We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your keys out with you!”

Hotel Saumertaverne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saumertaverne
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Was raining when we arrived. The girl who showed us to our room had an umbrella as it was away from the main house but there were none offered to us and none provided in the rooms. Room was clean nice beds with duvets, bunk bed for the kids, bathroom small and pokey and after the first day there was a smell of urine comingup through the shower drain. We were the lowest room in the house so I think it was something to do with the sewerage system. Breakfast was simple but nice - fruit yoghurt and bread and as much tea and coffee as you like. Criossants were strictly restricted to one per person though! One night we came home later at about 11pm and all the outside lights were out. My parents were with us and my father nearly tripped in the dark as the path is quite uneven and there are steps to climb. The following night we came home just after nine thirty to find the place closed up lights out and no one around and our keys had been left at reception! No phone number to call nothing! Luckily the owner who obviously lives a little further up the hill saw us out of her window after about ten minutes otherwise we would have had to go and find another hotel to stay at for the night. Not exactly sure what happened but our room key was in my parents room and theirs was still locked up in the main house. Very bizarre. It could be a very nice place if the service was improved? There was no chit chat or information about the area from owner or staff, all our inforrmation came from the other residents. On speaking to one lady in town it appears this hotel has been taken over recently.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saumertaverne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed two nights at Saumertaverne recently at the end of our 7 week stay in Europe.
We were traveling with older children and had a quad with bunks for our tween/teen. Our bed was not a double but required that we sleep in single although they were closely aligned.

The room was a bit rustic, did not have air or wireless.

The view is spectacular and the location great if you want to travel between the smaller communities in the area. We chose the hotel for it's location, which is nicely situated in the Jungfrau Region between the valleys of Lauterbrunnen and Grindelwald. We arrived by car (in my opinon one is needed here, if you wish to travel easily within the region).

They do have a restrauant on site, with breakfast (somewhat limited & more continental style). They offer rental bikes and have both indoor and outdoor dining options. They offer sandwiches for lunch that can be taken with you and a set menu (which we thought was a bit pricey, although overall Switzerland foods seemed to cost more than other locations/countries we visited).

The resort does not have wi-fi available nor was our room air conditioned, which may not be needed dependent on when you travel. Overall, while the location was fantastic the room was small, no TV and had few amenties. Ideal for couples, who want some time alone in a beautiful region but not our best stay (as a family) due to the room size and lack of amenties.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfamily1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a lovely boutique B&B located about halfway between Interlaken and Grindelwald making it very convenient to drive to either town as well as a short drive to the Lauterbrunen valley. Without deliberately planning it this way, we found this was a huge plus as there is so much to do in the region. The B&B is situated in a beautiful rural alpine setting surrounded by small farms so you will probably need your own transport as there are no shops, transport nodes etc anywhere near. It is very easy to find. The road and rail line are not far away but neither of these bothered us

The accommodation facilities that we saw were fairly basic for the money paid, but in keeping with the rural / rustic theme. The family room (double bed plus bunks) we were in was very comfortable but somewhat small although there was a pervading odour of what smelt like cigarette smoke in the small bathroom (shower only). The large restaurant was good and the meals we had there (one dinner and three breakfasts) were prepared well and tasty but like everywhere else in Switzerland, costing more than you would pay in other European countries. The restaurant seemed very popular with locals which is always a good sign but take note that it is closed on Mondays . The breakfasts are part of the deal and what we appreciated was that it was served fresh, not just left out in the restaurant.

What impressed us the most was that the super friendly hosts could not have been more obliging and helpful and went out their way to make sure we were looked after and our needs met. Out of all the B&B's we stayed in over our three week trip, this would be one of the two where we found the service was exemplary and we felt really made welcome staying there as opposed to just another paying guest.

If you value peace and quiet, don't mind slightly rustic accommodation and want to be well looked after, then this B&B is highly recommended. If we ever came back to this area, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Johannes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guendlischwand
3.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthof zur Linde
#1 of 1 in Gundlischwand
1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday B&B Anita
Holiday B&B Anita
#41 of 46 in Interlaken
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saumertaverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saumertaverne

Address: Am Kienbach, Guendlischwand 3815, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Guendlischwand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Guendlischwand
Price Range: £98 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Saumertaverne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing