We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algonquin's Edge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Madawaska B&B and Inns
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rest and Relaxation”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

When I need to escape the craziness of life, Algonquin's Edge is my go to place! The scenery, the tranquility, the fish that seem to always allude my line... Our family has spent some of our best times together at Algonquin's Edge. Michelle and Tim are fabulous hosts. The swimming is great and a kayak ride to the waterfall is always a must. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, you have found it, enjoy!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodby's g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The location of the resort is beautiful, the cottages are cosy, and Tim and Michelle are lovely, It is a very relaxing place. It rained the whole weekend but me and my hubby were holed up in the cottage watching movies just as cosy as if we were at home. I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassiebmua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our family has been travelling north for over 10yrs and have been to many different locations, intially for just ATV experiences and a couple weeks away from life at home as we all do. Let me say that since we have found this "home away from home" secluded spot with everything we needed, we have continued to return not once but twice a year since. We have stayed in all the cottages and have not one complaint about any one of them. They are clean, well kept, include anything that you may find in your own kitchen (and then some), and each cottage has continued to have improvements made every time we arrive for our visit. We have had beautiful sunsets on our porches and/or their large dock for all to use (which we've been told is being updated for next season). We have had full use of canoe's, paddle boats, fire pits, and most of all the amazing hospitality of Tim and Michelle (they always go above and beyond what any other resort has done). As my husband and I recently just pondered over our last drive back home last week....it has the best of everything, great people, a dock, boats for use, waterfalls you can atv or boat too, a river to fish in, and a huge lake on the other side to enjoy as well. If we just want to sit back, have some drinks and enjoy the view there has always been a spot (well maintained) with muskoka chairs and a spot to swim (yes it's not wasaga beach spot white sand, but it's definate swimming lake material) then this place has it all! We have NEVER been disappointed. For those wanting, bug free, amenities right out your front door, and furniture that's for every hotel out there then perhaps you may be better suited in Niagara Falls where there is an indoor park and large loud crowds....!!!! To Tim and Michelle....thank you for always making us feel like we are part of your family and for always striving to make your resort the best it can be! Anissa and Rick

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts,uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed two nights here and had a wonderful time. The cottage was just right for us (two adults and two small children) and was really well equipped. We actually stayed in the cottage that received the negative review and found it neither stinky or moist! It has a homey feel to it, and yes the furniture is not new or swanky but we thought it was good value. It has a really beautiful outlook over the lake (maybe its a river - not sure, it didn't seem to be flowing) and trust me the water was beautiful and not at all marsh like or bog like (as previously criticised)! We took the canoe out which is complimentary and soaked up the atmosphere- lovely!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a horrible experience last weekend at Riverland Bed & Breakfast . This Riverland Bed & Breakfast also have campsite and lodge (trailer).
We booked three bedrooms 3 weeks advance specifically for the Riverland Bed & Breakfast . But when we arrive, those rooms are occupied by other large private group, the host only give us 2 trailers, not only the condition are much worse , they also ask the full price for those 2 trailers which are lot more expensive than what we original order.
The hosts are senior couple, but they appear drunk and rude, the word from their mouth are “take it or leave it”, We can’t believe that’s how they treat customer so we decide to leave.

Algonquin's Edge Resort is better!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquinsedgeresort, Owner at Algonquin's Edge Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi yes there is a bad review for river land bed and breakfast and it is showing it under our resort Algonquins Edge Resort. Ian and Sandra are good friends of ours at all Star Resort. We at Algonquins Edge do not want any affiliation with that lodge. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been here twice - three years ago and again this past September. We didn't get the best weather but everything else was over the top great. The sunsets from the deck of our cottage were amazing, the stars at night were unbelievable!, Tim and Michelle were very hospitable even delivering coffee to us when they heard that we had run out of it. I would recommend using the canoes to visit the waterfall and when you get there, hike up and enjoy the natural rock Jacuzzis, Shall lake is also a great day trip and you can easily spend a day exploring that area by canoe or kayak. And while you are there, be sure to get some of Lou's famous butter tarts.

Wayne and Jill D.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed one of the cottages. Owners were very helpful and friendly. The cottage was fully equipped and clean. The sandy shore was beautiful to swim in for the kids. Excellent place to bring children. Everything we needed was available for us no questions asked! Convenience store close by and very close to Algonquin Park. We really enjoyed the waterfall down the river, we parked our canoe and hiked up the left side and walked along the river. Very beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SniderOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madawaska
17.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Petawawa
149 reviews
16.8 mi away
Petawawa River Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Pine Motel
Pine Motel
#1 of 3 in Deep River
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Deep River Motel
Deep River Motel
#1 of 1 in Deep River
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shemron Suites Hotel
Shemron Suites Hotel
#3 of 3 in Deep River
11 reviews
53.7 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin's Edge Resort

Property: Algonquin's Edge Resort
Address: Box 219 | 24909, Madawaska, Ontario K0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Madawaska
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madawaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algonquin's Edge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on sandy shores of the Madawaska river/ Bark lake with beautiful swimming and great fishing. Spotless 2 and 3 bedroom fully equipped Cottages. Enjoy the day in Algonquin Park just 15 minute drive, relax by waterside, fish from our docks, canoe to the falls, swim in the sandy waters, take in our beautiful western view sunsets. . Atv trails for the whole family extreme rated to easy. Located only 15 minutes from Algonquin park and 15 minutes to Barrys Bay with its boutiques and shopping.Cottages fully equipped with all cooking needs, full bathroom, deck and furniture, BBQ, personal fire pits. Local amenities: convenience store, LCBO, grocery store, pharmacy, hospital . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Algonquin's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin's Edge Resort Canada/Ontario - Madawaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing