We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel was extremely expensive and the food is terrible. In the end i had to dial a pizza to have delivered to the hotel for something to eat.
NEVER staying there again.
You are stuck in the middle of nowhere and if you had been drinking which we had (start of our holiday) there isnt anywhere else to eat. So remember Pizza Hut can deliver

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were very sorry to read you had to send out for a pizza. We normally find our guests are happy with the choice of food and restaurants with the hotel, so we were very sorry to read your comments.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

The good points were the very efficient and professional staff who were extremely helpful, even though the hotel was busy with a wedding event. The major downside is the long walk to rooms along very tired oudated corridors to a room verging on the depressing. Then again at £56 I suppose you could say we got what we paid for, there was no working aircon but luckily the night we stayed it wasn't too warm.

Agree with some other reviewers that I think charging you £5 a day parking even when a guest is a bit of a cheek.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajb693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are glad you felt we provided value for money and that you had a comfortable stay. We are currently undergoing a bedroom refurbishment which is being carried out in stages, we have now completed 60 rooms. I am sorry you felt the parking charge of £5 is unwarranted, however, we do believe this charge is in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area and being so close to the airport we need to monitor our carpark closely.
Thank you once again for your review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently with my husband for a family event. "Special deals" had been negotiated. Transpired not very special at all as everyone else seems to have paid half what we did! You pay extra for parking ( nice touch!), our first room was like something from Fawlty Towers! There was a big clean square in the wall with perfect black marks around it and a screw hanging out where obviously a picture had once lived but had made a dash for it and escaped out of the broken window. Lucky picture. There was also a big clearly empty space where something had nice been, as yet again there was a very obvious tide mark on the wall, some screws which were still in the wall which had been panted over and a dirty carpet which was so old, faded and tatty it seemed a shame to step on it as it was clearly vintage and obviously worth a lot of money because there is no other reason why it would have been kept.
The excitement of it all after opening the non working dirty fridge culminated in me needing the loo, so I walked in and was quite surprised by the large, fairly modern bathroom. Nice seated I then noticed the bl00dy great panel missing from the vanity suite in front of me. It was so obvious it was outstanding! Then I looked down and saw a tile from the bath hanging off onto the floor at a nice dangerous angle full of lovely sharp edges just waiting to bite you when you got out of the shower. There was something else wrong with the bathroom too but to be honest by this point I just decided to tell the reception in case they thought we had trashed the place and charged us for it. I went back to reception with a trend heart, as the 30 min wait and 20 min check in was not something I was looking forward to repeating, but actually they were very good and we moved across to the " club suite" ( ahem ). The good bit about this was the coffee machine and biscuits you could use. The bad; our room was in dire need of a good lick of paint, a carpet wash, some basic repairs ( the drawer wasn't held together and fell out onto my foot ), and a couple of extra square feet which would have allowed me to manoeuvre my way past the photographer with the worlds widest angle lens and get not bed.
Breakfast ( for just £13.99!!) is probably best given a wide berth if you are expecting great things. It was ok, but if you are going to serve pastries, please let them be fresh and not dry and stale. If you are going to refrigerate your fresh fruit please turn it up a couple of degrees. it was so cold it was physically painful to eat. So I didn't.
The public areas are beautifully maintained and the flowers and grounds are very pretty, but the pub attached was tired and outdated and looked like a spit and sawdust pub which you would only refer to people you hated. We walked across to the gym past a duck with a broken leg, a fence with a broken panel tied up with fluorescent orange tape, what were clearly the staff quarters as they were were in such a shameful state of disrepair this is where my humour leaves. How dare you as an employer let your staff live in such appalling conditions? If you had half a brain you would at least make a vague effort to tidy up the bits the guests walk past!!! Absolutely shocking.
I would never stay here again and would never recommend it. Truly shocking. Don't be fooled by the nice pictures.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavethedogChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your informative and constructive review following your recent stay with us. We are extremely sorry you have needed to bring so many points to our attention. Please be assured the management team at the hotel have been circulated with your comments and we wish to thank you most sincerely for bringing these matters to our attention.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here on the 10th July 2013 for an overnight stay and parking for one week
as we had an early flight to Gatwick the following day.
The price we paid was £63 as a mystery hotel, which you don't find out where it is until you
pay but we were pleasantly surprised.
The staff were welcoming and a lovely guy was very helpful when we arrived and explained
what we did. We had an evening meal there which wasn't cheap, but when it arrived it was
very tasty.
The next morning we booked a taxi (Roadrunners) to the airport which cost us £9.50 for a 7-9 mile journey, and they collected us when we rang them on our return which again was excellent.
You could not fault the whole package. If we fly from Gatwick again we would do the same
without hesitation. Well done to all and thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeybaby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us prior to your holiday. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt we offered good value for money, also that you would return in the future.
I hope you had a most enjoyable holiday.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was our second visit, and although the rooms are very dated, it was a handy place to park before our holiday, with reasonable prices. However, when we arrived this time, there was a problem finding our car keys, and after 30 mins the receptionist asked my husband to wait while he served the queue of people waiting! He said he would...provided he got someone else to help find the keys!! It took 3 of them to eventually find the keys, and when we went to collect the car, it had been parked under a tree for a fortnight, and was covered in black baked on, birds/ squirrel muck! I went back to complain, as we couldn't even open the window to exit, as it was so bad. Eventually, the manager appeared, and apologised and offered a complimentary breakfast while it was cleaned. Unfortunately, after a 10 hour flight and already having breakfast, you just want to get home! We declined their offer...
May I suggest that if the hotel insists on parking customers cars under trees, they at least make sure they are clean when due to be collected!
We will not be using this hotel & parking facility again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimborghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are very sorry you suffered such inconvenience when you returned from your holiday. It is very unusual for us not to be able to locate a guest's car keys immediately, we will definitely look into this as we do have a strict procedure in place. Unfortunately, parts of our car park are lined with trees and bird droppings can be a problem at this time of the year, although you were delayed I was glad to read we were able to clean your car for you.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stopped over for 1 night before catching a flight from Gatwick. I had found this as a mystery hotel, once I had paid I was given the name. I then read some of the previous reviews!What a pleasant surprise to find that either we were extremely lucky or things have improved remarkably. The welcome was warm and efficient, the rooms were immaculate and the ambiance was that of a quality establishment. We ate and drank in the garden of The White Swan which is attached. The food was good pub grub. The breakfast the next day was worth the money, especially if you have a long days travelling, as we did. The rooms were spacious clean and inviting.

1  Thank stuklock
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your recent review, we were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay prior to your holiday, also that we provided good value for money and close proximity to the airport. We very much hope you will return in the future and hope you had a wonderful holiday.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here overnight whilst on business in the area - booking in was busy but the staff were efficient and friendly, the room was a bit of a hike away but clean and tidy and of a reasonable size. Food wise there is a main restaurant which was a bit out of my expenses range - but it looked ok, there is pub food next door (on the complex) - posh burgers etc and a buffet restaurant - the hotel caters for coaches so this may not be open every evening - there was a coach party due when i went so it was open and i had a cracking 3 course meal for under £20, just got to say that the staff in there were excellent. I guess the downside with staying there would be if you were not aware that there is a £5 charge for parking and that breakfast is extra (around £14). (TIP - check to see if the barrier is up or down before you pay the parking charge)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silfinfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and also your evening meal. We do offer breakfast if it is pre booked for the price of £8.99. With regard to charging for car parking, we do believe our charges are in line with other hotels in the area, the charge is advertised on our website.
Thank you once again for your informative review.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £56 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing