We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A breath of fresh air”

Review of Woodfarm House

The kitchen garden of Woodfarm House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The kitchen garden of Woodfarm House
Cosy log fire in the lounge Treat yourself to a feast on your Suffolk farmhouse break
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The kitchen garden of Woodfarm House
Cosy log fire in the lounge
Treat yourself to a feast on your Suffolk farmhouse break
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lsg92
Loughborough
1 review
“A breath of fresh air”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Having travelled from busy grey London on a cold weekend I can say that this cottage was just what we needed! Carl was so welcoming on arrival, and so was the delicious breakfast basket set out for the morning. The farmhouse feels so homely, without that clinical feel you get in a lot of holiday homes, we couldn't wait to get the open fire going. The country air was so refreshing and our black lab loved the walks right on the doorstep. Although secluded and peaceful we were only a short drive away from some lovely little villages, and going a bit further out are Aldeburgh and Southwold for a gorgeous (but windy!) coastal walk. I couldn't recommend Woodfarm House enough for a wonderful 'staycation'. My fiancée and I chose it for a holiday with my in-laws, needless to say I'm in their good books! Thanks again Carl for a fantastic experience, we hope to see you soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It was great to meet you both and your black lab of course! I'm glad you felt at home here and hope to see you again very soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A
Tudeley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very relaxing treat.”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What an absolute delight. Lovely warm welcome on arrival including a basket of goodies. Owner (Carl) is great. There when you need him but just lets you get on with it as if the house was yours the rest of the time! The house sits in beautiful surroundings and is a real treat inside. Well-furnished and very spacious. Haven’t been so relaxed for a long time. Looking forward to coming back soon with friends. Great place as a base to explore Suffolk. Thanks Carl.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is beautiful and great location
Liked least: Having to leave?!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thank you! What a great review! I'm glad you felt so relaxed here. I ought to start staying in guests homes and see if I'm made welcome too! I'm sure I would be! Thanks again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedorRaim...
Sudbury, Suffolk
2 reviews
“I could live here!x”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

So friendly, warm and welcoming. Well equiped. Absolutely everything you could possibly want and need and if it's not there, the owners will get it for you straight away. We will definitely be going again. Thank you so much for a fantastic week.x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thank you so much! Great to meet you all and so glad you enjoyed our Pop Up Restaurant too! :-) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D137803H
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Woodfarm houise”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a long weekend, four generations of us.Its was immaculately clean, very well stocked and appointed, it had everything we would need as if we were at home. Carl was on hand to welcome us and show us around. The welcome basket was fabulous, stocked with local produce and bread. I even learnt to cook on a range which I had never done before. Saturday evening saw the barbecue brought into action and we akll had a nice evening meal in the garden. Didn't want to leave at the end. Will be back for another visit soon. Robert.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thank you so much guys - really appreciate the review and it was great to meet you all. I love it when we have so many generations of a family celebrating and getting together here - hope to see some of you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickid58
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going the extra mike”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It is definitely worth visiting Woodfarm Barns. We had the main barn and had everything and more that you needed. We had 3 dogs, 2 of our own and 1 of our sons who were made very welcome. His family joined us there and there was ample room for 2 adults and 2 children with room to spare. Carl is always available and nothing is too much trouble. The grounds are immaculate and you are encouraged to enjoy them. The welcome basket is by far the best one I have ever had.

Our daughter and partner stayed at a smaller barn and that was decorated to the same high standard.

I would not hesitate to recommend a visit.

If I had one negative thing to say it would be that it is too far away from us to visit more frequently. We will all be back though I am sure

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you so much :-) Much appreciated. And thanks for the loan of Kermit x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucy w
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a family get-together”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were a large family group aged between 7 and 90 years, and Woodfarm Barns was the perfect location. The main house was comfortable and we enjoyed evenings around the dining room table or by the fire catching up (it was summer in England after all). The smaller barns were really well appointed and perfect for couples/extended family. We particularly appreciated all the thoughtful extras - free bicycles, delicious breakfast "goodie basket", honesty jar for wine and firewood. We wished we had our dogs with us as Woodfarm is also pet friendly, although there wasn't a whiff of wet dog, or a dog hair to be seen - as is often the case. We would not hesitate to recommend Woodfarm House and Barns - just note that it doesn't take credit cards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all the additional thoughtful extras, characterful buildings, nice location
Liked least: that we couldn't use a credit card!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thank you so much for a great review! Really appreciated. We are actually now putting a credit card facility in place to make life easier for guests. We've simply held off until now due to the costs so we could maintain really attractive prices. But it's time! Thanks again all of you :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy with fantastic attention to detail.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed here with my other family members including my sister who had previously stayed in one of the other properties at Woodfarm Barns. It was a wonderful relaxing weekend. the farm house was cosy and comfortable. A perfect place to get away from it all. we were made to feel very welcome by the owner, Carl and the breakfast and Deli hampers were a very welcome addition to our stay.
There were 6 of us in our party and a reasonably large dog, but we still felt like we had ample space. We particularly enjoyed toasting crumpets on the open fire.
Although we did venture out, we could have quite happily stayed in all weekend. There were numerous DVDs, books and games to borrow. There was even wine that we could buy at a very reasonable price if we ran out.
If you are feeling energetic there are even bicycles for you to borrow!
We definitely hope to return before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Thanks guys, very kind of you to say such nice things

I look forward to seeing you all again sometime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing