We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon (sort of!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here following our wedding just for a couple of days (main honeymoon next June) as it is our favourite local hotel. We stayed in a suite which was worth every penny! A shame though is the disconnection of the spa baths due to 'health & safety reasons' which is a shame. A lovely dinner in the Lion d'or restaurant was our first night choice & the 3 course set menu is very reasonable. Our welcome drink vouchers were made use of too!
My only other criticism is the front desk staff could be a bit more attentive as we, & others, were often ignored for a period of time. Other than that a lovely few days were enjoyed by us both. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMD1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us after your wedding. Many belated congratulations, we hope you had a wonderful day. We were so glad to read how much you enjoyed your short honeymoon with us, also your dinner in our Lion D'Or restaurant. We were sorry our Front Office staff did not appear to be as attentive as they should be, we have passed your comments on to the Manager concerned. We do hope to welcome you back again soon, even though you live so close to the airport, may be come and stay again next year before your real honeymoon !
Kindest regards and very best wishes to you both
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel generally, represents a good level of standards, though, after visiting few other rooms (we travelled as a group), quality can vary between rooms.
Rooms are clean, service friendly and efficient. Location is nice, close to Gatwick, but far away from all noise, that can almost guarantee good night's sleep.
The only thing that slightly disappointed me was size of dinner portions - they were tiny!
Breakfast buffet great though :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Yes, owing to the nature of our lovely building which has been extended over the years, our bedroom sizes do vary a little, however, many have beams and are very cosy. We are sorry you found the portion sizes small, we have passed your comments on to our chef. We hope to welcome you back next time you are travelling from Gatwick.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely setting close to Gatwick .Food stayed overnight flying on holiday the next day. We had parking for 8 nights which was fine.
Room was clean and overlooked a pretty garden .
I agree with other reviews about bar prices. 2 large glasses of wine was £13!

We had the buffet dinner there with a bottle of wine the bill was over £50!
The food was not great barely average but we had checked in late and after a long drive and as we didn't know the area we didn't want to drive out looking for another better quality restaurant.
A captive audience!
On the plus side the staff were very friendly its close to Gatwick and it was in a very pretty setting with lovely gardens and a pond.
Oh the website it shows a "hotel pool" which is in fact an LA fitness centre and is about 50 yards outside the hotel !
The website doesn't mention this .
Food too expensive drink too expensive


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue8Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you felt our food and drink was expensive, although we are more expensive than local pubs we do believe our prices are in line with other hotels in the area. I am very sorry if the location of our Health Club which is operated by L A Fitness was not made clear to you. As you mentioned, it is a walk outside to reach the club. We do hope you had a most enjoyable holiday and that you will consider returning to us in the future.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

stayed 1 night before flying early next morning very busy hotel but our room was very nice small but fine for 1 night stay very comfortable and very clean lovely bathroom had nice meal in bar that evening made our flight next morning very relaxing no rushing up the M25 worried you would get caught in a traffic jam and be late for the flight. Reception staff very polite and helpful booked us a taxi for next morning taxi was waiting for us when we came down to reception next morning cost £9 very efficient we will definetly stay again when we fly from Gatwick next year

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for the airport. It is a great idea to stay in a hotel before your holiday and not worry about the traffic ! We hope to welcome you back next time and thank you once again.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was here on business and had a faultless stay. I was really impressed with the way I was greeted by the check in staff who were friendly and very helpful. The room was a good size with good decor and very clean and comfortable. In spite of the hotel being full to capacity staff had the time to smile and greet me where ever I went. Stopped in the buffet restaurant and was greeted by Ionut the head waiter who was probably the friendliest waiter (and team) I have met in the last few years. Ionut and his team checked everynow and again that I was ok and that I was enjoying my meal, I have never had so much attention! Food was of an excellent standard with several choices and as much salad as you can eat to start. I used the Gym the next morning (which was complimentory) with my one night stay and it has everything you need. Finally went for breakfast and Ionut and his team were brilliant once again. Can't speak highly enough of this hotel, greta value too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review following your stay with us. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your stay and were so well looked after by our staff. Ionut is one of our most valued employees, as his name is difficult to say we call him Jonny, he doesnt mind.
We are glad you also enjoyed the gym. Hopefully, we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and thank you once again for your review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Says it all above really. The rooms are so dated it is just not true. The bar prices are so expensive it boggles the mind. That said the car park was fine and we got our car back fine after ten days away. To have to pay for the taxi to the airport but it is only about £10.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We were glad to read you felt the hotel offered good value and parking facilities and only a short distance from the airport. We are very sorry you felt the bar prices were so high, your comments have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager. Yes, we believe our taxi prices are very reasonable as provided by a local company, Road Runners. We do hope you will consider returning to us next time.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked the hotel at a discount price for a one night stay. We were a group of 10 women on an adventure weekend away celebrating a birthday. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were adequate for our stay, the only issue was that we were not all together but we never let this spoil our stay. The food was very nice and reasonable. We were a bit disappointed that one of the bars closed early. I would consider staying in the hotel again if ever we book another adventure weekend away but only if we could get the discounted price again.

Room Tip: Corner suites have more space
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We do hope you had a great weekend with your friends on the adventure weekend. Next time we will do our best to allocate you rooms together, please do come back to us when you are planning another weekend. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the pub bar. If our White Swan Pub closes then the Library Bar will always stay open for residents. Thank you once again for your nice comments and we hope to welcome you and your friends back soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £58 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing