We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, food pricey....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, food pricey....”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Have stayed here a few times, this is a nice hotel, clean, comfortable good value accommodation in beautiful parkland, only a short distance from the airport with easy transportation to and from both terminals. The room windows open for some fresh air which is always a bonus. But the food prices are outrageous ! The bar is cozy with a nice atmosphere but expect to pay between £13 and £15 for a fairly average main course (lasagne, burger etc), tasty enough but not worth the money. You may as well go to the Fine Dining Restaurant in the hotel, it only costs a couple of pounds more for a main course. Or take a taxi to nearby Horley if you want to eat and go to The Curry Inn or Foresters pub, it will probably work out cheaper and nicer. A buffet breakfast is £13.95! Make sure you pile your plate high if you have breakfast here - if you just want to have coffee and a croissant just go straight to the airport for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnedoutniceagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are sorry you found the food prices expensive. We do believe our prices are in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area and try to provide our guests with the choice of pub food, family restaurant or a la carte dining. We are aware that there are some very nice pubs in the area which many of our guests enjoy visiting particularly if they are going on holiday.
Thank you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    531
    311
    167
    133
See reviews for
236
800
69
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Hi just a shortie.

This was our sixth time at Copthorne over 5 years, there is not anything major wrong with this place it was just a poor experience .

The rooms are getting tired and where miles away from reception so ask for somewhere close.

The food was nice but service was poor and expensive , we asked for a bus timetable and was given one out of date, missed the bus and had to pay for a taxi,and not an offer off any help with suitcases . the bus stop is also a long walk from reception and out in the open so we got wet,you used to be able to get the bus outside the front door.

The point is there are just better options for the money they are not cheap.

Room Tip: pay a higher tariff for better room and near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry you found your overall experience disappointing after many previous stays with us. We are also sorry about the level of customer service you received, please accept our apologies. We moved the bus stop in order for the bus to do a circle easily, we are very sorry you got wet and that you were given the wrong timetable. Our sincere apologies.
Thank you once again for your review, we are very sorry you were disappointed.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Unfortunately I booked to stay at this hotel for three days. On arrival my wife and I dined in the hotel restaurant. The menu was very limited and with the restaurant being an open area near the main door, it was, to say the least, chilly. Durng the period of our stay the outside nightime tempreature was -3C/-5C and the first night in the bedroom was a very cold experience - there was a horrendous draft from the window as the window frame was very distorted. As a result of my complaint we were moved to another room - the temperature in that room was much better but the bathroom was very chilly as the heater was not working - my complaint did not result in any rectification of that problem. On our third evening in the hotel we did venture into the bar which was adjacent to the restaurant. It was disconcerting to find that those using the bar were all wearing their 'winter woollies' - understandable as this area was also extremely cold. The prices in the restaurant and the bar were in my view on the high side and the breakfast was certainly not 'value for money'.
This is not a hotel I will visit again - indeed, I will not be inclined to use any hotel in this Group. The 'excuse' that was made in response to my complaints was that the hotel was awaiting renovation- with the implication that the wellbeing and comfort of guests is a secondary consideration.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0707David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We were very sorry to read about your disappointing stay, in particular with regard to the cold you experienced in the public areas and your bedroom, please accept our sincere apologies. I am sorry you did not have the opportunity to speak to one of our Managers in order for us to see if we could have improved your experience.
Please accept our sincere apologies, we wish to thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

we stayed here before flying out on holiday. We parked the car in one of the parking bays and there it stayed until we returned. Our room was small but adequate. we had dinner in the bar which became very busy but the food was fine - standard menu. the staff were helpful and polite. would stay again next time we fly from gatwick

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We booked the one night stay with 16 days parking over the new year when we flew from Gatwick. It cost £100 and for that was excellent value for money. The room was one of the better hotel/parking stays we have had although the food and drink was a bit pricey. Would go back again if flying from Gatwick and the price is the same.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Our second visit to this hotel and probably last. We stayed on a busy night as there was a large wedding party but our room which was a long walk from reception had a terrible smell. We couldn't decide if it was a damp smell or whether the beams had been treated with something however by 3 in the morning I was in need of my inhaler! the room was very tired. We had previously had a ground floor room which was a far better standard I presume the wedding party had the better rooms!
The shuttle is not very regular and we in fact got a taxi on our return which was only £2 more than the bus and better than a 45 minute wait.
We ate in the bar which was average but a very long wait for our food.
Will try a different hotel next time

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerningtravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Very convenient hotel for Gatwick Airport ( 10 minutes by shuttle bus ) . Hotel has a nice spa area including a pool , steam room and sauna . Bedrooms are comfortable with all amenities
but not luxurious . When checking in it's a good idea to ask for a room close to reception as the last two times we have stayed here , our rooms has been so far away that we almost needed a
cab to take us back to the bar/restaurant area !
Only downside we have experienced is that The Brasserie restaurant has been closed on both our previous visits . It is a buffet restaurant with a fxed price . We were told that the restaurant is open/closed dependant on how full the hotel is . If it's closed you are left with an expensive a la carte restaurant or very average bar food .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riversboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing