We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Algonquin's Edge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Madawaska B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed two nights here and had a wonderful time. The cottage was just right for us (two adults and two small children) and was really well equipped. We actually stayed in the cottage that received the negative review and found it neither stinky or moist! It has a homey feel to it, and yes the furniture is not new or swanky but we thought it was good value. It has a really beautiful outlook over the lake (maybe its a river - not sure, it didn't seem to be flowing) and trust me the water was beautiful and not at all marsh like or bog like (as previously criticised)! We took the canoe out which is complimentary and soaked up the atmosphere- lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a horrible experience last weekend at Riverland Bed & Breakfast . This Riverland Bed & Breakfast also have campsite and lodge (trailer).
We booked three bedrooms 3 weeks advance specifically for the Riverland Bed & Breakfast . But when we arrive, those rooms are occupied by other large private group, the host only give us 2 trailers, not only the condition are much worse , they also ask the full price for those 2 trailers which are lot more expensive than what we original order.
The hosts are senior couple, but they appear drunk and rude, the word from their mouth are “take it or leave it”, We can’t believe that’s how they treat customer so we decide to leave.

Algonquin's Edge Resort is better!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquinsedgeresort, Owner at Algonquin's Edge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hi yes there is a bad review for river land bed and breakfast and it is showing it under our resort Algonquins Edge Resort. Ian and Sandra are good friends of ours at all Star Resort. We at Algonquins Edge do not want any affiliation with that lodge. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been here twice - three years ago and again this past September. We didn't get the best weather but everything else was over the top great. The sunsets from the deck of our cottage were amazing, the stars at night were unbelievable!, Tim and Michelle were very hospitable even delivering coffee to us when they heard that we had run out of it. I would recommend using the canoes to visit the waterfall and when you get there, hike up and enjoy the natural rock Jacuzzis, Shall lake is also a great day trip and you can easily spend a day exploring that area by canoe or kayak. And while you are there, be sure to get some of Lou's famous butter tarts.

Wayne and Jill D.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed one of the cottages. Owners were very helpful and friendly. The cottage was fully equipped and clean. The sandy shore was beautiful to swim in for the kids. Excellent place to bring children. Everything we needed was available for us no questions asked! Convenience store close by and very close to Algonquin Park. We really enjoyed the waterfall down the river, we parked our canoe and hiked up the left side and walked along the river. Very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SniderOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent a week here, in one of their cottages. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. The sunsets are fantastic, and the beach is sandy and the swimming is great! The beautiful cottages are nestled in a tree setting, with great views of the sunset. We also enjoyed the serenity of the Algonquin nights, and the sound of the frogs. We will definitely be back! Thanks a lot Tim and Michelle!

- Shane W

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The cabin was in a very poor condition. It was very moist and stinky, with very limited activities to do. Beds, washroom and kitchen are not in a very healthy condition and very outdated. The intended swimming area is like a swamp. Moreover, many activities listed on the website are over 45min away from the site. It is overpriced based on the conditions and situations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Loved this place. Our cabin was clean, delightfully decorated, nestled in the trees and on the water. It was very hot so the trees helped a lot. We had our own fire pit with a fresh supply of wood delivered by the son of the owners.
The owners were accommodating and friendly. The sunsets are breathtaking. The swimming was great for our two children. Nice shallow area with a sandy bottom.
This place was highly recommended to us and we highly recommend it. We spent two of our days in Algonquin park which was a short drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Algonquin's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin's Edge Resort

Address: Box 219 | 24909, Madawaska, Ontario K0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Madawaska
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madawaska
Price Range: £95 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algonquin's Edge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on sandy shores of the Madawaska river/ Bark lake with beautiful swimming and great fishing. Spotless 2 and 3 bedroom fully equipped Cottages. Enjoy the day in Algonquin Park just 15 minute drive, relax by waterside, fish from our docks, canoe to the falls, swim in the sandy waters, take in our beautiful western view sunsets. . Atv trails for the whole family extreme rated to easy. Located only 15 minutes from Algonquin park and 15 minutes to Barrys Bay with its boutiques and shopping.Cottages fully equipped with all cooking needs, full bathroom, deck and furniture, BBQ, personal fire pits. Local amenities: convenience store, LCBO, grocery store, pharmacy, hospital . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algonquin's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin's Edge Resort Canada/Ontario - Madawaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing