We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Nearby Hotels
Regency Hotel Gatwick(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,780)
Filter reviews
1,780 results
Traveller rating
491
604
343
188
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
604
343
188
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion d'orlibrary barwhite swanhealth clubtaxi servicecar parkinglondon gatwickdays parkingshuttle busbuffet stylestayed here for one nightstandard roomlong haul flightpre flight staypark and flyan overnight staynight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
1,062 - 1,067 of 1,780 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for one night before our holiday departing from Gatwick Airport and one night on our return. We left our car parked at the hotel whilst we were away.
Our check in was fairly smooth and we were pleasantly surprised when shown to our room, we had booked a family room as our son was with us. The room was spacious with a double bed and a 'proper' single bed (instead of the usual pull out sofa) it was also clean and comfortable.
Unfortunately the rest of the hotel let the side down, over priced and some of the staff were snooty.

We ate in the buffet restaurant where the food was disappointing and expensive for what was available.
We opted for the spiced squash soup to start............it tasted and looked like mushroom soup.
As a vegetarian I was very disappointed in my food option - pasta in a mushroom sauce that tasted very similar to the squash (mushroom) soup!
This is a meal that I can prepare at home for less than £1 ........a chef's lazy vegetarian meal!
My husband and son were also disappointed with their meal, pork chops and roast vegetables swimming in oil!
We also felt that there were too many staff stood around in the restaurant, we felt they were ready to pounce!

We did not have breakfast included in our stay and decided not to pay the ridiculous charge of£11/£12 per person for it as our meal on the previous evening had been so poor.

After our week away we returned to the hotel, it was midnight, we had been travelling all day and were exhausted. We checked in, the man on reception tried to get me to complete a form so that I could leave my car there for a week, (even though I had already been parked there for a week) and were taken to our room, the radiators were on, the room must have been 30 degrees. We had to open all of the windows.
We switched on the TV but could not turn the volume down, we called reception who sent a man to help, he couldn't fix it so we couldn't watch it because it was so loud. It may not seem that important but we needed to unwind before retiring to bed.

Outside our room we found the doors were narrow and heavy. A real struggle with suitcases. There were lots of stairs to climb to get to our room, again, difficult with lots of luggage. We did have a porter on our second visit but we're not offered one on our first.

Overall a nice hotel but over priced.
Improve the food, and some of the staff.

We are always happy to pay good money for good food and service.

Like most people we just want value for money and don't feel like we received it here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent informative and constructive review, it is much appreciated. We were pleased to read you were happy with your family room on your initial stay however, very sorry you felt so disappointed with the quality of food and the standard of service. I am very sorry if we were not given the opportunity to replace your meals and also that you decided not to have breakfast. If breakfast is pre-booked on check in the cost is Your comments will have been noted by our chef. Please also accept our apologies regarding your return stay. I am afraid the majority of our family rooms are upstairs, we are also very sorry about the problem with your television. We would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post sucha an honest and informative review. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Found this hotel as a 'deal' for accommodation and parking. Ideally situated to get to airport to catch an early flight.
Efficient staff on desk to deal with checking in and completion for forms for car parking.
Difficulty in finding parking space as it was extremely busy.
Large comfy bed in a clean bedroom. Bathroom very clean.
The only trouble was the noise from the next bedroom - occupants had left their dog in the room and it was barking. Not the ideal situation if you have to be up bright and early the following morning.
We arranged for taxi to take us to airport the following morning - this arrived on time and the transfer was hassle free (£9.00 one way).
Will use this hotel again if we need to fly from Gatwick again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceini0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your overall stay, however, we were very sorry to read you were disturbed by a dog. This is most unusual as we do not allow dogs to stay in the hotel, only guide dogs. Please be assured we will investigate this matter further. We were very glad other areas of your stay were satisfactory.
Very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed in the nearby Effingham Copthorne previously which is very dated and tired. This Gatwick Copthorne is definately better. The public areas are rather nice - old beams and exposed brickwork with soft lighting creating a cosy ambience. However - our room was disappointing. We had a suite which was very plain and basic with a tiny, old fashioned, basic bathroom, an empty mini bar,DIRTY carpet. and a tiny double bed - how ridiculous. A suite should have a generous bed. Still better overall than the Copthorne Millenium Effingham so we will probably stay again if we need to be in that area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipsticklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel but so sorry you were disappointed with your room. I am wondering which room or suite you had. Our three main suites have four poster beds, a separte living room and very nice, well equipped bathroom. We are so sorrry you were disappointed. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment programme of bedrooms, we have now completed over half our room total. We have had some excellent feedback.
We very much appreciate the time taken to post a review,
With many thanks and best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After some research we decided on the package offered by the copthorne hotel.. The package included evening meal breakfast one nights accommodation and 25 days holiday parking.
The room was well presented a little too warm but scrupulously clean, The included evening meal provided a good choice with vegetarian alternatives and available at two venues within the hotel complex which also had a swimming pool and health spa. This is a brilliant way to start a holiday.
The breakfast catered for every taste and as much as you can eat.

Room Tip: ask for the luxury room which includes breakfast
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godfrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay including meals and car parking. Your feedfack is very valuable to us, thank you.
We hope you will return to us next time and hope you had a fantastic, long holiday.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly fine, but personally I would only choose to stay here if you're flying out of Gatwick and need somewhere to stay. The hotel is clean, but the decor is dated. Although this may have been influenced by the fact we were a fairly large 'corporate' function, the food was not great at all. I would recommend driving to a local pub.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirps9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were sorry to read our hotel fell short of your expectations regarding the accommodation and food. We will certainly pass your comments on to our chef. Regarding the updating of our facilities, we are currently in the process of refurbishing our rooms and have now almost completed 50%. Corporate functions and conferences are a very important part of our business, we are very sorry you felt somewhat disappointed and wish to thank you for your feedback.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews