We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly pub good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Five Bells Inn Brabourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Brabourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had lunch here recently and was impressed with the quality of the food and general ambience. Service was good and staff were friendly. Lovely location quirky pub all in all a lovely place to stop for lunch

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Happyhammer190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A warm and cosy little pub in the winter with a real fire, as traditional as you can get. Lovely ales and cider, and even a little shop selling home made jams etc. A must visit place if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LisaJSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You ring my bells every time Five Bells, a fantastic pub with amazing design features and excellent friendly staff,and wonderfully cooked food.
I must apologise for the strange Martians ,possibly English who visit the pub from time to time and don't appreciate the friendly young enthusiastic staff.
An excellent selection of locally produced beers ,wines and cider,some only having travelled a few miles.
The elements of good design run through the entire pub,from fire canopy made from recycled beer kegs,log baskets in reinforced glass,wonderful use of stainless steel and wood.
The food is served creatively using wooden platters and cast iron pans for the Brabourne special.
Absolutely love the place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmc1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After reading some of the reviews on this site for The Five Bells Inn you may decide it's not for you. However if that were the case you'd be missing out on a real treat. We returned home today after spending a night in this lovely inn and are already looking to re-book in the winter months.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and obviously happy in their work, nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are so different, each with attention to detail rarely found, with luxurious beds, quirky bathrooms and lovely toiletries. We stayed in Bacchus which had lovely views up to the North Downs.

Previous reviews mention noise from the bar below but it is just a quiet hum of conversation and pleasant to doze off to if you're an 'early to bed, early to rise' type.

The food was delicious, very fresh and locally produced, again with such attention to detail and unusual touches, we felt it was very reasonably priced too.

Service was very good, not five star hotel good but perfect for a very nice relaxed pub, not too fast or too slow. The food is cooked to order and it gives a good opportunity to look around at the details in the dining area and of course sample some of the unusual drinks served, great local wines and beers galore.

Thank you for such a lovely stay, we look forward to a return visit.

3  Thank juliemay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my husbands birthday. On arrival we were greeted by such lovely people who made us feel very welcome and offered us a drink as we were a little early to check-in.
We had booked the Ortega room and all I can say is you have to see it to believe it ....it was beautiful, open fire, large comfortable bed overlooking open fields and a large copper bath for two with added extras such as dimming lights, candles etc. there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is a little bit of a downside, but there is also no television which makes such a refreshing change. We booked for dinner and had a leisurely few hours eating our meal, the food is also very good. Breakfast was served in the "shop" area of the pub, very quirky , at a large table where you can chat to the other guests or sit and read the papers provided. Offerings available were traditional continental, croissants, cereal, bread and conserves, and a choice of cooked breakfasts including a full English, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs etc.
We booked to return before we left .... A testament to itself

Room Tip: The Ortega has an open fire ... Lovely for those chilly evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had eaten at the Five Bells Inn a couple of times before and really liked the food. This time we stayed the night as we arrived quite late and it meant we wouldn't be restricted by drink/drive concerns. The food was really fabulous just like the previous times, a really interesting and varied menu. Also, the beers and wines were very good. Be aware that It gets very busy, not surprisingly given the great food, and you can't book a table unless you have a large group though they will ensure you have a table if you are staying there. The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There are only a few rooms upstairs (no lift) and they are quite eclectic and individually furnished, very plush. It's a real boutique feel and our room was packed with quaint furnishings and accessories. Our room (Bacchus) had a log fire and a big bath in the middle. Only two minor niggles - very little space to open suitcases with all the furnishings and accessories, and we could hear the staff beneath until they finished up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over-night to celebrate a friends Wedding Anniversary.
The pub is in a beautiful location and brimming with quirky bits, furniture and a great selection of ales & spirits.
Our room (Bacchus) was very nice with an enormous bath and packed full of, well everything. A large room is made to feel restricted, even with seating for 5/6 you can't actually sit on anything as cushions and pillows fill every inch. Less is more comes to mind. We lit the fire as the room felt cold and even a bit damp. The bed creaked and groaned with the slightest movement and was not particularly comfortable. The pillows looked great but you sank into them and no comfort at all, I ended up sleeping with a cushion as well.
We went down for dinner and had a very mediocre meal, not much taste, very slow service and a menu that is more or less impossible to read due to the most ridiculous font. It's the same on the website and needs changing.
We slept very badly as the staff, who's room was directly above ours, were very noisy and inconsiderate of paying guests.
In the morning we had asked for our tea & coffee at 9am - at £120 a night I would have preferred to have my own facilities in the room, the drinks eventually arrived at 9.30am! When I had remarked on this service the night before, the young girl told me there was apple juice and water in the room. I don't really want apple juice first thing in the morning!
Needless to say we were woken up by noisy staff again doing the cleaning down in the bar, loud music and hearing all about their love life. Absolutely no hope of a lie in. I think staff should be a little more considerate of PAYING guests!!! If you offer accomodation then think about these things.
Breakfast was ok but one thing I hate is "communal eating with strangers"! Why do they think you want to sit with people you don't know and watch them graze over breakfast. I just wanted to sit with our friends so we moved to another table. I'm sorry for the couple who were half way through their breakfast but I'm just not one for conversing with strangers first thing. I wish places would not do that.
All the staff are very young and didn't seem to be anyone senior overseeing things. The chap serving our breakfast was clumsy and thoughtless. He must have banged into our table I don't know how many times and kept forgetting things like sugar! Also why have muscavado sugar? Horrible in tea...
I think there seems to be a lack of supervision and staff training. You can't just expect to sit on your reputation you have to work at it all the time and that strikes me, is exactly what has happened here. So pull your finger out and brush up your standards and please listen to what people are telling you.
Will I return...that remains to be seen and I would welcome a reply from The Five Bells Inn.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank CaraC181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brabourne
9 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#1 of 2 in Warehorne
31 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#1 of 3 in Wye
293 reviews
4.1 mi away
The New Flying Horse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Wife of Bath
The Wife of Bath
#3 of 3 in Wye
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Five Bells Inn Brabourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Bells Inn Brabourne

Address: Five Bells 5 The Street | East Brabourne, Brabourne, Ashford TN25 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Brabourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brabourne
Price Range: £117 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Bells Inn Brabourne 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Five Bells Inn Brabourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Bells Inn Brabourne Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing