We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jiquilillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monty's Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Jiquilillo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Monty's is a place where serenity and comfort coincide beautifully. The location could not be any more spectacular, the ocean is literally a step away (at high tide!) and the entire setup there is friendly, accommodating and safe. I had the pleasure of meeting both Gerry and Monty during my stay and they are both exceptional people and grand hosts. I can't recommend this place enough, check it out for yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Monty's Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have been to Monty's twice now for trips with a veterinary service group where we provide care to communities surrounding Jiquilillo. Monty's is a great place to stay. It feels authentic- this is not a 5 star hotel but you have comfy beds, a beautiful complex, great (safe) food and water, the ocean within steps of your room, a relaxed but fun atmosphere, and an amazing staff. I am vegetarian and they have always been accommodating for special dietary needs. This is a small town in rural Nicaragua, so expect it to be an adventure. We were also able to surf, visit the sea turtle conservation project (and even see a sea turtle come ashore and lay her eggs!), and tour the estuary and mangroves. Highly recommend Monty's, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our family of four (including 2 children ages 10 and 12) spent eleven awesome days at Monty's the end of March 2013. It was an amazing part of our trip to Nicaragua! There is so much to do from fishing to surfing to horseback riding on the miles of beautiful beach to hiking up (and down) volcanos to volunteering at a local soup kitchen. Gerry and Monty and the staff are very helpful in arranging excursions and transportation. The accommodations are comfortable and clean and range from dorm style sharing to private rooms. We couldn't resist a thatched hut on the beach! I would be amiss if I didn't mention the food - Vicki and the team are amazing - the food is plentiful and delicious. We highly recommend Monty's as a family destination - far enough off the beaten track to feel adventurous while staying safe and having fun!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Haubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Let me start off by saying that I'd do this trip again in a heartbeat. Great food (without any stomach issues), incredible surfing, and a unique setting make this a one-of-a-kind trip.

The success of this trip depends heavily on your perspective! Jiquilillo is REMOTE!! It is still an undeveloped fishing village and you shouldn't expect it to be Cancun. There are no stores, gas stations, vendors selling cheap jewelry, or swimming pools, and you are 50 miles from the nearest air conditioner. There are, however, beautiful beaches, amazing scenery, a fascinating estuary, and some of the friendliest people you will ever meet, NONE of whom speak English! Come prepared with a couple months of Rosetta Stone, or be prepared to use a lot of hand gestures.

Monty's should be considered a surf camp, not a hotel! The food is fantastic, the hammocks comfortable, and the beach pristine. The rooms are hot and stuffy, the showers run salt water, and the beds are slightly less comfortable than a yoga mat! Again, perspective. If you come expecting a four star resort, you'll be disappointed. If you want an adventure with a modicum of comfort, you're going to love it!

During our week long stay, we never saw Monty and Gerry showed up a few hours before we left. It would have been nice to have one of them around to help with maximizing our experience, but they were working on projects elsewhere in the country. Their impact on the community is amazing and I feel lucky to be a small part of it.

All things considered, I'm already looking forward to our next visit. I'll bring tons of school supplies for the kids as well as some ESL books for the adults. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Tortuga or Langosta are nice, but they're building some new cabanas that look amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I visited Monty's the first week of April 2013 after looking at other possibilites for hanging out and trying surfing with hopefully some volunteering thrown in. Loved the Canadian connection plus the community projects. Felt welcome and relaxed from the moment I got there and hated to leave (was only there a week) Made some amazing new friends and will go back again when I can.
I was really impressed with the fact they pick you up and deliver you to the airport at all hours!
Fantastic food, first class hammocks, beachcombing, surfing/boogie boarding/playing in the waves, lots or nothing to do.
The power sometimes goes out, it's hot, it's a small village in the middle of nowhere.
Your alarm clock could be parrots calling "buena", a generator, the sound of the ocean or the smell of coffee.
As other reviewers have said, this is not a fancy 5 star hotel. It is definitely a 5 star experience.
Loved every minute.

Room Tip: Wide selection of rooms, if you want to sleep in get a room farther away from the communal area.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hwygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a truly special place. We visited Monty's at the end of our 2 1/2 week vacation in Nicaragua. It came after visits to Granada, Laguna de Apoyo and Leon. At each place we did a lot of fun things and stayed in great accommodation. For us, and for our daughters (13 & 11) this was the best part of the trip hands down. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel like one of the family. While you are here you can:
- share meals at communal tables and eat terrific food,
- swing in hammocks listening the waves
- meet really interesting people from all over the place (okay - lots terrific of Canadians....)
- surf, swim, play volleyball and soccer
- play with the local kids
- tour amazing places like the mangrove estuary
- rest, relax, repeat.
- help out on the various community projects underway (if you want to. There is absolutely no pressure to do so and one is never made to feel bad if you don't)

It is a rare thing now that you find a place that embodies a spirit of trust and community in quite the way that this place does. It is hard to define - you have to go and experience it for yourself. I guarantee you will walk away with a warm feeling, a bunch of eclectic experiences and a strong desire to return.

Our rating on sleep quality is a bit deceptive. We had two things against us during our stay - the hottest month of the dry season and Holy Week. The whole peninsula gets very very busy during that week so there was an uncharacteristic amount of noise at night. In some ways, it gave us all something to giggle about over our morning coffee. However, if planning a trip, consider your timing carefully if noise is a huge issue for you. Otherwise, the beds and accommodation are comfortable and kept very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the beach have their own bathrooms and a lovely covered area to sit outside and re...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaBeauchemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing 5 star beach vacation do not come here. If you are looking for a relaxing, funky, community building, friend making, bean eating, go with the Nicaraguan flow, so what if the power goes out, beautiful beach, fabulous staff, help make cement, weed a garden in 35 degree heat, laugh at beach soccer, get woken by chickens, have Monty and Jerry get up at 1:30 am to wave goodbye, and help out wherever it is needed vacation then you will not find anywhere better than here. Thank you for the opportunity to visit and be part of the magic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jiquilillo
11.7 mi away
Redwood Beach Resort
Redwood Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Mechapa
196 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega
23.3 mi away
Hotel Los Portales
Hotel Los Portales
#1 of 3 in Chinandega
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vistas del Pacifico
Vistas del Pacifico
#2 of 3 in Jiquilillo
1 reviews
10.3 mi away
Marina Puesta del Sol
Marina Puesta del Sol
#2 of 2 in Aposentillo
47 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Coco Loco Resort
El Coco Loco Resort
#1 of 4 in El Viejo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monty's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monty's Beach Lodge

Address: Jiquilillo, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Chinandega Department > Jiquilillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jiquilillo
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monty's Beach Lodge invites you to a rustic hide-away on Nicaragua's gorgeous north Pacific coast. Our Palm-thatch lodge and restaurant sits on a breathtaking sandy surf beach, just on the edge of the traditional fishing village of Jiquilillo. You will relax on our wide open beach, play in the warm surf, and kick back with fresh food and good friends. At Monty's, stay and play, and experience all the warmth of Nicaragua at your place. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing