We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr and Mrs white”

Review of Woodfarm Barn

Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
305 reviews
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 305 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louisa W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr and Mrs white”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the cottage after our wedding. Was lovely and spacious.open fire lovely setting. Clean and welcoming. Would recommend a stay here. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Mr & Mrs! Get used to it! Great to meet you guys and thank you so much for the review. Maybe we'll see you back when you want to get a whole bunch of friends together sometime? Thanks again and congratulations! :-) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni G
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Bubble”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas week as we wanted to escape this season, and escape we did! Such a peaceful place- the lodge is small but perfectly formed. The woodburner and beams are beautifully done and the kitchen is well equipped and clean. Everywhere you look there are little touches which have obviously been done with much thought and care. We had a 'Honey I shrunk the Christmas Tree' which made us smile.

The breakfast hamper is lovely, and on top of this when we opened the fridge we had milk, bacon, cheese, butter- everything you needed. On top of this we also had a Christmas hamper. Everything was clearly locally sourced and as with the decor you certainly get the feeling that it was put together with care.

The little booklets which detail the local places to visit are great- written in a very personal manner. (They seemed a few years out of date mind so worth double checking on Trip Advisor). We found on top of this a lovely dog friendly pub 7miles away, The White Hart in Otley- good food and you can take your pooch whilst eating or drinking (they have two resident dogs who will join you unless you ask otherwise!). Bear in mind that this is pretty isolated- so unless you plan to walk in the beautiful countryside everything is a drive away. The 'shed' was well equipped and another lovely personal touch.

For us we chose WoodFarm Barns because of the dog friendly nature, and we were not let down. This is dog focused not dog friendly! Everything has been thought of for your furry friend, in fact I think Amber enjoyed this break more than us! We took some of the personal postcards with us to give to our friends- it's definitely the place for those wanting to escape to a bubble for a bit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you for such a comprehensive review! So glad you all enjoyed yourselves, even our four legged guest. It has indeed all been put together with care and attention so it's especially rewarding when this is noticed and appreciated. I do hope you'll be returning again sometime. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dottydill...
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked to stay at Woodfarm Barns for a peaceful and tranquil getaway after a very hectic Christmas. We were not disappointed. This place is truly wonderful. Carl the owner was extremely helpful and was always on hand when needed. The barns are set in a beautiful and peaceful location. There are only 5 of them plus the Granary Barn and the Farmhouse so it really does feel like a 'getaway from it all' location. The surrounding countryside is really picturesque with numerous tiny villages with their thatched and tudor style houses. There was a welcome hamper of eggs bacon mushrooms tomatoes bread etc which was a very welcome breakfast. There was a log burner, which made the barn lovely and cosy in the evenings. There was a large library of DVDs, CDs and books as well as bikes for use by holidaymakers. We can't recommend this place enough if you appreciate quality accommodation in a rural setting. We will definitely return and have already recommended it to family and friends. Thank you Carl our week was just what the doctor ordered!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Right, you are now officially my marketing department! Thank you so much, what a lovely review. I hope future guests looking for somewhere to stay read your review! See you guys soon I hope :-) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katzcastl...
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb property and so dog friendly”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent New Year at Orwell Barn with our two Labradors. Excellent holiday cottage/barn and extremely well equipped. Every comfort of home and high quality property. Wonderful quiet location - perfect place to unwind and immerse oneself into glorious Suffolk
surroundings - definitely recommend and will return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you very much (sorry, not allowed to use your name on here) :-)

Nice to know you were immersed in Suffolk. Lovely way of putting it. Hope to see you again later in the year. Thank you once again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“*Very* Happy New Year!”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Stour Barn for 4 nights over new year, together with our little poodle cross we explored and conquered Suffolk!
This little complex of barns is perfect, as picturesque as you imagine the Suffolk countryside to be and as warm and cosy as you imagine a little cottage should be.
Beautiful walks nearby and quaint little villages in all directions, enough to tire us all out even the four legged one!
Facilities were perfect as all the other reviews have said!
Carl is extremely welcoming and very knowledgeable in regards to the local area.
Ps, we ordered an Indian takeaway delivered right to the cottage door!!!
Can't wait to go back in the summer when we can explore more!!
Sarah, Tom and Poppy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Thanks guys! You "conquered Suffolk"?!?! - Wow, that's some feat, we didn't expect conquerors for New Year! Great to meet you, look forward to seeing in the Summer then! Don't forget to book now if you want the FREE Deli Hamper :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mans482
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, well kept, clean and everything thought of”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Booked a couple of days after trying to find somewhere nice that we could take dogs to. Amazed to find every detail had been thought of from providing all those things you never remember to take when self catering , to the look and feel of the barn. Lots of info on what to do and see but really to just relax with the wood burner on and a selection of DVD's from the activity hut ( which includes bikes, CD's, Games ) through a couple of cold nights was just what we needed. Carl the owner couldn't be more helpful, the welcome hamper was lovely, it was in fact all just perfect . I could not recommend this highly enough especially if like us you have dogs and always feel you end up having to compromise on quality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of being taken care of and having everything thought of
Liked least: Can not think of a bad thing to say
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Thank you! What a lovely review :-) I do hope we see you both again in 2015, it was lovely to meet you and I'm so pleased you appreciate what we have here. Tell the world! :-) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy M
Hingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect winter retreat, it certainly ticked all the boxes.”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Arrived to be greeted with a lovely festive feel to the area. The location was attractive and welcoming. Stour Barn was certainly very cosy and stylish with everything provided for
a long weekend away from it all (for my dog too). The whole experience was perfect -
hope to return again next year, during the summertime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The details and little touches that made the experience so special
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2014
Thank you! What a lovely review to receive on Christmas day! I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself and appreciated what we've built here. Hope to see you in 2015 :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing