We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel as advertised”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have a problem with stairs and after finding out here on Trip Advisor that there was no elevator I emailed the manager and was assured that I would be given a room on the ground floor. I did ask if there was an elevator and this question was evaded.
I am glad to see that here now on TA they are being honest about it.

I arrived late at night which meant a 15 pound taxi from the airport.
I was told that the room on the ground floor was not very nice and allocated a room upstairs and told my luggage would be carried up.( perhaps a Priceline room ?).

The room was quaint but grubby. The carpets around the edges were full of dust and the
furniture scratched.

I did not eat in the hotel as left early again in the morning. Fellow guests helped me carry the luggage down the stairs and we shared a taxi back to the airport.

I would never bid on a 4star hotel or in fact any hotel in Gatwick again in case I would be upgraded to this hotel.

Room Tip: Check you room before accepting it, after of course you have struggled up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am very sorry you were allocated an upstairs room when you specifically requested a ground floor, we do not have a passenger lift to the the first floor. Please accept our apologies for this. We do have plenty of rooms on the ground floor, I believe our Front Office wanted to make sure you had a nice room. I am very sorry you found poor cleanliness in the room itself.
May I thank you for your honest review, of course we are very sorry you would not wish to recommend our hotel.
We hope you had a safe journey.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    512
    296
    161
    129
See reviews for
229
772
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had booked 3 rooms and we arrived on the bus from the airport at about 11 p.m. with 3 young children, there was no one on the reception desk and we had to wait several minutes for someone to arrive.

We were not given the best instructions on how to find our rooms but got there eventually. The rooms were a good size and nicely furnished but not very clean.

There was dust on some of the furnishings. The worst bit was the bathroom. The toilet had not been cleaned, the previous resident had urinated in the toilet and not flushed it! Even when it had been flushed it it was not pleasent the bowl had brown limescale under the waterline.

Staff were unfriendly, only a cleaner said good morning.

The breakfast selection was of a reasonable quality but not the best selection I have seen especially for the price.

I would not recomend this hotel.
I would not

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are very sorry you would not recommend the hotel. We have taken up your points regarding cleanliness and poor service at Front Office. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. Please be assured all your comments have been brought to the attention of the management team.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is fine for what you pay. We stayed in a club room in the main building, these rooms are MUCH bigger than the newer rooms. We initially had a newer room but politely phoned back to reception and was moved within minutes to a huge room. £90 for a club room and you can get this cheaper if you book earlier, includes 2 bar drinks, cooked breakfast, health club for a swim and the hotel pays VAT on this, I'm happy with the price and for what you get. Lovely grounds, nice pub within the hotel. One thing is - Reception know that club rooms include drinks vouchers but I had to ask and initially was told no and that needs sorting out by the management. Stayed one night and didn't pay to park just asked for a ticket to get out. They are making money on park and fly so shouldn't be charging the guests not using this facility. Spend more if you want more there are plenty of plush hotels in and around Gatwick.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJLG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review, we were glad to read you enjoyed your room. Yes, when booking a Club room you should be supplied with 2 complimentary welcome drinks vouchers, I am sorry you were not given these automatically. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay and hopefully you will return to us in the future.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Firstly to be charged to park your car at this hotel was a liberty ,we had booked a club room.Having booked in the restaurant for our evening meal we waited one & half hours for our dinner to arrive ,it didn't arrive.There was a problem as there was another function going on & one of the other chefs hadn't turned up.We left feeling sorry for the waiter as most of the other guests were complaining.The local pub fed us & we carried on with our lives.The bedroom was fine but you are locked in on site with there stupid car parking idea.No we will never stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rudinski1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay. We have charged £5 for car parking for several years now, I do believe this is in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area, however, I am very sorry if you were not informed. We are also very sorry you were not able to enjoy your evening meal and ended up going out, please accept our sincere apologies for this most unusual situation. We are naturally very sorry you would not return to us in the future.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This has been our Gatwick Airport overnight hotel of choice for many years and recently we stayed three nights using it as a base to visit friends & family in Sussex. It worked well and we had the nicest room yet. Yes the corridors are very long & there are stairs for your luggage to fight with and for some reason Reception do not always advise you the most convenient route to your room (!), however unlike most hotels near airports it does have some Ye Olde Merry England charm here & there which is quite welcoming if you are either from abroad or have been living away from Blighty for a while. There is a cosy bar that does decent enough bar meals, a larger pub-type area for bigger groups which includes a winter-garden type area, plus outdoor lawn areas, and a more formal restaurant which looks very welcoming although we have yet to eat there. Contrary to the earlier review we have always been very happy with our buffet breakfasts here (it is in a pleasant room and the staff are usually welcoming & obliging). Coffee is not up to Australian standards but hey ho you are in Britain so have to make allowances! The hotel is flexible in regard to car parking: the website does not cover all permutations so do email them if the parking you require does not match your stay & they will quote accordingly. Booking your room well in advance will certainly save you quids & there are B&B packages. There is a regular shuttle service to/from Airport/Hotel should you require it: there is a shuttle timetable on their website that is worth checking as it does not run through the entire night. We will certainly be back at the Copthorne on our next visit.

Room Tip: It's bit of a lottery: there are so many rooms in a maze of corridors! We would suggest you advi...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-and-Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your informative and amusing review following your recent stay with us. We do hope you have had a safe journey home to Australia. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by our staff. You have provided some great information on our hotel for future travellers so thank you very much for that. There is always so much to communicate. We need to come to Australia to try your coffee, it sounds wonderful. We hope you had a great holiday visiting family and enjoyed the Sussex countryside. Hopefully, you will return to us on your next trip. Thank you very much once again for all your comments.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we would certainly recommend this hotel for a good quality nights sleep, its so easy to get to and also very handy for the aph car park which is just down the road. we got a deal through the aph website for 15 nights parking and 1 nights stay it cost us less than £120.00 which we thought was very good. The staff very helpful and friendly. Will certainly be staying here again. the room we had was very clean and spacious, the hotel looks quite small from the outside but its like a tardis on the inside. The hotel is very pracical for what you need.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minstrel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us with parking at our partners, APH. We are only 4 miles from the airport and 2 miles from APH. We hope you had a wonderful holiday and come back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed here for one night with parking included. Club room in main building was probably in need of some refurbishment but was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Stayed for one more night on return from holiday and the club room in the main building was once again slightly shabby but very well equipt. The club rooms we stayed in last year were in the building opposite reception and although they have been refurbished they are quite small and on balance we preferred the larger rooms in the main building. The food and drink is quite expensive but that's to be expected in such a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Club rooms in main building are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were glad to hear you enjoyed both your stays at the hotel with your holiday inbetween. We do hope you had a nice time. Yes, our Club rooms in the main building (room numbers begin with a 6) are larger than the Club rooms across from reception. Once we have completed our refurbishment of our other rooms in the main building we will be starting on the 600 rooms. Thank you very much for your time and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing