We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Five Bells Inn Brabourne
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel(Ashford)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Conningbrook Hotel(Kennington)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
139
35
16
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
35
16
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen firethe pubfish piefantastic foodlocal produceapple juicelive locallypleasant atmosphereromantic nightsteaming hotbusy nightenjoyable lunchfull englishcopper bathcooked to perfectionbreakfast was includedto celebrate my birthday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Eaten in this inn a few times in the past first time we have stayed. Stopped over on the Sunday after a long ride . Arrived just as the jazz band were setting up. Stayed in Ortega which is above the band playing area. As previously mentioned you can hear the band and the people in the bar but it is not at all intrusive. In fact it adds atmosphere
Set ourselves up with a couple of drinks , filled the large slipper bath and both of us nodded off to the Smooth Jazz band while soaking out the aches of the ride down. The room itself is very comfortable in fact you could stay in it alday there is plenty. of stuff to read or just look at the view Later had a reasonably priced and very nicely cooked meal. The menu is well balanced and the service was very good with attentive staff.
For me there were two negs , I wake early morning (I mean around 5:00) and would have liked a cup of tea whilst I catch up on work but there is no facility for this in the room and I would feel uncomfortable waking someone to make me a cup or three. I did mean to ask why this was not available as it does seem a very basic addition. It may be an H&S thing I dont know but maybe if the guest were given the option it would be nice. Wi Fi was by BT fon but cellular signal on Virgin T mobile was strong for Hspeed cell modem. Very peacefulrelaxing stay. Look forward to returning soon. P.s check out website for room pics .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brezett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for a Friday and Saturday night in the Ortega room.

The room is quirky with a mixture of interior design styles - exposed floorboards, seventies wallpaper, exposed brickwork, church pew seating, a huge copper bath, two copper hand basins, copious lighting (with a very confusing controller), Bush 1950s style radio. The view from the two front facing windows in very nice - looking over fields rising up towards the North Downs.

The bed is large but very very soft - I really needed the walking we did on the Downs to straighten my back out. Note that there is no TV. 3G and mobile (O2) reception is particularly poor in this area.

Although the room is directly above the bar the sounds coming through the floor are not overly loud - anyhow this is a pub so you have to expect a lively atmosphere.

The pub is very cosy and divides into a formal dining area, the bar / lounge and a "shop" with tables and chairs selling local wines and produce. Dried hops hang from the ceiling all through the pub and the quirky design continues with shelves full of books and various strange things on the walls (a boars head and a mermaid figurehead). There are two open fires that, when the pub was busy, made the whole area very hot; I was sweating whilst eating my dinner on both nights.

The food is of a very high standard - a small menu with something for all tastes - also a short specials board. The meat, fish and vegetables are all locally sourced, along with the wines and beers (I would definitely recommend any of the ales by Hopdaemon). Look to spending around £80+ for a three course meal with a reasonable bottle of wine.

Breakfasts are served in the "shop" area. There is a buffet with cereals etc. and a short cooked food menu - we had rarebit one day and smoked salmon / scrambled egg the next - both were excellent.

The staff are all very attentive, couteous and welcoming.

So I would definitely recommend a stay here - a good base for touring south eastern Kent (Dover, Rye, North Downs, Canterbury).

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Me and my partner booked to stay here for one the night over the Easter weekend, on the reccomendation of a friend. We were not disappointed.

The orignal room I had tried to book was already taken, so they suggested that we take Bacchus. It was absolutely stunning. Lovely country view, beautiful bed, open fire with plenty of logs, nice little touches like local apple juice, tea and coffee bought to us, huge bath in the room. For £120 it really was far better than you would expect from any hotel at the same price. Some people my gripe that there is no telly, but if that's what your after, then you have come to the wrong place. If you need it just bring your IPAD as there is a good WIFI connection.

The pub itself was gorgeous, with a wonderful aromatic smell of of burning fires as you enter the place. We instantly felt at home and the place had a nice buzz about it. The location was ideal to take in the beauty of the North Downs, we aren't big walkers but took a nice hour stroll to soak up the local surroundings.

We had three meals, two were fantastic and the other was decent. Breakfast offers you a buffet of cereals, fruits and quasons, then your pick from the menu(included in the price of the room), I had a full English and my partner had the salmon and scrambled eggs, both excellent. For lunch we had a baked camberet and vegetable soup, agian lovely. Our only complaint was the dinner, my partners duck wasn't pink as they told us it would be and we had to wait a little long between starter and main, but they were very sincere in their apologies and it was probably our fault for coming down a little late after a long soak in the bath and drying off in front of the roaring fire!! We really didn't mind as we were just happy to take in the nice atmosphere that the pub offered. All of the ingredients are top quality and locally sourced, there are even Kent wines on offer.

Finally every single person we interacted with could not have been nicer. From the bar staff, to the waitress's and to the girl who took us to our room, it really did feel that people were going out of their way to make us feel at home. Coming from South London for the night, it was all rather refreshing. We will definitely be coming back!

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here on a very busy Saturday evening, and the atmosphere was great, amazing food, lovely quirky room with wonderful finishes. Looking forward to another stay and staying in another if the beautifully furnished and decorated rooms

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Ayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews