We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay and relax.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying a night prior to our holiday and we were able to park our car for the duration we were away. Right from the start we were looked after. The staff and management helped us and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was extra comfy! (Didn't want to leave it!)
There was a vast array of wonderful food available for breakfast.
Checking out was easy and we felt happy that our car was safe. On our return, the service was even better and our room was a family room that was even bigger and more luxurious than previously. Our car was absolutely fine and even re-parked for us under a light.
This hotel I can very much recommend and I really hope we get to visit it again. (As I miss the extra comfy beds!). X

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NattieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope you had a fantastic holiday. It is very kind of you to have taken the time to post such nice comments.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    517
    300
    162
    130
See reviews for
231
780
67
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked one night hotel and parking while we were away on holiday. The hotel shuttle bus was only scheduled for every hour, but timings looked OK.
Hotel was nice, staff friendly & room was good.
The big problem was that although we informed reception of which shuttle bus we would be on ( in each direction), it just didn't turn up.
On the way out, when the 4.15am bus did not show, we went to reception twice & they said it was on it's way. The third time we were frantic as a further 20-25 mins had passed from the due time. Reception called a taxi & by the time it came & we got to the airport, we nearly missed our flight.
On the return journey, we stood at the airport bus- stop waiting for the 18.35 bus. It didn't show up. After giving it the benefit of the doubt & waiting ages, we got in contact with the hotel & they apologised & sent a taxi - we were tired & frozen!
We had bought a 'package' which the hotel simply didn't deliver on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are extremely sorry you had such a stressful time relating to your transfers to and from the airport. This was very unusual, we apologise most sincerely. Please note your comments have been passed on to our shuttle bus provider. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here twice over the space of two weeks as I was getting married.

I stayed in the Buildmore Suite the first time and room 421 the second time. They are both lovely and very spacious. The four poster bed in the Buildmore Suite was picturesque and cosy. The room sleeps up to four people, with two single beds at the other end of the room. They aren't on top of you, so you get your privacy. It's more of a family room than a hotel room, as you have two sofas too.

But room 421 was just wonderful and was my absolute favorite.

The view was nice, the room is colored beautifully and along with the lighting, the ambiance is calming and relaxing.

The bathroom is beautiful and finished to such a high standard. The bath is big enough for two to share ;) so perfect for a romantic evening. The bedroom has large exposed beams and a little table with tub chairs to watch the television on. The bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant for dinner was very nice. Again, it is lit nicely with little booths to eat in. The waiters couldn't do enough for you and the food was enjoyable. The onsite pub was also nice, with a lit fire. Breakfast in the brasserie is lovely! It's a buffet but is very fresh and they cater for pretty much every taste. Again, the staff are very attentive and the chef Mr. Earl lights the place up. It has a very classy atmosphere and the food was beautiful.

I also used the hairdressers while I was there and the staff are lovely. It is very good value for money.

If you don't mind the pool being in another building (LA FItness) it is a lovely pool and the water is as warm as a bath.

The hotel is beautiful. I like that it isn't a cold, modern atmosphere that most are these days.The reception is so grand and warm, the bar is welcoming. The staff are lovely. I received a fantastic service from Judith Campbell in customer services, this lady is a diamond and really does care about her visitors's experiences. It is a rarity to get such fantastic customer service these days.

I actually cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 421 is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review of our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including the restaurants and health club and all the other areas. It is so kind of you to write such a detailed review for the benefit of other travellers. Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you back very soon.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Asked at reception if they had wi fi, yes for £5.00 per 24hrs, even mcdonalds offers free wifi. You can get it before 6pm free though if you purchase a special coffee, but reception didn't tell me that! The room was 'tired' although I think it had been recently painted and the wood beams treated as I could hardly breath for the smell!! The soup we had was pure cream and butter, should have been broccoli and Stilton. The prawn sandwich was dripping with cocktail sauce, very messy. The noise of guest coming and going all night made trying to sleep a waste of time. The eating areas were quite chilly, they had very small electric heater trying to heat a vast area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glam29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We do charge for wi fi, I am sorry you were not advised of this. All your comments have been noted, in particular relating to your room and quality of food. I am sorry if we did not have the opportunity to replace your meal. Please accept our apologies for your disturbed night with other guests moving about the corridors. We have recently refurbished and redecorated many of our rooms, again our apologies for the smell which disturbed you. We have also noted your comments regarding the temperature within the hotel, our sincere apologies. We do hope you might consider returning to us in the future, if you so do, please come through to the Manager's office and we will be delighted to assist with your booking and allocation of your room.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I read several reports after I had booked for the one night before gatwick airport, I couldn't believe that it was said to be run down shabby and dirty, since my previous visit 4 years before, I all so read you had to pay for your parking , can I give your readers our experience ,
Firstly, we parked the car in the price for 7 days £89 in total, we were received by a competent receptionist , we had an excellent room on the first floor, which was well presented, and warm, the bathroom did need a little work but not enough to complain about, I had a couple of g&t's in a very nice bar before bed, maybe a little pricey but you get to expect that in hotels, all in all I would certainly recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review, your comments are much appreciated. We are so glad you found we offered good value and a nice, clean, comfortable room. Thank you so much. Obviously some guests comments do vary, we try to listen carefully to everyone's opinion.
Hopefully, you will be returning to us soon.
With best wishes
Kind regards
Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Many areas of the hotel are being refurbished. We were given a room which had recently been completed. It was not as large as I expected but you are only in your room for a short time . If you are in a standard room, you have to pay for car parking. The restaurants are first class. Breakfast was really good. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If possible book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We were glad to note you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Hopefully, you will return again very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel on 18 December 2013 for one night for parking and ride to Gatwick Airport for two weeks holiday abroad. Excellent service from staff, clean and warm room and good evening meal although drinks quite expensive. Excellent taxi service arranged by the hotel to the airport and self arranged taxi for car collection from hotel on return. Will definitely book hotel for March holiday.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are naturally very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay from every point of view, finding our location convenient for the airport. Thank you once again for taking the time and we look forward to welcoming you back in March.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing