We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Nearby Hotels
Regency Hotel Gatwick(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,778)
Filter reviews
1,778 results
Traveller rating
491
603
343
188
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
603
343
188
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion d'orlibrary barwhite swanhealth clubtaxi servicecar parkinglondon gatwickdays parkingshuttle busbuffet stylestayed here for one nightstandard roomlong haul flightpre flight staypark and flyan overnight staynight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
1,028 - 1,033 of 1,778 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick for my 22nd birthday with my boyfriend.

I loved my stay here was a lovely quiet hotel with lovely grounds to walk around. I love older hotels as they have the original and lovely atmosphere all around.
We were very lucky to get one of the newly re furbished rooms and it was in a quiet area of the hotel. It was so quite and peaceful for a short stay here.

The meal we had on the night we were there was lovely we ate at the the white swan pub within the hotel and the food was to die for. I had haddock and chips and it had a lovely flavour and I truly recommend it. Also the prices were not to expensive and definitely value for money.

The breakfast we had was delicious and had a wide range of continental and cooked breakfast. It has to be the best breakfast I have had at a hotel.

Overall my stay here was lovely and I definitely would stay here again. Such a lovely hotel. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay to celebrate your birthday. We are so glad you had such a nice time and some lovely memories, you appear to have enjoyed every aspect of your stay including your meal. Hopefully, you will return soon.
Thank you once again for your nice comments and wishing you a Happy New Year.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for one night using their park and fly package deal, which was excellent value.
Above-average reception staff (Sophie and Simon I think) gave us a warm and friendly welcome. Our room was a long way from the reception area, but was clean and comfortable.
We didn't eat in the hotel.
Transport to Gatwick is by mini bus (one per hour) or taxi. Bus was on time on the outward journey, but didn't turn up on our return, eventually arriving 55 minutes late and after three calls to the office. This is NOT the hotel's fault - the bus company isn't run by them. Next time we'll take a taxi!

Room Tip: Request a room near Reception if you have mobility problems - some rooms are a long walk away!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myhusbandandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your review and your nice words about Sophie and Simon, two of our valued staff who are part of our Front Office team. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, only sorry you had to wait so long for transport from the airport. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to welcome you back next year.
Happy Christmas,
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was such a good deal that we had to book. We then read the poor reviews and wondered what we had let ourselves in for. No need to worry and no idea what negative reviewers were on about! Did they stay at a different hotel? The room and facilities were excellent. They staff were exemplary. Our return flight was delayed for 24 hours. This caused no problem whatsoever and our key and car were waiting for us when we eventually returned. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Don't know about the room choice. Ours was fine. Do take your swimsuits. The health club was a great bonus and had a snack bar.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay and everything worked out well for your holiday. Do please come back in 2014 !
Wishing you a Happy Christmas and Best Wishes for the New Year
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We occasionally fly from Norway to Gatwick and find arriving at the idyllic Copthorne Hotel almost like entering a new world after the hustle and bustle of busy Gatwick Airport. We are always impressed by the efficent, helpful and well-trained hotel staff from the moment we enter the intimate and serene interior of the hotel. Breakfast and buffet dinners are served in the spacious Brasserie whilst the Lion d'Or restaurant offers a gourmet menu in a quiet, attractive setting. Sandwiches and small snacks are available throughout the day in the cosy Lounge Bar. The hotel also incorporates a small pub "The Black Swan" opposite a picturesque duck pond. On our recent visit we stayed in a refurbished standard double room, comfortably furnished and kept impeccably clean by the daily service. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter KB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice and interesting review. We are so glad you enjoy the hotel and surroundings away from the busy airport. It is really nice when we receive comments from guests who travel from other countries, so thank you very much. We hope you return soon and have a very happy Christmas.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here the night before our holiday flight and left the car for 15 days. Very good value having booked well in advance on the net. Read some poor reviews about the Copthorne but speak as you find.

The good bits.
Nice hotel.
Clean recently refurbished room.
Pleasant staff.
Plenty of facilities.
Easy safe parking.

The dislikes.
Did not sleep well for the pungent smell of oil based fresh paint.
The bar prices are crazy.
( pint lager, two small wine spritzers and a small house red. £26.00

Good efficient transport service to the airport.
£4.50 each way pp for bus
£9.00 each way for shared taxi

All in all would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank promenade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review, we were very glad to receive your comments which were so nicely set out. Thank you very much for that. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay overall and that you would return to us in the future.
Very many thanks and kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews