We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but,,,,,,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 13 November 2013

for a four star hotel for one night it was an ok stay, however room was like a sauna and to get to it was a route march up stairs along corridor down stairs all because of works being done, just as well i did not have a problem with stairs, would have been nice to have been informed of the difficulties at reception, as for the bar and pub, very expensive, would stay again but would ask if it were possible to turn the heating off. stayed sept 30th 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weijie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am so sorry your room was so hot and a long walk from reception. We have been doing some refurbishment work which is now completed. This involved walking a further distance to some rooms, we are very sorry you were not advised or possibly offered a ground floor room. I do hope you will consider returning to us in the future, thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Well, night 1 of 2, look at the photos! Room cold but I dare not turn up the heating because I am sure I would be electrocuted. No panel, just a gaping silicone edge. Talking about silicone, look at the tap scum picture with lovely silicone edging. Jacuzzi bath does not work or empty!!! I will leave that for the cleaners to work out tomorrow. Tiles mouldy, no extra bedding or pillows. TV SCREEN wobbles. Overall the worst £150 I will have spent in a long time. My advice - look elsewhere

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for you recent review following your stay with us. We were very sorry to read how disappointed you were with your bathroom and heating. We have noted your comments and photos. Please accept our apologies. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme and the block of rooms where your room is located is the next area to be refurbished. Unfortunately, we recently had to disconnect our jacuzzi baths from a health and safety point of view. We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for the benefit of other travellers.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed for one night on way to Gatwick,check in was efficient and quick, room was ok but it all looks a bit tired. When you think of the Copthorne you think of high standards and a bit of luxury but I have to say the reception area was the best part with its big leather comfy chairs and sofa's.There is a restaurant on site but is very expensive. There is a less formal bar area that sells food and that was ok but can get quite busy. Cost us £54 for starter and main for 4( 2 of them were children's meals).

The beauty of this hotel is that you can leave the car in their car park if you are jetting off from Gatwick. I left mine for 2 weeks and it was fine.This is the 2nd time we have done this and stayed overnight, but I will probably try one of the on site hotels with parking next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jools2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are sorry you felt disappointed with your room and that you found the prices charged for your meal were expensive. We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms and have completed over half our total number of rooms, including our family rooms. We do try to provide a good food choice for families with our two pub bars and the Brasserie Restaurant. We hope you will return to us next time as you have stayed before, generally most of our guests feel we offer a competitive price for accommodation and parking, so we do hope you will return.
Thank you very much for taking the time to post an informative review.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for one night before our holiday departing from Gatwick Airport and one night on our return. We left our car parked at the hotel whilst we were away.
Our check in was fairly smooth and we were pleasantly surprised when shown to our room, we had booked a family room as our son was with us. The room was spacious with a double bed and a 'proper' single bed (instead of the usual pull out sofa) it was also clean and comfortable.
Unfortunately the rest of the hotel let the side down, over priced and some of the staff were snooty.

We ate in the buffet restaurant where the food was disappointing and expensive for what was available.
We opted for the spiced squash soup to start............it tasted and looked like mushroom soup.
As a vegetarian I was very disappointed in my food option - pasta in a mushroom sauce that tasted very similar to the squash (mushroom) soup!
This is a meal that I can prepare at home for less than £1 ........a chef's lazy vegetarian meal!
My husband and son were also disappointed with their meal, pork chops and roast vegetables swimming in oil!
We also felt that there were too many staff stood around in the restaurant, we felt they were ready to pounce!

We did not have breakfast included in our stay and decided not to pay the ridiculous charge of£11/£12 per person for it as our meal on the previous evening had been so poor.

After our week away we returned to the hotel, it was midnight, we had been travelling all day and were exhausted. We checked in, the man on reception tried to get me to complete a form so that I could leave my car there for a week, (even though I had already been parked there for a week) and were taken to our room, the radiators were on, the room must have been 30 degrees. We had to open all of the windows.
We switched on the TV but could not turn the volume down, we called reception who sent a man to help, he couldn't fix it so we couldn't watch it because it was so loud. It may not seem that important but we needed to unwind before retiring to bed.

Outside our room we found the doors were narrow and heavy. A real struggle with suitcases. There were lots of stairs to climb to get to our room, again, difficult with lots of luggage. We did have a porter on our second visit but we're not offered one on our first.

Overall a nice hotel but over priced.
Improve the food, and some of the staff.

We are always happy to pay good money for good food and service.

Like most people we just want value for money and don't feel like we received it here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent informative and constructive review, it is much appreciated. We were pleased to read you were happy with your family room on your initial stay however, very sorry you felt so disappointed with the quality of food and the standard of service. I am very sorry if we were not given the opportunity to replace your meals and also that you decided not to have breakfast. If breakfast is pre-booked on check in the cost is Your comments will have been noted by our chef. Please also accept our apologies regarding your return stay. I am afraid the majority of our family rooms are upstairs, we are also very sorry about the problem with your television. We would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post sucha an honest and informative review. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Found this hotel as a 'deal' for accommodation and parking. Ideally situated to get to airport to catch an early flight.
Efficient staff on desk to deal with checking in and completion for forms for car parking.
Difficulty in finding parking space as it was extremely busy.
Large comfy bed in a clean bedroom. Bathroom very clean.
The only trouble was the noise from the next bedroom - occupants had left their dog in the room and it was barking. Not the ideal situation if you have to be up bright and early the following morning.
We arranged for taxi to take us to airport the following morning - this arrived on time and the transfer was hassle free (£9.00 one way).
Will use this hotel again if we need to fly from Gatwick again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceini0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your overall stay, however, we were very sorry to read you were disturbed by a dog. This is most unusual as we do not allow dogs to stay in the hotel, only guide dogs. Please be assured we will investigate this matter further. We were very glad other areas of your stay were satisfactory.
Very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed in the nearby Effingham Copthorne previously which is very dated and tired. This Gatwick Copthorne is definately better. The public areas are rather nice - old beams and exposed brickwork with soft lighting creating a cosy ambience. However - our room was disappointing. We had a suite which was very plain and basic with a tiny, old fashioned, basic bathroom, an empty mini bar,DIRTY carpet. and a tiny double bed - how ridiculous. A suite should have a generous bed. Still better overall than the Copthorne Millenium Effingham so we will probably stay again if we need to be in that area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipsticklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel but so sorry you were disappointed with your room. I am wondering which room or suite you had. Our three main suites have four poster beds, a separte living room and very nice, well equipped bathroom. We are so sorrry you were disappointed. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment programme of bedrooms, we have now completed over half our room total. We have had some excellent feedback.
We very much appreciate the time taken to post a review,
With many thanks and best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After some research we decided on the package offered by the copthorne hotel.. The package included evening meal breakfast one nights accommodation and 25 days holiday parking.
The room was well presented a little too warm but scrupulously clean, The included evening meal provided a good choice with vegetarian alternatives and available at two venues within the hotel complex which also had a swimming pool and health spa. This is a brilliant way to start a holiday.
The breakfast catered for every taste and as much as you can eat.

Room Tip: ask for the luxury room which includes breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godfrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay including meals and car parking. Your feedfack is very valuable to us, thank you.
We hope you will return to us next time and hope you had a fantastic, long holiday.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing