We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and food”
Review of The Old School

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School
Ranked #1 of 1 Newbiggin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2013

John and Pauline made our stay very comfortable . Great hosts and a really nice place to stay. I stayed with two of my Friends Tom & Vicky during our walking holiday both agreed The Old School is a great place to stay. John and Pauline took our wet boots and other clothing and made sure they were dry for the following days walking. Thanks again John for picking us up in our hour of need (true gentleman).

Regards Rob (Manchester)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyCumbria, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

We both like to thank you for your review, as well as using your expertise (on cars) to help another guest out of her difficulties, it was very much appreciated by her and us. P/J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the red room for two evenings. Well appointed ensuite bedroom with all the facilities you need.

Lovely gardens, bit cold to sit in, in winter but could imagine sitting in them on a warm summers day having a glass of wine and reading a book watching the wood pecker.

Lovely welcome and great well cooked full English breaksfast, will definitely back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesnKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyCumbria, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are both pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes indeed the garden in summer is ideal for drinks/ tea or coffee outside, we also serve afternoon tea on request. We have even served breakfast on a sunny morning, as well as dinner on a warm evening under the big blue umbrella. Thank you once again. P/J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

As always we had a lovely stay at The Old School. The newly refurbished rooms are a plus, and the blue room bathroom is a treat not to be missed. Great hosts, great breakfast menu, definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the blue room. Lovely views over the gardens and great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeQs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyCumbria, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The view from the Blue room is lovely overlooking the garden and with the Pennines in the distance. Last year we entered the garden into "Cumbria-in-Bloom" in the Guest House& B&B category. We were thrilled when we were awarded the runner-up certificate for the "Chairmans Trophy". Thank you once again and look forward to another year improving our garden for our guests to enjoy, and maybe another visit from you. P/J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

if you have the opportunity to visit the Penrith area this is a quaint guest house i would suggest for your stay,you will receive a very hospitable warm and homely welcome,the room i was in ( single ) was perfect for my needs and very well presented, if i have the opportunity to be that way again i would gladly stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlin53Enfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyCumbria, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your review. The Old School being built in 1866 as you say is quaint, and we think quirky as well with lots of Victorian character. We are very pleased to have been of service to you, and we too would hope to see you again in the future. P/J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Address: Newbiggin CA11 0HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Newbiggin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin
Price Range: £76 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old School 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School was built in 1866 and remained a school until 1963. It has now been converted into a 5 Star Gold Awarded Guest House with the accommodation of three en-suite rooms - 1 Single, 1 Double, 1 Super-king Double/Twin. We are just 4 miles from "Ullswater Lake" and from the most spectacular hills and views in the Northern "Lake District." Where a guest/s can walk, climb, sail, canoe, fish or go on a course for either saddlery, fine woodwork etc. We have a comprehensive seasonal tariff of Low, Mid, and High. Our break prices start from 2 days to 1 week for Bed & Breakfast, and we serve Dinner if required at 7.30pm in the Summer and 6.30pm in the Winter ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Newbiggin, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing