We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

we had a free stay here with virgin hols . we found the hotel very expensive with food and drink . a rip off in fact . the rooms are ok we stayed in a room on the ground floor there was a smell around that area which others have noticed in other reviews. car parking was fine cars not jamed in.we found a pub about 15 mins away by foot which was ok served basket meals ect . we normally stay in horley there is a lot more bars and rest around this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herkieplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you very much for your recent informative review. We are sorry you found the prices in the hotel expensive, we do believe we are competitive with other hotels in the area. We would like to thank you most sincerely for posting a review for the benefit of other travellers.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    512
    296
    161
    129
See reviews for
229
772
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick St John
Level Contributor
419 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was delighted to get upgraded on check in however I would echo some previous reviews in that the hotel has seen better days. Much of the furniture was chipped and scratched, the TV was old and although I had a jacuzzi bath, the jets did not seem to be working. The room was also very hot and I could not find any heating controls.
I dined in the restaurant where the food was nice but expensive and portions were quite small.
What was disappointing is that the hotel gym is actually not their own, but a seperate business some way across the car park so you have to take your own towel out through the cold and rain. That said the staff there were nice and there are lots of machines.
Breakfast was fine and I would proably consider staying there again but I have definitely found nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience. Thank you once again for taking the time to post an informative review for the benefit of other travellers.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNDEE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

we were put up at this hotel after our flight from gatwick was cancelled.we were a bit apprehensive at first as to the standard of hotel where we would be staying but must say this hotel came up trumps. a very easy check in by friendly staff was followed by a lovely buffet which was very welcome as we had been hanging about for hours at the airport.Our room was very big with nice comfy beds, a fantastic shower in the well equipped bathroom.The bar was nice with lovely big chairs and settees.If we ever need a hotel near Gatwick I would choose this one

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Many thanks for your recent review following your stay when your flight was delayed. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay despite your journey being disrupted, also that you would stay with us again if you are flying from Gatwick.
We hope you safely reached your destination without further delay.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I last stayed in this hotel about 10 years ago and I don't think much has changed.

The location and grounds are great but inside the hotel is somewhat dated.

My room was of a decent size but the decor and furniture have seen better days, a refurbishment is required. The tv was old fashioned and in a wooden cabinet. The furniture was scratched and chipped. The carpet was out of the 1980s large swirly pattern on it.

A heater had been placed in the room, when I entered the room was too hot so switched the heater off. When I returned from dinner the room was cold so looks like the radiator in the room wasn't working.

The bed was very comfortable. Dinner was fine, nothing brilliant. BA provided the hotel as they had cancelled my flight, so there were quite a few people staying and the hotel had to rustle up food for us all.

I left my credit card details at reception so I could charge drinks to my room. Despite this the restaurant staff refused to let me charge anything to my room and insisted on cash.

The hotel badly needs to be refurbished.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay when your flight was delayed. We are very sorry you felt our standard of accommodation did not meet your expectations. We have commenced a refurbishment of our bedrooms this year i.e. it has just begun and is being carried out in sections of 20 rooms at a time. We believe this project will make a big difference to some of our rooms which are somewhat old fashioned. We were glad to read that you had a comfortable night's sleep and sincerely hope you were able to continue your journey without further delay.
Thank you once again for your valued review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Like many others before us, we booked this hotel as we had an early flight from Gatwick on 05 Jan 2013. I have no issue with the hotel and have stayed there or at the Copthorne Effingham before. It is comfortable and 'fit for purpose'. When we arrived at the hotel on 05 Jan 2013 we were advised that the coach company providing the airport shuttle service would change whilst we were away but we were given a timetable for our return journey. On our return to Gatwick yesterday, a cold wet day, the coach did not arrive at the stated time but turned up about 15 minutes late. Although an hourly service we noticed that other hotels had two coaches arrive whilst we waited. The hotel is advertised as 10 minutes from the North Terminal. When we eventually boarded the coach the journey lasted an hour as another hotel had been added to the route as the first stop and the Copthorne Effingham is now the second stop with the Copthorne being the third. I will NEVER, EVER, EVER use this hotel again as an airport hotel unless / until they sort out their airport shuttle service.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris840980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry you felt so inconvenienced with regard to the shuttle bus bringing you back to the hotel from the airport. We do have a new schedule in place which includes a stop at the Holiday Inn Worth Hotel on the way back from the airport. I am very sorry this was not explained to you especially as the new route was introduced while you were away. All guests are being supplied with our timetable as well as details of taxi charges. If there are two people travelling the taxi charge is only £1.50 more than the shuttle bus which costs £8 for 2 adults each way.

We do hope you will reconsider and return to stay with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

West Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions pre holiday, this time in Christmas eve/Christmas Day. It's a great little hotel away from the busy airport but not too far, it is a short taxi ride away (around £12) or via a shuttle bus (around £5 per person). The hotel is surrounded by nice grounds so it feels more like a country retreat rather than an airport hotel. There is a good range of dining options such as a traditional pub, self serve carverey and more formal ala carte style dining. There is an onsite pool and salon. The staff are efficient and the rooms are ok a good standard although some in need of modernisation. Wheelchair access is really good. Overall a nice welcoming atmosphere, great value for money especially park and stay offers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you very much for takiing the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found our location to be convenient for the airport, also to leave your car with us while you were away. We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Thank you once again and kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here as we live quite a way from gatwick and had a 5am flight so this was an easy option
Very nice hotel
A quick tip - the kettle for tea and coffee in the room is in the wardrobe (it took us a while to find)
The bar and pub are pricy but pretty much hotel prices, but you need a car to go elsewhere if you want to eat / drink
Only downside the hotel's bus stop for the gatwick bus is a bit hard to find if you're not sure where you're going, especially in the dark

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cymraescymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for the airport. We have now changed our shuttle bus provider and the bus comes round and picks the passengers up outside the front door. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We very much hope we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future..
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing