We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.The Friars”
Review of The Friars

The Friars
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Aylesford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“.The Friars”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The friars is beautiful and very peaceful. The buildings are stunning. Our only slight disappointment was the tea rooms, we expected and old fashion tea and cake shop. But our tea was served in plastic cups and the cakes looked shop bought. But we still had a great visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marydbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Couldn't count how many times I have been here, I have been going here for almost 18 years on and off, and every time Ienjoy it, they do a great Fete in the summer time (fathers day), also a Christams one. Lovely peacefull surroundings, great cafe great choice of food drinks and nibbles.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JWRSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace and Calm - Even on Event Days”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Poor promotion of events here means although we live very close we have no idea when things are happening. But when they do an event it is thoroughly worth getting there for Pottery, Woodturning, Old Car or Motorbike, Jamaican, Italian or Village Fete Open Days. Nice canteen like self service restaurant. Rather disappointing shop - but the pottery tucked away in the far corner has lovely things to buy. Probably it is a shame that the religious element of the place has meant they are failing to exploit the other reasons you may like to go there and help them raise funds.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjs871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We used to bring our children here when they were tiny and have recently revisited for a few of the summer and autumn fetes. It has remained a beautiful place to go to for a few hours of quiet, traffic free wandering. There are buildings to explore, gardens to stroll and a pond full of ducks for the children to feed. The food is varied, both in budget and choice of dish/occasion.
We are not a church going family but have always found the resident monks friendly and totally 'normal', although I must confess to being amused at this year's summer fete by the sight of one of the brothers holding a pint, smoking a cigarette and blogging to the band.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“CREEPY”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I'm in a minority, I know, but I found the buildings and grounds unexciting and the whole atmosphere decidedly creepy.

I rather agree with "dondenext's" comments.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ferrocene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Friars also viewed

 

Been to The Friars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing