We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot & Cold” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
285 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Hot & Cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Very mixed impressions of this hotel based on my most recent stay.
The Swan pub was freezing cold. Plus when my husband was in the middle of ordering the bar man accepted a personal call on his mobile and had a chat.
Our room had no cold water. None. Not from the shower or the tap. I told reception and when I hadn't heard anything went down to the desk. I was advised it couldn't be fixed. I said that the water was too scalding to shower nor could we even have a drink of water. The chap on reception said "I can offer you a room change OR a complimentary bottle of water". He was actually being serious. However as I didn't fancy third degree burns I accepted the room change. Incidentally this didn't have cold water in the morning either. Sort the plumbing out!!
Aside from watergate we enjoyed our stay. We ate in the Lion D'Or, which I have reviewed separately. Always a lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andi_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We have noted your comments about the bar staff and are currently ascertaining which staff member it was he spoke on their mobile phone. It is against our rules to have your mobile with you on duty. We are very, very sorry about the problems we have had recently regarding the hot and cold water supply, please accept our apologies. This problem has since been rectified. We were very glad to read you enjoyed the Lion D'Or Restaurant. Hopefully, we may look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    507
    291
    159
    128
See reviews for
224
766
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at lots of airport hotels at Gatwick including the hideous russ Hill, the average skyline, the good Cambridge hotel but the Copthorne wins by far for me. Comfy large rooms, comfortable beds, good friendly service, I had room service and the food was excellent. My only slight gripe is that the shuttle to the airport only runs once an hour. Every half an hour would be better. Also a proper bus that can hold 30 people or so rather than a taxi that only holds 6so if you dont book it you are stuffed would make sense. apart from that no complaints. Would I stay again? 99% yes but would be 100% with a half hourly instead of hourly shuttle. Saying that a taxi to the airports only a tenner so probably a better option! Well done Copthorne though. Nice to find a decent quality Airport hotel for a change.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your complimentary review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and surroundings. Thank you very much for all your comments. We have taken note of your comments regarding the shuttle bus, currently we find an hourly service suits the needs of most guests. As you say, a taxi is £9.50 which will get you to the airport very quickly, if there are two people travelling in the taxi this is a cost effective option.
Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Having visited the hotel earlier this year and stayed in an average room, we returned this month for another stay. This time the rooms were much nicer and the food in the restaurant was again lovely.

Overall this is a very nice hotel, particularly for airport proximity. It has a lovely atmosphere and we would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your return stay with us and enjoyed your room and your meals. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future, thank you once again for taking the time to post a review.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for just one night as we were using their stay and park facility for the duration of our holiday, flying from Gatwick.

The reception staff dealt with our arrival quickly and efficiently and we were soon in our room. Small but cosy and good for a short stay. Bed was comfortable, bathroom spotless. We found the food prices on the high side but we were a captive audience! Chose the Brasserie option at £16.50 for two courses and a bottle of very poor house red costing £20 which certainly wasn't value for money. Bar prices for a drink after dinner were also high.

We used local taxi service Roadrunners for the Gatwick Airport run, again they were quick to arrive both times and a sensible price.

On our return, collection of our car was quick and easy and the car was just as we left it. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolacombelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your ineresting and constructive review. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your all round experience at the hotel. Hopefully, you have also had a lovely holiday. We are also glad your transfers to the airport went well. Do come back very soon !
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A first class hotel in a parkland setting. A big surprise for us was that despite its proximinity to Gatwick Airport we only heard one aeroplane fly over.
We had booked in to attend a family wedding at nearby Worth Abbey. Panic ensued when my wife found that the safety pin on her dress had broken. We explained our difficulty to the lady at the Front Desk who handed us a pin from the desk drawer.Sadly it was not big enough so she took off her neck scarf undid her pin and gave it to us. She deserves a star. We did not catch her name but she was on Front Desk Duty at noon on 22nd November so it would be easy to identify her. [ She also speaks Russian.]
We also had a problem with our parking ticket which slid in behind the windscreen shelf and down into the engine somewhere. We were concerned because a notice on the wall said that there was a fee of £50 for lost tickets. We expressed our concern to Patryck, the Duty Manager who smiled at us and told us to use the same ticket to leave thecar park. There was no charge.
This may sound like a litany of praise but the full english breakfast next day was excellent and the dining room staff exceedingly helpful Our only surprise and disappoinment was with the toast making machines. Both were frustratingly slow -like several minutes- and one of them only worked on two of the four slots to put the bread into. Not a problem for us as we chatted with other guests at the table but had the dinning room had more diners it would have been.
We had only come to attend a family wedding. We will certainly come again.

Room Tip: We had a twin bedded room.The two beds were unusually large and comfortable. I am over six foot but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We are so glad you found our staff on our Front Desk so helpful, many thanks for your comments. All feedback is viewed by our Managers so our Front Desk Manager will be complimenting his staff. We hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding. We are aware our toasters are not working as well and quickly as they should, so our apologies for this, I confirm the matter is being addressed.
Hopefully we will welcome you back again very soon. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for the benefit of other travellers.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having stayed here numerous times before we knew we were going to a lovely hotel, I recommend this hotel always to family and friends when ever they are flying from gatwick, it's the perfect start to a holiday, staff are always so helpful and courteous and really go out of their way for you, have had a drink in all the bars and have eaten in their restaurants and I can say I find the hotel faultless it's extremely well maintained and run, has a lovely British traditional feel with log fires burning and a great bar and restaurant menu, parking is a easy process , relax and enjoy the start of your holiday and some people don't just look for faults!! Your on your holiday ! To the staff and management well done your doing a fantastic job .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your nice words about our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoy the surroundings of the hotel. Thank you very much for recommending us to friends and family. We hope you have had a lovely holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest regards and thank you once again,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great hotel.. Great staff...! For me it was about listening to a customers feedback and thats exactly what they did with me. I made a complaint about the first time I stayed at the hotel. The responded to me the very next day in a positive manner without making any excuses. Since then I've stayed at the hotel twice and it's been great.. They even let me check in early than normal time to suit my needs

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalps P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review following your return stay with us. We were so glad to read you were well looked after by our staff and our customer relations department. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time and thank you for taking the time to post a review with your feedback and comments.
With very best wishes and hope to see you again soon,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing