We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fins selaction of ales!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed as the winner of a dinner bed & breakfast prize won in my Company's Christmas draw. The location and grounds are absolutely stunning - who would want to stay at an airport 'chain' hotel with this here? [Club] Room (629) a bit past its sell-by date and could do with refurbishment - missing standard lamp, chipped furniture, frayed upholstery and the jacuzzi bath did not work. To charge for wi-fi is a bit cheeky in this day and age! No draught beer to be had in either bar - despite the in-room publicity saying "excellent choice of ales" in the White Swan Pub. Dinner in the Lion d'Or reatuarant excellent - however, unneccessary 'drizzling' of coloured goo on plates and we don't like 'big plates small portions'. French waitress top class. Breakfast 'hot' buffet was cold (as is often the case) but nevertheless preferabl;e to waiter service. A microwave would have helped! Overall though, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawsyHurstpierpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. Your comments are reviewed and discussed by members of the management team so thank you once again. We are very sorry you found your room to be somewhat old fashioned, also that you were disappointed not being able to purchase a real ale. Please be assured these matters will be addressed, thank you also for your comments regarding the Lion d'Or and the breakfast service. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and wish to thank you most sincerely for your comments.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,592)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

I recenlty stayed at this hotell booking directly with the hotel a 3 bedded superior room as I was travelling with my sister and elderly mother. When we arrived at 3pm we were told there were no rooms on the ground floor and although there is a lift it does not take you anywhere near the rooms and you have to go up and down stairs and through fire doors. The room I was given was not 3 bedded and definitely NOT a superior room as the curtains were falling to pieces and the net curtains were dire. This is defo not a 4 star hotel. |I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with children in pushchairs or people in wheelchairs. very disappointing... room service food arrived cold.

Room Tip: check the room before you sign in I am sure they have superior rooms but you need to make sure if yo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are extremely sorry you were so disappointed with your stay, in particular relating to your room. We do have rooms which are suitable for 3 adults. These may be termed family rooms which will have a double bed and 2 single beds, I am afraid there are only a limited number of these rooms on the ground floor. Please accept our apologies, also for the standard of room provided to you.
We wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review for the information of future travellers.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Copthorne as part of a yearly visit to local gardens ( Wisley/wakehurst) with a chum, we always choose a hotel with pool as we love a relaxing swim/sauna in between .

The pool is part of a fitness club and not part of Copthorne premises although guests staying can use the facilities. The water was very cloudy , with a thick scum on the surface but the tiles just above water level had a thick scrappable blackish brown scum! ghastly.

I commented to a swim instructor who said she has been complaining about it " for weeks" , On mentioning this to the receptionist he blithely said , " dont worry, it will be cleaned tommorrow" I then passed on the ongoing complaint of a regular ,( who had also advised me to take it up with hotel management as it reflects on them). The receptionist then made a face. and said nothing, in fact, he could'nt wait to get away., he certainly could not offer an explanation or reassurance.
It really was filthy and clearly had built up over a long period, we will certainly avoid this in future and that alone would deter future bookings , as a pool is important ,on our girlie jaunts.
As to the hotel. room was fine basic clean,small but a good price, the outside of the areas not on show a scruffy and desparately need painiting, but the overall ambience is OK.

We were not happy on being told there was a £5 parking fee, not made evident on booking, never paid to park at a hotel before , this was waivered,

We made a mistake having an evening bar snack, as we did not want to head out again, burger and chips, and simple pasta dish was literally stone cold, how do they manage this??
we complained , great fuss, renewd/or reheated and free pud offered but, it was hardly busy so inexplicable really. and certainly over priced for small bar snack
I would not recommend this place , but none of the above would stop me staying there if I could not find better,

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckle-bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed review following your recent stay with us. We were extremely concerned to read your comments regarding the swimming pool. The Club is actually run and managed by LA Fitness, please be assured we have taken this matter up with them, they are responsible for the cleanliness of all aspects of the club and we have asked for an explanation. We are also sorry you were not advised of the £5 parking charge, this is advised on our website and we believe is in line with parking charges at other hotels in the Gatwick area, we were glad the charge was waived as you had not been made aware of it. We do hope you enjoyed your overall stay and visit to the gardens and sincerely hope you will consider returning to the hotel in the future. Thank you once again for reporting the matter of the swimming pool to us.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

We are sad to say we had a terrible night at this hotel.
We arrived late which was fine but once we got into our room we were greeted with a very hot and stuffy atmosphere. We tried playing with the air con/fan but all it did was make a lot of noise. We tried to open the windows but they were on a locking system to stop people jumping out. We gave up but by 2am we had enough. It was over 80 degrees and we had a 2 month old baby with us. We called reception to be told it was too late to move. We asked for a fan and waited. An hour later nothing arrived but we had worked out the window locks so had a tiny bit more air.
In the morning we packed up to leave only to find the fan left outside our room to the side of the door. No knock or call to say it was there.
We brought all these points up at check out but was told because we booked it through a travel agent they couldn't do anything.
We booked this because it was 4 star but the room was not by any means that at all. Loose floor tiles in bathroom, mould around the bath and just generally not what we expected.
Next time a premier inn will be our choice as you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratch125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review. Our apologies for the delay in responding to you. We are extremely sorry you had such an uncomfortable night owing to the heat. We have an air circulation system which obviously was not working properly for which we apologise most sincerely. We cannot understand why the fan was left outside your room, this has since been investigated with the Front Office Manager, whoever brought the fan should have knocked and handed it to you. We are extremely sorry for this very poor service and your entire experience which fell far below our normal standard.
Thank you once again for bringing the above points to our attention.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel for work and I totally agree that the hotel is extremely tired and needs renovating. This would not be a significant problem if things worked! I arrived in my room which is like a sauna. When I called reception they informed me that the air con system in rooms had been switched off for the 'winter' - its the end of May!!! The bed is uncomfortable and the pillows like solid bricks. Thankfully one of the extremely stressed staff brought me a fan but it has still been a sleepless night. The bathroom also is in need of some serious attention but is at least functional. I can also confirm other reviewers comments about the online booking system failing to record the breakfast deal, however firm words with reception will get them to honour what you booked! Overall it's probably best to stay in a premier inn you get a better nights sleep for a similar price!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hk218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review written during your stay. We are extremely sorry you were so hot preventing you from sleeping along with finding the bed uncomfortable and standard of accommodation far below your expectations. They system we have in our rooms is purely air circulation, however, according to your comments this cannot have been working correctly.
Please accept our sincere apologies for your poor stay and experience. Please rest assured your comments have been passed to the management team for their actions. thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here to depart from Gatwick airport the next day. We liked the ambiance and it seemed like a very nice place. Would have liked to stay longer since the price was very good.

Only problem we found was that the hotel said it would be 9.50pounds and one way it cost 14 and the other way 10.50 but without traffic or any reason why the disrepency was so large. Set a price with the cabby first.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pagedown R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review.      We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay.     We were sorry to read about the taxi charges, these charges are negotiated by our nominated taxi provider.      May be you had a larger car or an estate car ?     The charge most definitely should have been £9.50 to the airport in a normal saloon car.    We will take this matter up with our taxi company as they are required to keep to the price we quote our guests.Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.       We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.Best wishesGuest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Good value and close to airport but no aircraft noise. Breakfast was very good and friendly staff. They recommended I catch taxi instead of waiting at the gate for a shuttle bus in the rain. It was only a couple of pounds more. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, despite the mix up and other members of your family being at the Effingham. We were also very glad you enjoyed the pool and the Health Club. Owing to the nature of our building some of the rooms are a bit of a walk from Reception, however, guests can always request a room near reception particularly if they have problems walking.
Thank you once again for your very informative review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £59 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing