We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“soooooooooooooooooo cold” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“soooooooooooooooooo cold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

we stayed with you on the 4th of november the night before our holiday as we didn the last time we flew from gatwick lovely hotel and staff but we were given a room that night and it was cold i passed a member of staff later as we were going for a drink and she was checking the heating when i said I hope its come on in our room she asked which room and on giving our no said shed sort it later we had a call to say that there was a problem and we could be me moved to another room which we were this was just as cold . After dinner we just dived into bed and ok we were ok but next morn it was chilly getting ready to leave.When we left 5/11 12 we said about the room and we were asked if we had been given a heater which we hadnt I have to say that everything else with the hotel was ok .I just hope our next gatwick flight is in the warm weather lol
They did actually say there was a problem with the heating on the 1 side of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shep1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Further to your review submitted here on Trip Advisor, please do accept my apologies for the inconvinience caused during your stay with us.

As winter kicked in, we had gone through all the checks to ensure that heating was working in good condition in all areas. Few areas were identified as an issue, but these rooms were not meant to be on sale and please rest assured I shall take your comment on board and act on them appropriately.

Once again my apologies and my assurance that these issues have been dealt with and you shouldn't experience the same going forward.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    507
    291
    159
    128
See reviews for
224
766
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We have no problem with the overnight stay, the staff were great. Our disapointment was on our return, we were given the keys to our car and told it was at the top of the car park, it was wet and very dark, when we did fine our car we couldnt check it as it was parked in a very dark part of the car park. So the following day we did a check of our car, its not a scratch its a gouge down to the bare metal. We emailed the hotel on the 31st October and was asked to wait 10 days so they could investigate the problem, its now the 22nd of November and we havent heard from them. We have also heard from other people the same thing happened them and they too were not treated well, so beware.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for submitting your review online.

I am glad that you had a good stay with us other than the damages caused to your car. Lydia, our guest relations executive has been trying to establish contact with you and we have not heard anything so far from your end. I would really appreciate if you could contact us and we will try to get this issue resolved.

Once again thanks for submitting your review and our apologies for all the inconvinience caused. I do hope we will be able to reach an amicable solution on the issues highlited.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Ok, this is not somewhere we would book for a treat but it gets 4 stars because it is great value. We paid approx. £95 for an overnight stay with two weeks parking. The rooms did need a refurb but the bed was comfy and the rooms were immaculately clean. On that basis coupled with the price I cannot complain - and I am fussy. We didn't eat at the hotel but my husband tried the bar and said it was ok.
We will stay here the next time we fly from Gatwick. Very convenient for parking and taxis to/from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnanicetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for submiiting your feedback.
I am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and you had received a good value for money. We do offer excellent park & fly packages and they have proved very popular with our guests, who fly from Gatwick airport.
Once again thanks for your feedback and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I tagged this hotel onto the end of our mini break as a treat for my boyfriend as we had a late flight home. We booked a standard double room, this was NOT what i expected and most definitely not what is advertised on the website.

If you are looking for a dated room, with grubby decor, stuffy, a Bathroom from the 1970's in a hotel that is really a 2* that's disguised by a 4* rating, then this is the Hotel for you.

You had to be under 4 feet to use the shower which has a grubby shower curtain. The basin waste was rusty and broken, the tiles were grubby, the toilet didnt flush properly, oh and we had a man (staff we presume) come into our room at 8am, not sure who he was or why he came into the room at that time of the morning.

When we complained, we had a stand off with one of the staff behind the desk who finally offered us an upgrade but would charge us for it. He was unpleasent and unhelpful. When i asked to speak to the manager, he was the gentleman stood behind the man on the desk who didnt bother to acknowledge us until i requested it. He was also very unhelpful. We finally got shown an alternative room which was equally as bad as the first.

What this Hotel needs to remember is that whether you book a standard room or an executive suite, if your Hotel is a 4* Hotel then all rooms should be worth that Star.

I have one good point about this hotel and that is Martin, he was very very helpful and couldnt do more for us.
Its safe to say that we will not be returning to this, quite frankly dissapointing 2* (at best) Hotel.

Room Tip: Find a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for submitting your review online.

I am disappointed to read your comments reference the service you received from my Front Desk Team. I am of the view that you may have a challenging to product, however the team who deal with customers can make the difference and please rest assured the Head of the department has been spoken to and take required actions. Staff members are briefed to ensure that they announce themselves before entering any rooms, which oviously is not the case and this will be revisited.

We are currently going through our refurbishment programme and once completed will negate all the comments we receive about our bedrooms. I have also made note of Martin's excellent customer service, which will be shared with him .

Whilst, I do apologise for the inconvinience you had to undergo, I understand that you have decided not to return to us. I can assure you that your experience is not indicative of our usual high standards and I do hope that you will give us one more opportunity once the refurb has been completed.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B/WOOD ENGLAND
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Third time we have stayed in the Copthorne this year. Once again we were very pleased with the hotel. We upgraded our room and it was worth it. The room was clean and very comfortable, had a great night sleep. We had dinner in the a la carte restuarant and it was fantastic, expensive but worth every penny. Not the pace to eat on a limited budget. The service was what you would expect, first class. Menu was first class and a great wine list, over spend on the lovely Dom, but we were on the start of our holiday. It is worth pre-booking as you can get a great deal.

Room Tip: Club room much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Further to your review, I am happy to note that you have enjoyed all your stays with us and the special mention about our LionD'or restuarant and the service received. I will ensure this comments are shared with team and I am confident your praise will be much appreciated by all of them.

Thank you for submitting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We booked a twin room plus parking here through an agency prior to a flight the next day. On arrival we were told there were no twin rooms available, but when we protested that that is what we'd booked we were quickly upgraded to a Club twin room, which gave us a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

The pre-booked buffet breakfast was excellent, with a superb choice of foodstuffs for most tastes I would imagine.

No problems were noted with the parking, the car did not appear to have been moved during our week away

I would suggest not pre-booking the bus to the airport, it operates only on an hourly or 90 minute frequency, and for parties travelling together is little cheaper than a taxi,

Good value for money, marked down a little as the initial room was not what we ordered and the bus service is inadequate.

Room Tip: Large hotel so it's probably luck of the draw but stand your corner if you don't get what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for submitting your review online.

I am glad to note that you had a nice stay with us, even though with some initial hiccups in terms of your room and my apologies for that. All of the comments has been shared with the team and is much appreciated.

We look forward to your continous custom everytime you are in this region. Once again thank you for sparing the time to submit this review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Got a lovely double room last minute complete with oak beams for only £63. Staff are friendly and helpful. Very close to the airport and we'd definitely stay here again. Also close to many pubs and restaurants so well worth staying overnight rather than driving at silly o'clock.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s1m0ne192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Our hotel is filled with character and not one room is the same as the other, which makes us unique and stand out amongst other hotels. I am very glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and received good value for money.

Thanks for sparing the time to review our hotel and as always we look forward to your return to us at Copthorne Gatwick.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing