We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Maze”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We arrived at this nice looking hotel after a flight home from our last holiday, the reality is all we wanted to do was go to bed not take forever at desk it may only be midnight to the staff but to us it was 2.00am having been up since 7.00am. Then we were sent in wrong direction and very long walk to find our children's twin room then another long walk miles away from our children to our room.!!i noticed people have commented on breakfast but I feel 14.95 is a lot per head for families assuming they advertise a three course Carvery! The room is basic but that matches the price we paid. sUitable for night before or after flight but of course you can hear people going up and down corridors with cases but again expected this. beds were clean but my toilet wasn't.!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    524
    304
    164
    130
See reviews for
233
791
68
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Wedding guests were advised to stay here. Old tudor decor, which may need updating, particularly in the rooms. However, basic and clean accommodations were provided. We only stayed for one night and did not experience the grounds or facilities very much. We did take part of the full buffet breakfast, which offered both cooked and continental options. Decent, safe place for a overnighter. No major complaints.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged, ask for a room that is nearby the lobby. We had a room in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrackingMileage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Arrived to a nice looking hotel and large car park. Checked in and asked for credit card although already paid in advance- refused to give it and this was accepted. Room was a very very long way from reception and very badly signed so missed corridor to our room, very glad left suitcases in the car! Room was large but very hot. Child's bed was very old camp bed and literally plonked in the middle of the room. Our bed was fine but thick quilt (winter tog) which was definitely not needed in August. No air conditioning or not working as couldn't figure it out- tried turning fan on but nothing happened. Bathroom was cleanish but shower was awful over bath type. I am only 5ft 3 and ended up nearly banging my head on slopping ceiling over bath and shower could only be aimed at my shoulder height. Husband tried shower and gave up!! Carpet worn and dirty and room in need of a big make over, nothing like pictures shown on here or on web-site. Did the job for one night before early flight from Gatwick. Bus to airport fine and £9 for family ticket, dropped you off outside of terminal. Only run hourly but luckily right time for us. Return bus very busy as drops off at both terminals but fine again. Car parking fine but would not use again due to poor room and expensive cost of food and drinks (thank God we brought sandwiches from services) but pint cost £4.50 and they charged us for an earl grey tea bag my husband requested for me!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trixie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed for one night as friends held there reception here.My husband and i thought the hotel was very nice for the price we paid through booking.com.The room was clean,as was the bathroom and we found the bed very comfy.We found the staff very friendly,especially the cleaning staff,who all gave us a warm good morning as we walked down the corridors.Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey1409_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent one night before our flight to Funchan. On arrival the reception was very slow. We paid £60.00 for one night without breakfast which I think was reasonable. The "SHUTTLE SERVICE" by the hotel is very misleading as it was a public bus that took us to the airport stopping at a distance from where it took us to walk with the luggaje at least ten minutes and on top of that we had to pay £4.50 each. The mention of Hotel "SHUTTLE SERVICE" is understood to be "FREE TRANSFER". Drinks at the bar are very expensive - £4.50 for a pint of Stella however the hotel grounds are very big and reasonably well kept and one can sit out on a warm day to enjoy the exoensive drink but, rather than stay at this hotel I would prefer to take a taxi from home to the airport to avoid the hessel of walking with luggaje. Our dinner at the Lion D'Or (although pricey) was very good and the staff were very polite and courteous.

Room Tip: Being an old building all the rooms could be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pannalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

We spent the night before our departure at the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick and this hotel and parking package was perfectly reasonable for the money.  Other reviewers, I believe, have focused too much on the negative aspects but, for my wife an I, it was just fine: for £80 we got a clean room, car parking for 2 weeks and use of the nearby LA Fitness centre which has its own gym, sauna, steam room and 12m pool.  

This makes for a very relaxing start to the holiday, especially for early flights.  The hotel represents great value, as does the flat fee £9 taxi fare to the airport.  The LA fitness facilities are fine, if a little tired and dated.  I feel complaining about the latter is both pointless and slightly pious: it's a free facility for hotel guests after all and attendance is very much voluntary. 

Dinner in the Copthorne Lion D'Or was delicious and the two-course fixed menu option offered great choice and a particularly good lamb dish. Note that although Holiday Extras declare that the £44 advance booking saving is a steal, it costs just the same to rock up on the day and eat 2 courses in the same restaurant for £42).  Wine, of course, is not included in the advance rate and is slightly overpriced with most decent numbers around £25.  

The service in the Lion d'Or was fine and the (largely British) staff throughout the hotel were perfectly friendly, efficient and capable.  The lawn out the back of the hotel's own pub (the White Swan) is a lovely spot in which to relax; it is very tranquil with no excessive noise from the airport or the M23.  Just bring mozzie repellant!! A word of caution ought to be muttered here as to the fact that London Pride retails at £4.50 per bottle and that £11.40 for a round of 2 drinks was certainly a shock to the system!!

We would definitely spend a night here agin prior to a flight departing from Gatwick an would certainly recommend it to others.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank W12UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night before flying to Orlando. We paid £160 for a family room and 16 days of parking. The hotel was easy to find and located close to the Airport. On checking in it was suggested that we use a taxi to get to the airport instead of the shuttle as the staff said it might be easier for us with children. We also booked an early morning wake up call to make sure we were up ready for our flight. Unfortunately the call didn't come but we were too excited to sleep. The room was very dated with bits of paint coming off in the room. Some had been touched up but with the wrong colour. There were no spare pillows. Our kettle didn't work in the room but we did get a replacement. The bathroom was clean but looked very dated.
After looking at the menus in the hotel we decided to go out and look for somewhere to eat as none of the food was suitable for our children (aged 11 and 9). We managed to drive 8 miles into East Grinstead and found a selection of suitable restaurants found in most high streets.
Breakfast was pricey and buffet style. Checking out was easy and the hotel looked after our car well but all in all we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing