We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of NIA ROO

April sunset view from patio - washed down with a chilled Pinot Grigio !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
April sunset view from patio - washed down with a chilled Pinot Grigio !
Nia Roo with views all around A stunning view of Loch Duich from hilltop
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
April sunset view from patio - washed down with a chilled Pinot Grigio !
Nia Roo with views all around
A stunning view of Loch Duich from hilltop
Sunset view from Nia Roo
Arnisdale (a short drive away) - stunning scenery
Otter directly below Nia Roo - photo taken by one of our Guests July 2011
Dining al fresco in April 2013 - photo taken by one of our Guests
Wonderful Glen Lichd - walkers dream !
Sunset from Kintail Lodge Hotel - short walk from Cottage
Large fully fitted kitchen
Eilean Donan - four miles from Cottage
Beautiful sunset on Loch Duich
Highland cattle graze quietly
Loch Duich taken from Mam Ratagan
Autumn colours on Loch below Nia Roo
Stag taken by one of our guests  in April 2013
view from house
sunset
Stags on the horizon
Five Sisters of Kintail and Loch Duich from Mam Ratagan - Nia Roo is on the right of picture
Eilean Donan Castle
Loch Duich morning
Four Poster Kingsize en suite bedroom
Loch Duich morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Morvich, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
floppus
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Apologies for the heading cliché but I couldn't think of anything more suitable.
It is now a couple of weeks since our return from Nia Roo and the sense of calm and rest that we felt whilst there is still with us.
The number of positive comments in the reviews posted are all well justified and even the fussiest of visitors would be hard pushed to find anything to mention.
I would only be repeating many of the things mentioned by previous reviewers if I listed all the positives connected to this property but suffice to say that it offered all the comforts of home plus things that we would have on our wish list.
We have rented for the last 20 years in both the UK and Europe and have never found a better place.
Thank you, We hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review - welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Absolutely fantastic cottage, the best we've stayed in and we've stayed in a lot across the west highlands over the years! Great location for Munro/Corbett bagging. Good pub within 20 minute walk.. Cottage is very well equipped and has superb views over the loch. It's not often we say we'll return somewhere as we like to see different areas but there is so much to do in Kintail that we will definitely be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahliay...
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Nia Roo. It was so lovely to be back. This time we brought family with us and they were all blown away by the cottage and the area. I was so excited to show them as we have always talked about it as we got engaged there in 2013. Nia Roo has the most amazing views looking across loch Duich. We spent most of our evenings in the sunroom looking out at the views. We were blessed with fantastic weather and enjoyed days out to Plockton, Applecross, Skye, a walk to the falls of Glomach (wow) and boat trips, saw lots of seal and porpoises. Nia Roo is so well equipped, is immaculate and modern and is without doubt the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed at. Everything is to a high standard.It will always be special to us. Its very hard leaving such a wonderful place. Thankyou Christine and Colin, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Lovely to have you back - especially as it is so special to you both - glad your family enjoyed it too.. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samsel1
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house with a lovely view”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This house sits in an elevated position below the five sisters of kintail..ten mins away sits the beautiful Eileen Donan castle..then there is the isle of skye ..great location for these special places ..would highly recommend Nina roo,it's a lovely comfortable house with all the small touches that make a house welcoming

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadinegre...
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite place ❤️”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second visit to Nia Roo and I was so excited to get back here, It felt like coming home, we had another amazing week and were lucky enough to be blessed with fantastic weather...we actually came back with a suntan! Nia Roo is like home from home, it has everything you could possibly need, the location is stunning and I'm missing waking up to those beautiful views of the loch and mountains already.
The owners Christine and Colin are lovely friendly people who are there if you need anything, Colin kindly took us to see the stags again, also the highland cattle, nothing was too much trouble. Nia Roo is spotlessly clean, the beds are really comfortable, there are two restaurants/pub really close by that you can walk to, it just has everything and more! Can't wait to come back xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thank you - youre most welcome back anytime ! By the way - weather still beautiful x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hides
doncaster
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Feels like our second home .”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Am sure everyone has enjoyed that feeling of arriving home .
That's exactly how we feel when we return to Nia Roo.
Have just visited for our fifth time. The pleasure we feel, every time we drive into the glen , knowing we are nearly there. is like a child at Christmas.

Nia Roo itself is perfect. Immaculate lovely and modern, with absolutely everything you need for a holiday.
Every thing inside is off a high standard. From furnishings to fittings.
The hosts Christine and Colin and family, are welcoming with , a true highland friendliness. Any questions or problems . Are easily rectified.
A lovely family, A lovely Home .
And spectacular scenery.
Leaving again with a heavy heart. And look forward to next visit.
The stags in the garden were a added bonus this time . Plus the golden eagle . Behind the cottage.
Will have to stop with the praise for Nia Roo. As might not be able to book in
Thanks again Christine and Colin .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitch247
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The booking was effortless and the owners contacted us prior to arrival to check if we had any questions and to provide detailed travel information, with this information the cottage was easily found just a few mins from the main A87. On arrival at the cottage we found it well appointed with everything you could need, large rooms and a beautiful view over Loch Duich, there are 3 large bedrooms one on-suite with shower. Our main aim for the week was to do some walking, we were spoiled for choice with Gleann Lichd and Gleann Choinneachain just 15 mins from our doorstep as well as 5 Munro's. We enjoyed walking most days but on our two 'rest' days we managed to visit Attadale gardens, Lochcarron and Applecross one day and the woodland walk and gardens at Balmacara just a short journey and Skye Clan Donald museum and gardens the second day, all very enjoyable days out. We had one day of heavy rain yet is was lovely and warm and dry sitting in the sun room at the front reading, really just an excuse to sit back and enjoy the view and peace and quiet. We mainly ate in, as the cottage has a large fully equipped kitchen, but enjoyed one of the best haddock and chips at the Glenshiel lodge (1 mile from cottage) on our last evening. We can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you - glad you enjoyed your visit- welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing