We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Have spent two weeks in the Hideaway Club Hotel. Small hotel, 32 rooms, perched on the hillside, overlooking Kyrenia. We had a beautiful sea view suite,( very small bathroom!!) Hotel consists of suites and small cottages, a perfect pool area, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, and a good restaurant and bar. (and NO children!!, perfect for those of us who have done our travelling with demanding children bit!!) Due to the location car hire is essential, we hired a car for five days which enabled us to visit the major sites in the area, car hire was incredibly reasonable, £20.00 per day, all arranged by the most helpful hotel team. The waiting staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, the perfect combination of efficiency and friendliness. Many excellent restaurants in the surrounding areas, but again a car or taxi ride away, nothing within easy strolling distance. Very reasonable menu prices as outside of the euro zone, approx £20.00 per head with wine and good quality food. Stunning archaeological sites, beautiful monastries and castles, and an area steeped in history. We would thoroughly recommend this understated, relaxing retreat and wish we were still there!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Heather186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for The Hideaway Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We arrived at the Hideaway at midnight , checked in & were shown to our room then offered a warm snack which we were delighted to accept after a long day travelling. Our room was comfortable , simply furnished & immaculate as was the accompaning lounge & bathroom and were kept so throughout our stay. The views from the balcony of the coast to the front & mountains to the side were stunning.
Oxana in reception is a mine of info , car hire, taxi & restaurant bookings, sights to see & whatever else we needed to know was given instantly.
The bar and restaurant have a lovely atmosphere . How good to choose breakfast & have it freshly cooked ( thanks for the crispy bacon ).
Chefs cooked good specials daily & hot & cold snacks were available all day as well as evening dinner.
Pool area great, comfortable sunbeds , towels , fresh lemon drinks at 11am & iced towels at 3pm.
What treats !!
Barbeque evening was fun, nice food , music by Katie B , interaction by staff & guests with the singing &. dancing!!
What can we say about the "boys". Zia, Mehmet, Tony, Chris, Albert, " Oh Carol " ,Mehmute & 2 more whose names we can't think how to spell.
You all were such fun, worked tirelessly & made our time at the Hideaway so enjoyable & memorable.
Would we return--- in an instant !
Thank you all.

Christine & Ian. (19 )

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I can safely say that this trip was not very pleasant at all. To begin with there are no clear signs on the way to the hideaway which means both me and my husband found it very difficult to find it. Once we had found the hotel we wasn't sure where to check in and had to wonder around to find the reception area, once it was found we were greated by a friendly gentleman who then escorted us to our room, once we entered the room it was well presented, clean,tidy. This However was sort lived as once we started to un pack the room was getting hotter and hotter.we attempted to put the air conditioner on and was greated with a awful loud noise that got worse over time. The living room was well presented however it was so hot that the fan that they provided with a one speed timer was not going to help.
The bathroom was rather warm,small but did have a window overlooking parked cars if you did require some fresh air, it then had a shower with no pressure so it felt like there was a water shortage everyday, And I'm sure if I stayed in a village I would of had more water.
The air conditioner began to leak over our balcony and if you wanted a decent nights sleep there was no chance of that as there was a horrible churning noise.
As for the service that was breakfast I found the waiters loud,rude,disrespectful.
To sum up I would not return to the hideaway and would def not recommend to family or friends

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKyrenia, Manager at The Hideaway Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests,

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that your trip was not what you had expected.

It is unfortunate that you did not let us know that you were very hot in your room, we would have gladly provided additional fans and had our technician take a look at your AC unit.

It shocks me to hear that you found our waiters ‘loud, rude and disrespectful’ as we pride ourselves on our friendly helpful staff which are always spoken of so highly in other reviews.

It saddens us that guests depart with such a negative feeling of the Hideaway after only one nights stay and hope that others reading about us on trip advisor will see that this is most unusual in comparison to previous reviews we have enjoyed with many very happy guests.

Unfortunately you can't please all the people all the time and we understand that everyone has different expectations and that sometimes its just ‘not your cup of tea’.

However, we thank you for your feedback as we appreciate all guests comments and it is even better if we have a chance to take action while guests are still with us, rather than being made aware of them once they have departed.

Guzin Ben
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

It was our 3rd stay here and as before it was the most relaxing few days ever. The staff, (and the friendly service they provide) not just the surroundings make this place truly enjoyable.
Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Sea view villa are in our opinion the best rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank softcell46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

What else can I add that has not already been said?

The people are great, both guests and the staff. No chavs, just nice friendly people..

If you are looking for the perfect place to relax this is it. We just spent 10 days at the Hideaway club and it felt more like 20 days, but in a good way.

It was recommended to us through a friend who has been going back for the last 5 years. Most of the people that we met had been going back for some time which is always a good sign. The rooms are clean and functional and chic whith white drapes and wrought iron. The bathrooms could do with up-dating but they were fine. The air con works well and is essential.

We met some lovely people and ended up in a little group which was nice but it was not invasive. If you wanted time on your own it was fine or if you wanted company it was there. Perfection!

The staff are fantastic. Nothing is to much trouble and they are a really friendly bunch. I have to mention Oxanna, Tony, Chris, Zia, Hussain and Mehmet who could give some higher end hotels a lesson in customer service.

The only issue was that you have to either have a car or get a taxi to go anywhere. The taxi drivers will try in on and you have to be quite forcefull when they try to over charge you. To make the hideaway perfect, they could have a shuttle bus with designated drop off and pick up times to the port and the beach.

Escape beach is lovely and they serve great food there but charge 15 TL for the day to access the beach for which you get a sun lounger and parisol but you can't take in your own food or water.They check!

We tried some restauraunts like the Kyrenia Tavern for which I read some amazing reviews but sadley the food was very 1970's school dinners, although it is a dinning experience that you will NEVER forget! It was like dinning with the Adams family. The setting is quite freaky and they do go out of their way to make you welcome but the whole set up is a little bizzar. I would say go there, not for the food but for the experience, you will not be sorry.

The Ambience is just stunning and so is the food. It's a very romantic setting and I would highly recommend it. The port area is nice for a drink in the evening but we had a meal there and it was terrible.

All in all the hideaway is worthy of all the fantastic reviews that have already been posted. We would go back, but maybe not in August, as it was sooooo hot.

So in summary...

You will not be dissapointed if you stay at the Hideaway club. We loved it and will return.

Room Tip: We had a seaview cottage but I wold imagine that all of the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

You would have to be very picky to find much fault with this hotel – let’s get the negatives out of the way first, we arrived after a three hour flight delay at 01.30 am and they had forgotten to switch the aircon on and the room must have been 30 deg.C but after 30mins the aircon had the room down to reasonable temperature so it wasn’t that bad, the promised bottle of wine and fruit platter was not in the fridge but this was rectified as soon as I advised reception the next day. The breakfasts were excellent, the lunches were basic bar snacks and the evening meals were OK but nothing special – good basic food but anyone who says the food is out of this world needs to get out a bit more! that said we stayed in at least 7 nights and the specials were always enjoyed. Yes the prices for drinks were more expensive than bars and other restaurants but not extortionately, 8TL for a large beer when elsewhere you could get one for 5-6 TL.
The location was a few miles inland and on a hill so there was nowhere really to go for a walk in the evening and no other bars in the vicinity and we missed this, taxis were reasonable at 20 TL to Kyrenia (£7.50) so if you wanted to go out it wasn’t too expensive.
And as for the positives they more than outweighed the negatives – the atmosphere in the bar, restaurant and around the pool was very relaxing and I was chilled out in less time than normal for my summer vacation. The pool was lovely and there was never a shortage of comfortable padded sun loungers as well a free towels for the pool area, the staff were superb and made the holiday, the bar staff, Tony and Chris and waiters Zia, Hussein and Mehmet were so helpful with a humorous approach to everything. Try the brandy sours – they are superb! I must also mention Oksana the receptionist who was so friendly and super efficient - nothing was too much trouble for her. Every morning the waiters brought around free ice cold lemon drinks (lemon o’clock my wife and I called it) and ice cold flannels in the afternoon
We stayed the middle two weeks of August and needless to say the weather was HOT! We had a sea view cottage which had a great view yet was private so when you sat on your balcony you were not aware of any other guests. The wrought iron furniture may not be to everyone’s taste but the rooms are very clean and the towels are replaced every day if you require, a safe deposit and aircon is included in the price as well a good hairdryer a fridge, kettle,tea, coffee and sugar. Beaches are not brilliant locally but you don’t have to travel too far to find a nice bay – the water is warm even when you are out of your depth – travel to the Karpaz peninsula at the eastern end of the island for the very best beaches – Seabird beach is near the southern tip of the island and well worth the 3 hour drive (book in one of the small B&B’s for a night so you can explore this less commercial side of Northern Cyprus). Visit the turtle project at Aligadi beach for a fantastic experience watching them being excavated the day after the eggs hatch.
Restaurants worth mentioning are the Sunday “lamb in a well” (cooked in a pit until melt in the mouth tender at Denizkizi hotel a few miles along the coast heading westward) plus the beautiful location of No. 14 behind the mosque in town as well as the brilliant on the beach location and fantastic food at Ambience just a few miles from The Hideaway. Travelling a few miles further uphill from the hotel you arrive a small village inhabited mainly by Brits with a pub called “The Crows Nest” and a lovely restaurant called Levant with superb views. Visit the impressive ruined Abbey at Bellapaix and have a drink at Irenes garden a few hundred metres up the hill and just past Lawrence Durrells house – Deirdre has a warm welcome for you as well as good advice on where to go on the island.
To really see the island and appreciate its culture you need to hire a car – the hotel organised this and in peak season the rate of £23 a day was not too bad – and fuel is cheaper than the UK as well. The cars are right hand drive which combined with the same 3 pin square electric plugs as at home and lots of signs in English you wonder sometimes if you are in a foreign country! Well that’s it for us – a great holiday and one we are sure will be repeated some time in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view cottages are a good choice and we stayed in room 4 which had a double bed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My friend and I booked here as part of a package for a week and found it to exceed expectations. The staff are fantastic and it's such a social place due to its small size. The rooms were more than comfortable and a good size- and very clean. We were half board and found the meals to be very generous with a broad menu for all tastes. It's close to the beach and harbour(only a short and cheap taxi ride) over all fab, relaxing and stress free holiday:)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissfelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edremit (Trimithi)
3.2 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
439 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
250 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
358 reviews
5.1 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
472 reviews
2.4 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Club Hotel

Address: Mersin 10, Edremit (Trimithi), Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Edremit (Trimithi)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edremit (Trimithi)
Price Range: £65 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideaway Club is a unique boutique hotel, enjoying superb views of Kyrenia and both the Kyrenia mountains and the Mediterranean coastline. With 5 star service and first class polite and friendly staff this is a real gem for a relaxing, stress free break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Hotel
The Hideaway Boutique Hotel
The Hideaway Club Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing