We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful in everyway!”
Review of Tanners Arms

Tanners Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Maescar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful in everyway!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent friendly staff,good knowledge of area. Great home cooked food for dinner and breakfast and good prices. Hot plates which were a great touch! Will definitely be back as have offers in winter months. Room very clean,very comfy with character. Ideal location for Pen y fan and waterfall country. Great views. Loved every minute!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definitely visit again!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Tanners Arms for 2 nights on a deal, which included a 3 course meal on the first night. The food is freshly cooked to order, well presented and extremly tasty. We were specifically impressed with the hot plates which kept the food warm throughout the meal. We had originally decided to eat elsewhere on the second night to try something different, but as our first meal was so good - and the breakfast the following morning was one of the best I have had - we opted to eat again on the second night. Again, we were not disappointed.

The staff are very accommodating and helpful and after each meal the chef came out for a chat to ask how we liked it.

We found the accommodation spotless and extremely comfortable. The only very small complaint would be the lack of power in the shower, but we forgave that in view of the other pluses.

Will hopefully be back shortly. :)

Lisa and Ken, Barry, South Wales

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaKen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Very misleading and very poor customer service. The terms and conditions in regards to bookings and deposits are misleading and not clearly stated on the web site no. We made a reservation for one room (only availability at the time) and payment of £20.00 was taken. 10 mins later we called to cancel the booking and explained that we had found alternative accommodation for two rooms. However the deposit they had taken they were now saying was a "non refundable" deposit (surely this needs to be clearly stated at the time of booking) we have just lost £20 in 10 mins. Disgusted with the service as the room can be re-booked given the booking was in 17 days time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TannersDefynnog, Manager at Tanners Arms, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Management Team Response : We are sorry that you feel this way but it was clearly explained to your husband/parner when he made the reservation that the deposit was non-refundable and he confirmed that he was happy to proceed with the transaction.

As you are aware we have offered to honour your deposit for any subsequent stays in 2013.

Unfortunalely at no time did your husband mention that he required 2 rooms nor that he was making booking one room merely as insurance in the event that he could not find accomodation elsewhere. Had he mentioned this we would have discouraged him from making the reservation and would certainly not have taken a deposit.

We would urge anyone reading this response to view the glowing feedback from guests that have actually stayed at The Tanners Arms before making any judgements on our professionalism or service levels.

Thank You - The Management Team at The Tanners Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely Place to Stay and Eat!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tanners Arms when we attended the Rally GB. The room was lovely and clean, the room was round the corner away from the pub front, so it was very quiet and never heard anything at all, we both slept very well. The Staff/Family who run the Tanners Arms could not be anymore friendly, and the service was second to none. We eat in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay and the meals we very good. The breakfast was super. We will stay hear again no problem and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackJetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“good English pub in Wales”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We arrived tired and hungry after a long day on the road, the duty manager, Dave, along with the other locals was very friendly. Staff were attentive - nothing was too much trouble. There was an extensive choice of real ale. However the food was average at best, whitebait served on a cold plate, lamb shank - more “jus” than meat - was served with chips and cannonball peas, the vegetable passandra bland and uninspiring.

You may be surprised to learn that we were back at the Pub (staying only 50 yards away) two days later, a convenient place to meet a friend. The atmosphere was rather different – the landlady herself was in charge and the friendly, caring, attentive service just was not there. Service and attitude were very casual, short measure in the ale and a very limited menu choice – all offerings overcooked and tasteless.

I recommend the pub for the extensive range of beer and old world charm but sadly not the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekieChappyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanners Arms also viewed

Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park
Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Tanners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing