We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a 2 star hotel - Excellent value for money”
Review of Graham Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Graham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longtown
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a 2 star hotel - Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My husband and myself travelled to Longtown to visit family with our daughter and granddaughter. We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay . We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The food was exceptional in the restaurant . The bar was very comfortable, served good beer and we enjoyed the company of the locals.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    51
    22
    3
    7
See reviews for
29
49
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed in one of the newly decorated rooms which was perfect.
The food was excellent, great menu and good fresh food with lots of flavour.
The staff were the most friendly and helpful staff of anywhere we have stayed, nothing was too much trouble, and we left feeling that we had made some new friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Me and my partner were lucky enough to stay in a newly refurbished superior room which was very tastefully decorated. The staff at the Graham Arms were very helpfull and friendly. On our first evening we ate in the resteraunt at the hotel where the food was freshly cooked by their chef. It was excellent and would recommend this hotel as a good place for a short stay especially if like us you are on a budget. It is very well placed to local tourist attractions including the Lake District hence our visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keza1676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We choose this hotel on recomendation, knowing it had great food and a warm welcome, OK the decor is tired but the atmosphere in the place is fab!!! we got married in near by Gretna Green, as we prefered not to have to pay the premium to hold our wedding reception Gretna as well. So we opted for Longtown just approx 4 miles over the boarder into England from Scotland and we weren't dissapointed. The food served was piping hot and hearty, the bar lively and maily full of friendly and welcoming locals and the Mnager Stewart and his team were second to none in their apporach to our whole weekend. This is not the place to go if you want to keep yourself to yourself or you want a luxury room, room service and a quiet night or prefer to treat hotel staff with disdain, then this wont be your sort of place but if you want value for money and great almost like your part of the family service then you can't go wrong here. We were beyond pleased with our choice and booked with a fair idea of what to expect so we love it and will probably return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We (my 2 daughters, aged 7 and 10 and I) enjoyed two nights here in a room with a double bed, a single, a camp bed and an en suite which suited us very well. The staff were so friendly, and extremely helpful in terms of directions and planning expeditions, even phoning a castle to see if we could look round. The food and drinks were very good value and mainly home cooked, and though not of striking quality, were perfectly acceptable considering the price. (The children's menu included the usual fish fingers and chicken nuggets with chips, but pleasingly with a choice of veg and salad, and there was also a homemade chicken curry with rice and naan which my elder daughter enjoyed).
Slight quibbles; the double bed was too hard for my taste (though I slept after a busy day), and the fronts kept falling off the bottom drawers in 2 of the units, but it didn't stop us enjoying our stay immensely. The weather prevented us enjoying Hadrian's Wall, but we loved a visit to Tuillie House museum and the cathedral and castle in Carlisle, and a stroll on our first afternoon to the charming church in Arthuret, past the fields where King Arthur is reputed to have fought an immense battle, which so disturbed Merlin that he went wondering for 40 years.
A friendly party of anglers had been returning for many years, and no wonder. The Graham Arms is a home from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We are getting married in Gretna and had a weekend at the Graham Arms Hotel while we looked for wedding venues in the area. You can't ignore the fact that the hotel is tired, in bad need of a decoration and just a huge cuddle in general BUT it has so much positive going for it. The staff are unbelievably friendly, they could not do enough for us and nothing was too much hassle, we travelled with a small child and bought our own cot and they were so helpful in getting us set up and putting us in a room that was reflective of this. We had dinner in the restuarant which was impeccable, the food was teh home cooked food your mum used to make (if your mum was a good cook!), wholesome and plenty of if, they were certainly not tight with their portions. Breakfast was one of teh best i've ever had in a hotel and again, food in abundance. Competely loved it. The restuarant staff are a real credit to the hotel as well, so friendly and accomodating. It's a shame that it is in the state it is, it really could do with a facelift, I think if the owners invested the money it needs they would have an establishment that would give everything else in Gretna a reall run for it's money. I would most definately stay again, but not sure if i'd recommend a friend too because I wouldn't know if they'd be as forgiving of the facilities as i have been.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2010

this place is so poor words do not describe it. the rooms still smell of fag smoke even though the no smoking ban has been in for 3 years. beds are dirty and well used! the smell of burning chip fat from the kitchen was disgusting. the town itself was no better tried a pizza and sausage and chips from over the road but nearly threw up half way through. we managed a few hours then couldn't find a staff member to tell we were leaving so walked out. the room was dirty and dated with stains on the Walls ceilings carpet curtains ( big ones that look like a murder scene) I stayed here 5 years ago so thought it would be ok for a recent motorbike trip but had to spend the night in a travel lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wehavestandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelownerLongtown, Owner at Graham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
This is a malicious posting. Wehavestandards is a very unusual name for a member of Trip Adviser especialy one with only one posting and no profile ?. Our hotel does not smell of smoke or chip fat, The only smells our guests mention is the wonderful smell of Graham our chefs food. it is true some of the rooms where looking tired but as i make this posting we are coming to the end of a major re-furb of the rooms and public areas. The manager remembers this guest as being very angry when he was told we had stopped serving food an hour earlier, perhaps this had something to do with this posting ? also we can hardly be held accountable for the food in the local chippy, who by the way do not serve pizza !!!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longtown
10.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
10.9 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
8.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graham Arms Hotel

Property: Graham Arms Hotel
Address: English Street | Longtown, Longtown, Carlisle CA6 5SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Longtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Graham Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Graham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Graham Arms
Graham Arms Hotel Longtown, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing