We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Graham Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Graham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longtown
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very nice stay lovely family run hotel so kind and helpful. All the staff are a credit to the hotel. Couldn't have done more ......thank you. Great room and would love to stay in your historic atmospheric hotel on a cold autumn night.......spooky! Thank you again. Spent second night in room as was tired but couldn't have been more comfortable :-)

Room Tip: The one I got was great think it was 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jontysiamese16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, i shall pass on your comments to all of our staff.
Yours
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Firstly the staff are excellent without exception, a hotel where your custom is valued and you are made to feel welcome. The hotel is superbly placed for easy access to all the main routes. The accommodation is very comfortable. The restaurant offers very good quality food at very fair prices and is freshly prepared using good quality produce and ingredients, there is a good choice with an additional specials board. The bar is not remotely intimidating and locals and visitors mix well, there is a strict rule on bad language and behaviour. The manager and all staff manage a very fine balance, with great skill, between good order and people enjoying themselves. The bar offers a good range of well known drinks as well as some from local breweries which are excellent. The small courtyard car park is very safe and secure. This is an excellent hotel, offering something very different, and better in my opinion than some of the chains where you are more of a number! Overall excellent accommodation and food with superb hospitality, easy access to all routes with great walks nearby.I have stayed on a number of occasions on business and with family. Very good value for money Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel,from myself and our staff could i say a big thank you for your review, its so nice for the hotel staff to get such praise,it shows them that their hard work is appreciated and valued, we look foreword to seeing you on your next visit.

Yours
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here as I had some business in Scotland and this was convenient. It was clean, comfy and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. Bar meals were reasonably priced and a nice bottle of Shiraz for less than £14 pounds. Only downside was 2 well oiled people in the bar getting a bit shirty with each other so the language was a bit ripe. Didn't bother me but it could offend some people. Apart from that I couldn't fault it, great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel, we as an independent hotel have to thy our very best to make our guests stay as comfortable and as good value as possible.
We would also like to apologise for the bad language in the bar, we have zero tolerance to the use of bad language, i have spoken to the staff on duty at the time and reminded them of this.
We hope you will stay with again in the future.
Yours
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for a base to use to travel to Scotland. When we arrived we were unsure of where to park as it is only possible to fit 2 cars in before you block in others. The girls on reception didn’t seem too sure what we should do but said it was ok to block that car in as she wouldn’t be leaving until morning. We had no trouble parking the following evening.

Breakfast was nice as was the evening meal when we ate there. Cocktails were on offer which is always nice to see!

Our room was lovely, a beautiful 4 poster bed with a couple of chairs and very spacious.

Minimal points for development:

- There is a slight smell from room 9’s bathroom.... worth investigating the extraction fan or whether damp has got into the floor covering
- A larger duvet! The bed is king sized with only a double duvet
- Finally, and unfortunately something the hotel can do nothing about, there is a fair amount of noise from the road and the bus stop directly outside, also if you’re sleeping at the front of the hotel you also have the smokers from the bar gathering outside making more noise late at night.

In all, the hotel was very nice and more than adequate against a similar priced Premier Inn, the owner was lovely and when he was on reception, very helpful. The noise was the only main down point for us.

Room Tip: Room 9 had a lovely 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, we are sorry you had a few small problems, but we are also more than happy you have told us, we will be sorting these out as soon as possible, we hope you will be kind enough to stay with us again if you are in our area.
Yours
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great food, excellent staff, reasonable prices. Highly recommend! Really good ambiance, our waitress was lovely and friendly, the house wine was extremely slurpable! The pasta was to die for, the music playing also added to the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I as one of the owners thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are very lucky to have very good staff who are always happy to go the extra mile to make our guests stay as as good as possible. All the staff and management sent their best wishes and hope you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel when searching for a pet friendly hotel to stay at for our wedding at Gretna Green on may day. The hotel is located a two minute walk from the river and there is a picturesque dog walking route across the road. We were given a large clean spacious room overlooking the town which we were very pleased with. We were made very welcome (our two staffies included). The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The manager Stewart and staff members Alistair and Kirsty went out of their way for us to ensure we had a pleasant stay, giving excellent service. We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfasts and main meals where we found the food was very good, well presented, reasonably priced and there were plenty of meal options. The hotel owner Paul made our wedding day an extra special day by chauffeuring us to and from Gretna Blacksmiths Workshop and giving us a guided tour of the local area in his lovely white Mercedes car, which really is going above and beyond. He even took photos of our special occasion and put them on to a disc for us, all as a good will gesture. I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel especially if you are planning to get married at Gretna Green.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JoFergusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review, sorry it took so long to get back to you but we have been on holiday.
I really enjoyed our day together showing you the lovely friendly area we are fortunate to live in.
The hotel staff are very happy with your review and send their best wishes for your future.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Yours With the Very best of wishes
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for my sister's wedding and the staff could not have been more helpful. The family room we stayed in was large and comfortable for myself, my husband and our four year old son. The breakfast was lovely. It is a little noisy at night with entertainment downstairs, though if you intend to enjoy the entertainment this won't be a problem!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review of the Graham Arms Hotel. We are all very pleased to receive such complements and hope to welcome you back if you choose to stay with us again.
Many thanks,
Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longtown
7.9 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,046 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,430 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
254 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#10 of 20 in Carlisle
654 reviews
10.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graham Arms Hotel

Address: English Street | Longtown, Longtown, Carlisle CA6 5SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Longtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longtown
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Graham Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Graham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Graham Arms
Graham Arms Hotel Longtown, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing