We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is brilliant here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Bells Inn Brabourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Brabourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is brilliant here”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Lady and I were looking for a room above a pub in the countryside in Kent- googled as much and found the Five Bells. In the middle of nowhere, but pretty close to towns like Maidstone or Ashford, it wasn't hard to find. Checked into our room (Ortega) and blown away. Open fire by the bed, huge free standing brass bath and no TV. Down into the pub for a few pints of local beer and a glass of Kentish vino to wash down the fantastic dinner we had. Brought a wee whiskey up to the room to enjoy by the fire as we listened to the bakerlite radio before bed. We were lucky to be ensconced there during the snow and so the view of the surroundings from our room was beautiful. And the breakfast was a smasher- cracking sausages, proper bacon, locally made jam and bread and honey and everything and brilliant and tasty and friendly and helpful staff and a friendly hubbub and if you don't go there you'll never know how brilliant it is. And if you do go there, you might see me, drinking a pint of Brabourne stout looking all pleased with myself.

Room Tip: All are different; we were in Ortega and it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    26
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
89
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

One of the best places to stay in the Southeast. Rooms are stunning, very theatrical with OTT baths and fittings. No TV - would perhaps be good to add these as lovely in winter to have an afternoon in bed watching an old film! Restaurant really wonderful - 2 real fires and candles everywhere, and again a real sense of theatre about the place. Food does not quite live up to the decor, but that's being very picky. Finally, the staff are amazing. When we stayed nothing was too much trouble, with tea brought up to the room, great tables saved for us in the evening and everyone going that extra mile to make for a wonderful weekend. Of particular note was the girl who welcomed us, probably the manager - really charming and again going out of her way to achieve great customer service. You do get a bit of noise from the bar in the bedrooms but did not bother us. All in all a great place for a weekend away and the best looking pub I've ever been to (and I've been to a lot!)

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed in December for a works Xmas dinner. We were greeted by the team and were made to feel extremely welcome as soon as we arrived. The five bells is a beautiful English country pub. Low beams. Warm fires. Unbelievably friendly staff and great ales. We stayed in the largest room which was directly above the bar Incredible attention to detail. Huge copper bath. Beautifully decorated. Great meal that night. Smashing breakfast in what felt like a country kitchen. Only minor point was you could hear bar chatter when in the room above but we were down there anyway so not a worry. There are back rooms too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have just spent a night at the Five Bells and I can't think of anything negative to say about it. The welcoming atmosphere hits you as soon as you walk into the pub with its open fire and general warmth. The food was excellent with an interesting menu and my husband was over the moon with the choice of interesting beers. The room was absolutely amazing, totall quirky with an open fire and bath tub in the room and lots of interesting bits and pieces. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was delicious, I could go on and on. If you get the chance have a night at the Five Bells.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAT190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We're just back from a weekend at The Five Bells. It is simply perfect. The food, the design, the amazing staff. So much passion and energy has gone, and continues to go, into this place. It is unique. Do not hesitate to go.

Room Tip: Don't forget some rooms only have bath tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I don't often leave reviews on here but felt on this occassion I must. We stayed for one night on Saturady 10th October and loved the place.

Upon arrival the staff took our luggage up to our room and invited us to take a seat by one of the open fires in the bar. We had a drink of wine and started to relax. When we were ready we went up to our room (Ortega). WOW. The room was amazing with a fantastic bathroom (check out the pics on the website) and a roaring logfire which had warmed the room nicely. The room is at the front of the pub and has fantastic views over the lovely Kent countryside. Fantastic for a romantic break.

Later we went dowstairs and had a fantastic dinner in the restuarant. The pub was very busy but the service was still very good. We both had three courses and the bill came to about £80 with drinks. When we went back to our room we were able to relax with a bottle of wine and sit by the fire (not having a TV was great as we actually enjoyed each others company!). We had a great nights sleep (but the bed was a bit on the soft side for me) and a great breakfast in the morning. We even had a tray of tea/coffee delievered to our room at a time of our choosing before breakfast!!!

For £120 for the night I found this to be fantastic value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a log fire!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here last month - spent the night in Baccus - what a funky room! The staff were super helpful - the room was perfect - loved the quirkiness of it and plan to go back with friends. The food was excellent - all local produce and wines - this place is owned by an interior designer who has put his own stamp everywhere....I loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brabourne
6.2 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
6.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
4.9 mi away
The Conningbrook Hotel
The Conningbrook Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#1 of 3 in Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Bells Inn Brabourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Bells Inn Brabourne

Property: Five Bells Inn Brabourne
Address: Five Bells 5 The Street | East Brabourne, Brabourne, Ashford TN25 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Brabourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brabourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Five Bells Inn Brabourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Bells Inn Brabourne Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing