We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, and good ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Guernsey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, and good ambience”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Our family spent a couple of nights in 2 rooms, in July 2012, when we are staying over for a wedding. The hotel is one junction away from London Gatwick Airport, so quite comnvenient. The hotel is situated in lovely grounds and the buildings are quite old, giving great character, but with more modern wings attached. We were surprised that our rooms were not larger, but were adequate for our stay. They were comfortable, fully equipped inlcuding wifi in the rooms, which we found expensive at £5 for 24 hours. Why do hotels these days charge so much, and not just provide this as a free service!!.
We did not eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast, which had a good selection of food.
The swimming pool was adequate but was quite busy with childrens swimming lessons, so not exactly relaxing.
We would be very happy to stay here again, although we felt that the hotel is now in need of some upgrading.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, and not just a standard room down a long corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manfromguernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    517
    300
    162
    130
See reviews for
231
780
67
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Further to our last stay we have returned to this hotel again and found it to be as relaxing and well serviced as the first time. If anything, the restaurant food and service was even better than the first time.

This is not the most up-to-date hotel in Surrey but has a great ambience for people who do not need to be 'entertained' all the time and who are comfortable just being themselves.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

When we arrived we had to climb over a tour party of about 50 japanese guests handing out food parcels (i wish i'd taken a couple)
We looked at the on-site pub as an option to eat, but on observing the plates of food in front of people we decided 1970's looking school meals weren't for us, so we opted for the 'fine dining' restaurant - bad move. It was like a scene out of faulty towers. Hugely overpriced, service that was comical and very mediocre food.
Crashing into bed the strange burning smell in the room became very strong. The bedding had been so over tumble-dried it smelt very strongly of burning hair and was so toxic it kept us awake all night.
The airport shuttle bus also runs very infrequently so budget for a cab on top of the bad experience

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nswburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed one night and found the staff very helpful and polite, but not happy. In fact there was a distinct atmosphere of depression throughout the hotel. There were far too few staff -only one person on the check out and very few at breakfast -interestingly, all of them new that day. The room was clean and pleasant enough, but there was only one chair. The worst aspect was the sound insulation between the rooms, which does not exist. The people next door talked until 1am -they were speaking at a normal level so we could hardly ask them to whisper. And we could hear every time they flushed the toilet. So it meant that we had the worst night's sleep we've had in any hotel. And to add insult to injury we had to pay £5 for parking the car. We would never stop here again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 701jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

The room was a standard twin and was the worst I have had the misfortune to stay in for some time. It was shabby, uninviting small and in desperate need of a remodel. The carpet would have been better used on a garage floor, it was so stained. The air conditioning sounded like it was working but did not cool the room at all, a fan would have done the same and it was not particularly hot. The rates they offer on these rooms is fairly low and I suppose that should ring alarm bells but hay this is a Melennium Group Hotel so you would expect much better. £5 to park the car overnight or an expensive taxi or bus ride to the airport. I won't go on any more but believe me you do not want to stay here unless you pay for the upgraded rooms which I didn't see but am going by the pictures on their website. This used to be such a lovely hotel at Gatwick some years ago, what a shame.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ABritEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A two night stay in this hotel could only be described as average - staff were generally friendly, however there were definitely not enough of them and training was also distinctly lacking. Slow service, an inability to keep the breakfast buffet stocked and a lack of knowledge (I asked when the gym opened and was told that it closed "quite late" but that the receptionist did not know the opening time). The lager in the Library bar was also flat and warm, and the rooms stuffy and dated.

As mentioned, I cannot blame the staff for what seems like failings from a management level to give them the correct tools, training and numbers to do their job to a reasonable standard. With so many other options in the Gatwick area, I will definitely look elsewhere for my next stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DVBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night, prior to our flight out to Crete. On arrival at the hotel, which was easy to find, we found a large car park, with plenty of parking spaces.
We went to check in and found a queue. There were 3 desks but only one person serving. Two other members of staff, one female who looked angry and unapproachable, were milling around behind reception but never once asked if anyone could be assisted. People in the queue were getting very agitated. Not what you'd expect from a 4* hotel.
After finally being attended to by a pleasant young lady trainee on the reception, who seemed to be the only one doing any work, we went to our room. The room itself was only a standard room but it was lovely and quite large. It was large with a desk, two chairs and a table, a wardrobe, a mini fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities (no hot chocolate or biscuits). The bathroom was nicely fitted too and very clean.
After checking into our room we went into the library bar for a sandwich, which was very tasty, but very expensive, and two coffees came to over £7. Not a cheap option. There was another restaurant but it wasn't open.
We had a good nights sleep, all apart from the usual door slammers and noisy guests you encounter and usually when you have to be up really early.
On our return to the hotel to collect our car, again we had to queue at the reception with only one serving and two milling around again. We then went and had a coffee before our long journey home, and was met by a surly bar tender, who lent back against the back of the bar with his hands behind his back and just waited for me to ask for what I wanted, rather than be polite enough to ask how he could help.
There is a fitness centre and swimming pool, but we did not actually use them.
It really is a gorgeous and comfortable hotel, but it is badly let down by the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have air conditioning so if you have a ground floor room it's not ideal to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetochill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing