We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value pre holiday retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value pre holiday retreat”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions pre holiday, this time in Christmas eve/Christmas Day. It's a great little hotel away from the busy airport but not too far, it is a short taxi ride away (around £12) or via a shuttle bus (around £5 per person). The hotel is surrounded by nice grounds so it feels more like a country retreat rather than an airport hotel. There is a good range of dining options such as a traditional pub, self serve carverey and more formal ala carte style dining. There is an onsite pool and salon. The staff are efficient and the rooms are ok a good standard although some in need of modernisation. Wheelchair access is really good. Overall a nice welcoming atmosphere, great value for money especially park and stay offers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you very much for takiing the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found our location to be convenient for the airport, also to leave your car with us while you were away. We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Thank you once again and kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    531
    310
    167
    133
See reviews for
236
800
69
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here as we live quite a way from gatwick and had a 5am flight so this was an easy option
Very nice hotel
A quick tip - the kettle for tea and coffee in the room is in the wardrobe (it took us a while to find)
The bar and pub are pricy but pretty much hotel prices, but you need a car to go elsewhere if you want to eat / drink
Only downside the hotel's bus stop for the gatwick bus is a bit hard to find if you're not sure where you're going, especially in the dark

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cymraescymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for the airport. We have now changed our shuttle bus provider and the bus comes round and picks the passengers up outside the front door. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We very much hope we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future..
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I would recommend this hotel, we stayed New Year's Eve and left car at hotel whilst we flew to Canada. It was only 10 minutes drive to airport. We ate a three course meal in the restaurant (which was lovely) and had breakfast before we travelled. The room was clean although a little on the small side (ok for us as we were only staying for one night, maybe ask for a larger room if staying longer) Upon our return our car was ready and waiting.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us prior to your holiday. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location convenient for the airport. We hope you had a most enjoyable holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are flying from Gatwick.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

well impressed stayed there 3 times, second time we were upgraded because we had been there before.very pleased. we will always stay there when we go on our hols..because we come up from dorset and need a sleep before an early morning flight.staff are very friendly and professional. am well pleased

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review following your recent stay with us prior to your holiday. We were very pleased to read that once again you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We hope you had a most enjoyable holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you back next time you are flyng from Gatwick.
Kindest regards and Happy New Year
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Well worth staying here if you have an early flight the next day from Gatwick. The staff on reception are very friendly and helpful and gave good advice - take anything out of your car that you may need for the night as once your car keys are handed over, the vehicle will be moved to their secure rear car park. The room was a decent size and had all mod cons, but it did get hot through the night - we had to open the window, which wasn't a problem as we didn't have any traffic noise. We had dinner in the bar area, which was reasonable although we did wait quite a while for our food. The only drawback I would say is that at 5am the next morning we were instructed to wait out by the main gate for the shuttle bus - it was cold and wet and there was no cover. As it happened a taxi pulled up so we jumped in that rather than get wetter!!

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer reception - ours was quite a walk away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the information you have provided for future travellers. We were very sorry you had to wait in the rain for the shuttle bus, it was fortunate a taxi came along. As we have a special arrangement with a local taxi company the taxi charge is very reasonable.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Maybe because of the not-so-good reviews some people have written, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The bed was clean and big, everything was intact, no broken pieces, cracks or mold. They could've done a better job with the painting, but i'm not picky. My room didn't have a good view, but again, not picky. I was sleeping the whole day to notice anyway. However on my way to my room I saw a large window overlooking a nice looking garden, so that makes up for it. Good place for pictures too. There's no free wifi, and it costs 5 pounds for 24 hours. My room costed 48 pounds, which was supposed to include a breakfast, but the free breakfast code didn't show up in their system, so I added one for 8 pounds extra (if you buy beforehand; otherwise its 13 pounds), and their coffee is simply amazing. The only downside is that the place is like a maze: all their hallways look exactly the same! I got lost going back to my room from the restaurant. Also, ladies, bring conditioner. As for the airport shuttle, their bus route has changed from H5 to G5. I sat there at the bus stop for 30 mins before someone traveling to the same place told me.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you very much for your interesting and informative review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and sincerely hope you will consider returning to us in the future. We are very sorry you had to wait for the bus and are only glad you were directed by a fellow traveller.
Thank you once again for the taking the time to review your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay here being local but did reserve a table for Christmas lunch. I have to say the restaurant, service, food and atmosphere where first class, I will be returning in the New Year for another wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_S_Tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your Christmas lunch with us. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your lunch and that you will be returning in the new year. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Prestigia, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing