We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed 1 night just before a Christmas eve flight. Easy to find, plenty of parking and up to 15 days parking included in our 1 night stay. Room was clean and comfortable with all the usual bits and pieces. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We only had a drink in the library bar so can't comment on food. Left car keys and car was parked for a convenient getaway on our return which was good as we were late in the evening. The taxi charged exactly £9.50 as advertised and was with us quickly at the airport. Sending texts to update it was on its way, had arrived, licence plate etc. Would use this hotel again if flying from Gatwick south.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We much appreciate your comments regarding your stay, airport transfers etc, thank you. We hope you had a lovely holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

stayed for one night on a stay and park to fly from gatwick, nice room, nice and quiet, great staff,
would stay there again no trouble, my car was parked up ready for me to drive away. very gratefull as we were tired after our over night flight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that everything went well with your transfers to and from the airport and your car. We hope you will come back soon.
Happy New Year,
All the very best
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick for my 22nd birthday with my boyfriend.

I loved my stay here was a lovely quiet hotel with lovely grounds to walk around. I love older hotels as they have the original and lovely atmosphere all around.
We were very lucky to get one of the newly re furbished rooms and it was in a quiet area of the hotel. It was so quite and peaceful for a short stay here.

The meal we had on the night we were there was lovely we ate at the the white swan pub within the hotel and the food was to die for. I had haddock and chips and it had a lovely flavour and I truly recommend it. Also the prices were not to expensive and definitely value for money.

The breakfast we had was delicious and had a wide range of continental and cooked breakfast. It has to be the best breakfast I have had at a hotel.

Overall my stay here was lovely and I definitely would stay here again. Such a lovely hotel. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay to celebrate your birthday. We are so glad you had such a nice time and some lovely memories, you appear to have enjoyed every aspect of your stay including your meal. Hopefully, you will return soon.
Thank you once again for your nice comments and wishing you a Happy New Year.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for one night using their park and fly package deal, which was excellent value.
Above-average reception staff (Sophie and Simon I think) gave us a warm and friendly welcome. Our room was a long way from the reception area, but was clean and comfortable.
We didn't eat in the hotel.
Transport to Gatwick is by mini bus (one per hour) or taxi. Bus was on time on the outward journey, but didn't turn up on our return, eventually arriving 55 minutes late and after three calls to the office. This is NOT the hotel's fault - the bus company isn't run by them. Next time we'll take a taxi!

Room Tip: Request a room near Reception if you have mobility problems - some rooms are a long walk away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myhusbandandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your review and your nice words about Sophie and Simon, two of our valued staff who are part of our Front Office team. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, only sorry you had to wait so long for transport from the airport. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to welcome you back next year.
Happy Christmas,
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was such a good deal that we had to book. We then read the poor reviews and wondered what we had let ourselves in for. No need to worry and no idea what negative reviewers were on about! Did they stay at a different hotel? The room and facilities were excellent. They staff were exemplary. Our return flight was delayed for 24 hours. This caused no problem whatsoever and our key and car were waiting for us when we eventually returned. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Don't know about the room choice. Ours was fine. Do take your swimsuits. The health club was a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay and everything worked out well for your holiday. Do please come back in 2014 !
Wishing you a Happy Christmas and Best Wishes for the New Year
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We occasionally fly from Norway to Gatwick and find arriving at the idyllic Copthorne Hotel almost like entering a new world after the hustle and bustle of busy Gatwick Airport. We are always impressed by the efficent, helpful and well-trained hotel staff from the moment we enter the intimate and serene interior of the hotel. Breakfast and buffet dinners are served in the spacious Brasserie whilst the Lion d'Or restaurant offers a gourmet menu in a quiet, attractive setting. Sandwiches and small snacks are available throughout the day in the cosy Lounge Bar. The hotel also incorporates a small pub "The Black Swan" opposite a picturesque duck pond. On our recent visit we stayed in a refurbished standard double room, comfortably furnished and kept impeccably clean by the daily service. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter KB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice and interesting review. We are so glad you enjoy the hotel and surroundings away from the busy airport. It is really nice when we receive comments from guests who travel from other countries, so thank you very much. We hope you return soon and have a very happy Christmas.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here the night before our holiday flight and left the car for 15 days. Very good value having booked well in advance on the net. Read some poor reviews about the Copthorne but speak as you find.

The good bits.
Nice hotel.
Clean recently refurbished room.
Pleasant staff.
Plenty of facilities.
Easy safe parking.

The dislikes.
Did not sleep well for the pungent smell of oil based fresh paint.
The bar prices are crazy.
( pint lager, two small wine spritzers and a small house red. £26.00

Good efficient transport service to the airport.
£4.50 each way pp for bus
£9.00 each way for shared taxi

All in all would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank promenade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review, we were very glad to receive your comments which were so nicely set out. Thank you very much for that. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay overall and that you would return to us in the future.
Very many thanks and kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing