We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly good meal with lots of local dishes”
Review of Hotel Sa Orte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sa Orte
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fonni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stumbled on this place late in the afternoon on a drive by through the town.
We were the only people in the restaurant, and had just one waitress looking after us.
Initial expectations were low, but the food we got was amazing, our waitress was happy to suggest a great selection of local dishes and even bought us some toys for our daughter to play with.
The hotel didn't look that inspiring when we walked in, but the quality of the food definitely made up for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

We booked knowing it was going to be quiet and they lost our booking, but they opened the hotel for us, went the extra mile to make us warm and comfortable - very welcoming. The food was good and they made up a wonderful log fire when the weather turned wintry and we were snowed in.
The team couldn't have been better - welcoming, full of great service and extremely friendly when you wanted to be! we had a really pleasant day sitting in the sala, in front of a traditional log fire, chatting, reading and generally relaxing.
The room was large, with a generous bathroom which was very clean and well-equipped. Wifi in the room was excellent and free. The food was good, Sardinian fare - all cooked on-site and with a brilliant pizza oven, too.
Would definitely go again, perhaps in the summer when it would be warmer and the walks around the area more accessible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Loved this Hotel - very comfortable, large room, large bathroom - modern and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

We stayed in Fioni in early June. It made a great base for touring the area. June is out of season for the area as Fioni is a Ski resort. We had our hotel to ourselves. We stayed at the Sa Orte. The building had been refurbished and the finishes were nice and it was really clean. The hotel rooms were pretty dark though and did not have views over the mountains as it was set in a back street.
They are not used to English visitors here and had quite a few problems with the language as we do not speak Italian. Fortunately the lovely gentleman who owns the Barbagia restaurant speaks excellnt French so we had a great time. Would recommend the food there too, excellent and modest prices.

2  Thank k9whippets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2006

We stayed at the Sa Orte Hotel (has their own website) for a short break.
The rooms are lovely (we booked the suite which was very competitive and perfect for anyone travelling with children).
Fonni itself was (like most of the mountain area in February) pretty closed up. We drove through village after village of shuttered up towns.
Athough there wasn't snow when we were there I would recommend hiring snow chains along with the car (we tried to but they weren't there on arrival at Olbia airport) if you are visiting during the winter. You need to be a confident driver to cope with some of the mountain roads - narrow passes with fast local drivers on the wrong side as well as herds of cattle, sheep and goats being left their feed on the roads.
The hotel itself - one member of staff speaks some english - we didn't speak Italian so it proved interesting - but we got by. We booked half board (bread based continental breakfast) and choice of 1 from 2 (starter and main) at dinner. The fixed menu was a bit limited (pasta or pasta for starter, beef or beef sausage for main) but the hotel were accommodating and I ordered a pizza (5E) one evening - not a problem. The staff were very friendly and the hotel has been fitted out to a very high standard - but don't expect English TV or room service - this is a family hotel with a restaurant popular with Italians. Parking is around the back of the hotel and again requires a confident driver to navigate the roads!
There is a pizza restaurant and small supermarket nearby.
We recommend the hotel. They were so sweet to us!

3  Thank flt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MiFi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fonni
0 mi away
Il Cinghialetto
Il Cinghialetto
#3 of 4 in Fonni
68 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Marie Claire
Hotel Marie Claire
#1 of 2 in Lanusei
129 reviews
0 mi away
Su Gologone
Su Gologone
#1 of 2 in Oliena
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Taloro
Hotel Taloro
#3 of 3 in Gavoi
78 reviews
0 mi away
B&B Casa Masini
B&B Casa Masini
#2 of 3 in Fonni
3 reviews
0 mi away
La Dolce Sosta
La Dolce Sosta
#3 of 7 in Fonni
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sa Orte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sa Orte

Address: Via Roma 14, 08023 Fonni, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Fonni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fonni
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sa Orte 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sa Orte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sa Orte Fonni, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing