We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BACK AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We keep returning to this hotel, mainly for the wonderful dining experiences that we have in their restaurant.

The hotel is a bit tired, but comfortable and very easy to get to just off of the M23 motorway.

We upgraded to a club room, which was a mistake and not what I would regard as a true 'club' room, as we wanted to use the club lounge during our stay, which was part of the point of booking one.

Unfortunately the club 'lounge' does not actually have any 'lounge' area, just 2 sets of tables and chairs, a small kitchen area, and a computer desk. It was very poorly heated and had the previous days newspapers - but none of the current day.

It may be a metaphor for, the decor is yesterdays - so the papers are as well! Even reception seemed embarassed about the fact that there was no 'lounge' area, which maybe says it all.

If we lived more locally we would avoid booking the hotel and just dine there often but the hotel is ok - although I do not recommend upgrading - and the breakfasts are also very good

Room Tip: Avoid booking a Club Room as they are not worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are very sorry you felt disappointed with the club room and the facilities available in the club lounge although we were very glad to note you enjoyed the dining experience and also your breakfast here at the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick. Please be assured we are currently addressing the matter of updating our rooms, which we are aware may be seen as old fashioned by some guests.
We sincerely hope you will visit us again in the near future and all the staff look forward to your return stay.
Thank you once again for your review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

I booked one night in this hotel on a bed and breakfast deal when attending a wedding locally. I have got to say that for £48 (£8 which was going to the government) I was not expecting too much, but it was only for a night and saved a long drive home.
Well I must say it is probably the best value hotel I have ever stayed at. Admittedly we arrived late but were greeted by very friendly reception staff, who kindly upgraded us to a very pleasant, quiet, king bedded room. A great nights sleep was followed the next day with a perfectly adequate, leisurely breakfast. Everywhere seemed neat, clean and efficiently run. Checked out, again with a pleasant young man on reception, who new how to treat departing guests. Well done to all concerned

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us.       We were very glad to read that you received a nice welcome from our staff and also that you found your accommodation and facilities to be comfortable and good value for money.     Thank you once again for taking the time to thank us for the hospitality shown.Hope to see you again soon.Kindest regardsGuest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise for valentines day for my girlfriend and I. Being a special trip I was anxious at which hotel to pick but was glad I picked the right one!
From the moment we arrived we were greeted with very professional and friendly staff. We were shown to our room and on our way we were introduced to the restaurant manager of the Lion d'or where we had our dinner reservations and were assured our table was ready for us. Our room was luxurious, imaculate and smelt clean and fresh. The room had a large bed which was very comfy - almost too comfy as neither of us wanted to get out of it the next morning! The room was quiet with all the things you would expect including t.v, wifi, mini fridge, dressing area, table and chairs etc. The bathroom was spotless - this is always something I check first when staying at a hotel and again was finished to a high standard.

Having put our luggage in our room we returned to the restaurant for our meal and were just as impressed. Again the staff were professional and friendly and seated us straight away and brought us a glass of complimentary champagne and a rose! We felt very welcomed and relaxed the entire time.

Throughout the evening the service from the staff was top and they made sure that we had everything we wanted. The quality of the food was incredible from the starter right through to dessert and the presentation of the meal was equally as impressive.

All in all, the hotel and staff were fantastic and we will definitely be returning again.

Thank-you to all the staff for making our valentines perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 318jay318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your splendid review of our hotel following your stay with us on Valentine's Night. We were so glad to read every aspect of our stay went well, from your accommodation to your special dinner in the Lion D'Or.
It was very kind of you to take such care with your review and of course we hope to welcome you both back very soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Booked this hotel for less than £60 b&b. I was not expecting luxury, but was disappointed to be put in a dingy room at the back of the hotel next to a noisy boiler room. Requested another quieter room and was given one close to reception. The room was less dingy, but still dated; however it was not less noisy! Had a disastrous night's sleep ahead of an important breakfast meeting in the same hotel Sounded as if the room was under a main staircase - it was! The service at breakfast was limited - no milk on the table and had to ask for tea and toast. Had it not been for excellent, professional and attentive service from restaurant staff the previous evening (5/5) this would have been a miserable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMc383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry you had such a disturbed night having moved rooms, also that the service at breakfast was poor. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff who served you at dinner. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future and thank you once again for your review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have just returned from a trip away, and used the Copthorne Hotel to stay the night before we flew, park our car, and stay the night we returned. We were very impressed with the staff, who were extremely helpful, even on our return when we arrived there at midnight, taking our bags up to the room. Both rooms we stayed in were spacious and comfortable, and breakfast was absolutely delicious.
The price for both nights, and parking was extremely good value, and we would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 409 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mightygirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review following your stays with us before and after your holiday. We were very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for the airport, also that our staff were polite and helpful.
Thank you once again for your complimentary review.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night en route for Gatwick airport the following morning. We paid £44 for a good size double with a superb mattress and soft pillows, it was clean and had everything we needed but I agree with previous reviews that it needs a little updating in places, but that is an amazing price so can't really complain. It is very close to Gatwick airport 10 mins max, the breakfast was good we had it brought to the room as an extra treat. The other thing to mention is the bar and restaurant close quite early and the room service menu is very limited so consider eating before you arrive at the hotel. The staff were efficient and the pool looked great but we didn't have time to use it. We would stay here again as it is such good value and it meant we could get up at 7am instead of 4am so for me that's money well spent. All in all it helped get us in the holiday mood and contributed to a perfect start.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthdarlington66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe possibly the restaurant may have closed earlier owing to the hotel being fairly quiet during that time. Our last orders for the restaurant are normally 10.00 p.m. and bar food is available to 10.30 p.m. We were very pleased to read that you felt we offered good value and enjoyed our close proximity to the airport.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

I used to love this hotel & have stayed here many times over the years but feel its time to find a new retreat. The hotel feels a little run down now as do the rooms (although I understand they are undergoing a refurb). We didn't pay a huge amount as booked through last minute but that's not the point. Our room was dusty & looked slightly unused. No complimentary water & only one bathrobe (housekeeping did bring one though). The bathroom was very clean though & modern. It is January I admit but the hotel was practically empty & very cold! We had to move from the White Swan pub due to imminent frost bite! The Brasserie wasn't open for dinner so bar meals only if you don't fancy the finer dining of the Lion d'Or.
My biggest gripe, however, is having to pay for the privilege of parking my car in their car park! £5 a day is excessive I feel.
The pool (LA Fitness, not the hotels) needs major refurbishment! If I was paying to be a member there I wouldn't be very happy!
On the plus side, free wifi & all the staff were very good & very helpful as usual.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMD1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We were very sorry to read you felt disappointed with the standard of your bedroom compared to previous visits. We are currently conducting a refurbishment programme which is being carried out in stages. Please accept our apologies, also for the cold you felt in the White Swan Pub. With regard to parking charges, we have charged £5 for several years now. We do believe this charge is common and in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area.

We do hope you will reconsider returning to us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £58 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing