local area in his lovely white Mercedes car, which really is going above and beyond. He even took photos of our special occasion and put them on to a disc for us, all as a good will gesture. I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel especially if you are planning to get married at Gretna Green.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoFergusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, sorry it took so long to get back to you but we have been on holiday.
I really enjoyed our day together showing you the lovely friendly area we are fortunate to live in.
The hotel staff are very happy with your review and send their best wishes for your future.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Yours With the Very best of wishes
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    53
    24
    3
    7
See reviews for
32
53
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for my sister's wedding and the staff could not have been more helpful. The family room we stayed in was large and comfortable for myself, my husband and our four year old son. The breakfast was lovely. It is a little noisy at night with entertainment downstairs, though if you intend to enjoy the entertainment this won't be a problem!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Graham Arms Hotel. We are all very pleased to receive such complements and hope to welcome you back if you choose to stay with us again.
Many thanks,
Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April 2014 for our wedding.
We had a sit down meal which was delicious and plentiful.
All of the staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay and also prior to the wedding, we couldn't have asked for more.
They also very kindly provided a wedding car to and from our wedding ceremony for free.
The hotel was very clean, homely and the rooms were spacious, comfy and well presented.
The hotel is located a minutes stroll from the beautiful river esk which provided a pucturesque location for wedding photos.
Overall it was a perfect weekend with great atmosphere and exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff.
We will definetly be back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, the management and staff are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ,it helps staff morale when we get such positive comments, because the staff they are the ones that make the hotel such a nice place to work and stay.
We look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We only stayed here one night, had a very nice room, enjoyed a nice meal in the bar. Clean and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful, a little traffic noise.
This location is very handy for visiting Gretna Green which was our intended destination for this part of our itinerary.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the surrounding area. The room was clean and comfortable, it seemed like perhaps it had been recently refurbished. It was quite basic but pleasant enough. The breakfast was good. We ate in the bar one night which was pretty standard pub food; nothing special but fairly priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed two nights in the Graham Arms to attend a wedding at Gretna. The court yard car park is small and a bit difficult to access if a bus it at the stop outside the hotel but is secure and makes access to the hotel easy via the back door. The welcome we received was good. Our room for spacious with a four poster bed and it was clean. The en-suite bathroom could do with somewhere to hang clothes/unused towels [there is a small rail for used towels] and a shelf to put your toiletries on. Our evening meal was very good, service was excellent, staff did really well considering they were catering for over 30 people. The only minus point for us about staying here was the noise at night. Our room overlooked the street so traffic noise was awful, with a bus stop directly below our window, but nothing the hotel can do about. There was also a great deal of noise/music from the bar and from smokers standing outside the front entrance smoking, laughing, chatting etc which is great for them but poor for guests trying to sleep. To be fair the hotel does provide a smoking area at the rear of the hotel but it appears most people chose to stand at front porch. We also had a couple fighting from 3am for a couple of hours [nothing to do with the hotel] so no sleep. If you are looking for a budget place to stay and you can cope with the noise then Graham Arms is great place to stay, if you are a light sleeper then this may not be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

experience overall - excellent
food - excellent catered for everyone in the party, all 6 rooms booked fabulous, staff very friendly and helpful. owner went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay. overall a great experience, most locals made us feel very welcome, thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: parking is an issue if you have more than 2 cars, but is workable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longtown
8.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
992 reviews
10.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
628 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
1,034 reviews
10.6 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#15 of 20 in Carlisle
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graham Arms Hotel

Property: Graham Arms Hotel
Address: English Street | Longtown, Longtown, Carlisle CA6 5SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Longtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Graham Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Graham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Graham Arms
Graham Arms Hotel Longtown, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing